Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Still has room for improvement

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The Half Moon Bay property is beautiful and immaculately maintained. Customer service is excellent and friendly
Here are the issues for improvement: 1) Although there is plenty of fresh fruit available at the breakfast buffet, the juices did not taste freshly squeezed, which is unfortunate for the $$$ of buffet. However, the smoothies are prepared with fresh fruit and vegetables. 2) I ordered fruit punch at the bar and again I was disappointed by the lack of fresh fruit used, they only had fresh Papaya (which I dislike) and banana. The rest was either canned pulp or flavored sweeteners. For a tropical island and a 5-star resort, I was deeply disappointed and the manager adjusted my bill accordingly. 3) We were not on the all-inclusive plan (thankfully), the food was way overpriced with quality and taste lacking (Seagrape terrace). 25% is added to the bill (15% gratuity + 10% gov't tax). A $35 breakfast buffet is actually about $42 pp, for example. 4) Live band. Jamaica is rich in reggae and other island melody, however their band sing mostly American tunes (motown) and a few Bob Marley songs. Tourists expect Caribbean steel band and/or reggae, however to only focus on Bob Marley is disrespectful to the rich local music scene that tourists want to sense. 5) Take advantage of the free pickup/dropoff from offered from restaurants outside the HMB property. Taxis charge you $30 each way to go into town, so if you want variety (Indian, Thai, Jamaican) find out at concierge, there are basically no eating options directly outside HMB. 6) hidden pricing on daily activity sheet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix,AZ

Kindness of people/so many choices of activities

Posted May 31, 2017
Wonderful place Excellent staff (kindness/ professionalism) Daily cleanliness can be improve We had to buy a toothpaste, it was surprising for à so high standing hotel But the overall experience is fantastic. Restaurants are excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing property.

Posted May 13, 2017
Accommodation were outstanding and the food and staff amazing. Only wish it was an adult only property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice Hotel right on the beach close to airpor

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the staff was incredible. They could not do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. The room was very clean
Cons: The one issue we had was the food. They really tried in the presentation, but it just missed each time. It wasn't bad, but it just wasn't great.
Location: Very close to Montego Bay and it's activities.
My husband and I went to Half Moon for his birthday for a long weekend. It was great that we could take a direct flight from New York and it was close to the Montego Bay airport. Overall our stay was a very pleasant one. There was a lot of rain, but we still had a very good time. The staff was unbelievable. From the moment we arrived the staff did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The room was very clean and was cleaned twice a day. The overall facilities were very good as well. So many beautiful pools, and the water sports on the ocean. We were even able to go snorkeling near the shore of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Amazing vacation - Half Moon is lovely

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Orbitz
We had a 6 day stay at the spectacular Half Moon. We enjoyed every bit of it. Food was great, hospitality outstanding, activities were exceptional including dolphin swim and the horse facilities and experience are top notch. It was hard to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Fantastic Resort, Beach & Food

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Ease of moving around whether by walking, bicycles (no charge), or golf carts.
Location: Easy 10 minute commute to the airport, plenty of options for Jamaica recreation or beaches in Negril
This is a fantastic property with great amenties. I recommend one of their meal plans as the buffet offering is superb. The beaches are beautiful, the rooms are spacious with great bathrooms, and the staff is very attentive and always availalble for whatever you need.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Couldn't ask for anything better

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Everything
From the minute we arrived until we left the staff couldn't do enough for us. A true 5 star resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Jodey Samms , Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share feedback. We are thrilled you had a fantastic experience Thank you again for you beautiful review, the Half Moon team looks forward to your next visit
5 out of 5
by Edward

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 15, 2017
I love the half moon - because it's peaceful and relaxing and beautiful - the all inclusive meal plan option is worth it in the end because the food prices seem high- our rooms AC was loud and leaked water which isn't normally a big deal since we're only in the room to sleep . But sleeping with that noise was ehhh- and the communal pools aren't that great either but I come for the beach anyway- food was delish- drinks were good - complimentary beach cruisers were fab.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They need a renovation badly and service assista

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
They need training from the Ritz Carlton in terms of customer service OR just charge less.