Ratings based on 978 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The location was good, very close to Ocean Avenue but quiet. I enjoyed my room with the ocean view and windows on both sides.
Cons: The breakfast, please!!!
The "breakfast" was possibly the most pathetic I've ever encountered. There were cereal choices of oatmeal, cheerios or cornflakes; there was a waffle batter; there were slices of packaged bread for toast; and some bananas and orange juice - and that was it!. Also, the coffee was not very good and there was margarine instead of butter. Where were the pastries or bagels, and a choice of fruits? The room was OK, although the furnishings are horribly outdated. Someone had moved a hook from one side of the bathroom to the other, but had neglected to paint over the area where it was removed. The sink was coming away from the wall and the rubber bathmat had a long rip in it (it was replaced the second night with a cotton bathmat). Small things, but very telling to me. The worst was that the lighting in the car park area was not working. I reported this to the front desk the second evening, but still no lights. The man at the front desk said they had had a recent power outage and things weren't yet back to normal, but this could have been a serious safety hazard. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Too expensive for condition

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff, Good location.
Cons: Room condition.
Location: Many restaurants and walk to town center. Not too far from the beach.
Our room was in poor state. Paint spots missing on the walls, tiles missing from bathroom floor. Mildew stains on the shower corners. Low shower water pressure. Overall the room condition did not justify the price. Not enough available parking. We had to park on the side streets; which were 2hr only.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast is good. Room is spacious. Hotel staff (owners) could be a bit more welcoming.
Cons: This is valid for room 1 only. In not too good condition, window blinds are broken, windows can't be closed securely.
Location: Great location in a pleasant and convenient neighbourhood. Five min. walk to the main streets and shopping area, stiff 15 min. walk to the ocean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Location

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Lots of restaurants, galleries, shops to visit. Also the Carmel beach is about 6 blocks away.
We like this facility because it is just a short walk to the heart of Carmel shopping area, but the neighborhood is very quiet. It is also a smaller inn and a little older. This time we stayed in a large ocean view room w/ fireplace in the rear of the complex. It was like having a private apartment. However, although the room/bathroom appeared to have been refurbished it looked like some of the finish work was left undone. There were unpainted spots on the walls and around the bathroom sink ( a nice pedestal design) the caulking was very sloppy and the surround area needed to be repainted. It looked sad even though it was newly refreshed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Bad service, facility. Lots of rules with no service. No parking. Not dog friendly
Cons: I had to call for soap and toilet paper. All amenities were low quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best price hotel in Carmel!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The room was huge, very clean, had a fireplace, mini fridge, and free parking. The property was older and charming. Internet was fast.
Cons: Breakfast was slim pickings, but no real complaints. The weather was perfect when we were in town so it wasn't an issue for us but the room didn't have air conditioning. Just something to keep in mind if it is very hot there, though the room did have floor fans and lots of windows.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Broken bed

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: It's in the middle of Carmel.
Cons: Old and very worn.
I stayed at this hotel before and it was ok so when I was booking a room on short notice and it was available, I thought "why not". This time it sucked. The box spring of the bed was broken. I mean totally smashed on 1 side. So the bed sagged horribly. Staff was gone for the night so I complained in the morning and the clerk credited me $40 on a $220 bill. Whoop-de-friggin-do. Also, the "ocean view" rooms only provide a hint of blue between a very thick wall of trees. Avoid this place if you can.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy, homey and friendly, helpful staff.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Felt like a B&B, 4 blocks to spectacular stretch of ocean beach.
Cons: No one on duty at night.
Big room (#17), charming neighborhood, courtyard and breakfast room that foster acquaintence with other travellers,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, Oregon

Comfortable room close to Ocean Blvd. shops

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Renovate the rooms
Location: Great location walking distance to all the shops and restaurants and beach.
Comfortable with slight ocean view. Older hotel that needs some renovation which is currently going on.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't Stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We couldn't stay due to allergies and the musty odor and condition of the room.