Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Need a good facelift!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Door did not lock, windows did not open, sidewalk to the parking got flooded. Toilet did not flash the last day. Shutters were broken. Needs a lot of repairs. Location and breakfast are good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from up state California

Okay hotel, close to shops, restaurants.

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Location. Outside space. Staff was pleasant.
Cons: In room coffee and Kleenex. Nicer bedding and towels. Fresh paint. Cleaner carpet. How safe is the electrical wiring?
Location: Excellent!
The hotel is okay for sleeping and washing up, but not pleasant for relaxing. This could be a very nice hotel if they did some major remodeling. Breakfast was all carbs...no fruit, no protein.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon coast

Great place!

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to everything!
Location: Close to town and to the beach!
Great location! Nice staff! Will stay here again. Rooms are comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Stay Never Recommend

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Gut the rooms. Needs new beddings and a fresh coat of paint, new carpets. It is beyond tired in its current state.
Holes in the sheets. all lights didn't work. Phone didn't work. WIFI would connect but not sign on. Reported to the desk, they could care less. I am a Carmel local... Had guest in our home so I decided to stay local. Not at the Wayfairer ever again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Decent Location

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Towels
Location: Easy walk to Ocean Avenue, several shops, restaurants and bars.
The rooms are decent size...but could use a 'refresh'. Owners were friendly and helpful. Experience with check-in was a bit tricky because we had several rooms booked for 3 nights for family event. The lady in charge at check-in was a little confused and not 'Miss Hospitality'. In the end, later that evening, a gentleman got the room situation sorted out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Location is the winner with this hotel! A little tlc by the owners could make the stay more enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Location was great, but...

Posted Dec 4, 2016
The hotel's location is great. Easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the beach. My complaint is with the room. The photo showed a nicely appointed sitting area in the partial ocean view room with king bed. That was not the case with room 18. It was a single table with two chairs and a large expanse of bare floor. And the bed was so sunken, that you rolled to the middle. The only mirror in the room was in the bathroom (which was a smaller room, but functional). The breakfast was adequate - waffle machine, cereal and oatmeal; juice, coffee and tea. The front desk staff was very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The location was good, very close to Ocean Avenue but quiet. I enjoyed my room with the ocean view and windows on both sides.
Cons: The breakfast, please!!!
The "breakfast" was possibly the most pathetic I've ever encountered. There were cereal choices of oatmeal, cheerios or cornflakes; there was a waffle batter; there were slices of packaged bread for toast; and some bananas and orange juice - and that was it!. Also, the coffee was not very good and there was margarine instead of butter. Where were the pastries or bagels, and a choice of fruits? The room was OK, although the furnishings are horribly outdated. Someone had moved a hook from one side of the bathroom to the other, but had neglected to paint over the area where it was removed. The sink was coming away from the wall and the rubber bathmat had a long rip in it (it was replaced the second night with a cotton bathmat). Small things, but very telling to me. The worst was that the lighting in the car park area was not working. I reported this to the front desk the second evening, but still no lights. The man at the front desk said they had had a recent power outage and things weren't yet back to normal, but this could have been a serious safety hazard. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Too expensive for condition

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff, Good location.
Cons: Room condition.
Location: Many restaurants and walk to town center. Not too far from the beach.
Our room was in poor state. Paint spots missing on the walls, tiles missing from bathroom floor. Mildew stains on the shower corners. Low shower water pressure. Overall the room condition did not justify the price. Not enough available parking. We had to park on the side streets; which were 2hr only.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is good. Room is spacious. Hotel staff (owners) could be a bit more welcoming.
Cons: This is valid for room 1 only. In not too good condition, window blinds are broken, windows can't be closed securely.
Location: Great location in a pleasant and convenient neighbourhood. Five min. walk to the main streets and shopping area, stiff 15 min. walk to the ocean