Ratings based on 1,427 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

This hotel is old, kind of clean but overpriced

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Outdated rooms, old elevator, customer service levels, tiny spaces throughout
Location: 20 minute walk away from Times Square and Broadway
I decided to trust the pictures and a few reviews which mentioned this hotel was old and small but clean. In the midst of reservation madness for NYC Marathon I decided to give it a try based only on availability. When I got there it was hard at first to know I was in a hotel, a tiny sign outside of an old brick building facing two car repair garages that are open late night with a bunch or cars outside playing loud music. I went in, there was a sleepy front desk attendant in no hurry to help me get to my room. There was a tiny elevator leading to a small 2nd floor hall with 6 doors/rooms and you can clearly hear everything inside each door. Rooms were small and old but clean. TV didn't work properly at this point I knew that I'd made a mistake and was going to man up and live with it. Shut the TV off and went to sleep. Breakfast was OK but lobby (or supposed to be lobby) had only a few seats and tables with a couple of sofas. So much for a Convention Center Hotel room; I then did my research and found a bunch of better hotels at same rates just down the street. Shame on me for not doing proper research.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay area

Close to Convention Center

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Dissapointing hotel that stayed in the past century. The rooms look old. We had a paint peeled out of the wall. The carpets are aged and have stains. The towels were small, hard and with stains as well. The room service was dissapointing as well. But above all, it’s extremely noisy. Breakfast was ok. I came to present at conference at a nearby Conference center and it was the only advantage of this hotel. There are no other close hotels, so they don’t have competition and sounds like they don’t have any insentive to imrove. My next trip To Manhatten will be somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great location and easy access to cabs and subway
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Small, bare minimum and not comfortable

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We booked about 3 weeks in advance and it was 200$. Definitely not worth that price! Room barely had enough room to squeeze in the bed and a closet and desk. Carpet felt extremely dirty, towels were rough and there was no comforter on the bed. However the staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern Virginia

Value-priced and pleasant stay

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: The price and convenience to mid-town, west-side venues. A full breakfast was offered, although it required a few minutes for a table.
Cons: Considering the traffic this hotel gets, it's hard to keep the floors clean, but the carpets need steam cleaning.
Location: The hotel is a short walk to Hells's Kitchen and Times Square.
I wanted a hotel near the Javits Convention Center and found the Magnuson when sorting by price. It is only steps from the convention center. I was a little concerned about the quality, given the bargain price, but was surprised and pleased with the property. My small room had clean sheets on the neatly-made bed, a clean bathroom with the usual amenities and a working and good window HVAC unit. I've paid nearly twice my rate for an equivalent room in NYC. WiFi worked well and local phone calls are free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be better

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Simply not enough value or space for the price. Could use microwave and fridge in rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Not good value for money

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Cons: Please clean carpets
They really need to clean their carpets - had to place towels to walk on not to get feed dirty. Not even a decent cup to make coffee with. Was expecting more with the rate we paid. Staff were very friendly and complimentary basic breakfast was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Hotel was not worth the price it cost. High price for a very low class hotel in a sketchy area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from trinidad and tobago

Away from the main shopping areas

Posted Aug 21, 2017
I found that the room we stayed in was small and was difficult for two people to move around at the same time. The rooms however were clean beds were made everyday and towels were changed daily. Breakfast was acceptable .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
The pillows were not the best and I slept poorly because of that, but the room was clean, smelled nice and everything was in working order. Next time, I'll just bring my own pillow :)