Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Loved the beautiful gardens so alive with hummingbirds and butterflies. Hiking trails right there. Also has a lovely a pond, pool and a place for yoga. Delicious complimentary breakfast. My room had a beautiful view of the gardens, but felt a bit closed in because large window doesn't open. Would request one with balcony. Excellent staff, particularly Roy and Donald. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Very nice restaurant and very friendly and helpful staff. We did find the Monteverde guided tour overprized
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel with the best staff

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to town with a good choice of restaurants.
This hotel surpassed our expectations. The tree tops room was worth every penny. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the tropical butterflies and birds go by. We had an amazing experience on one of the hotels night hikes when we came across mating Sloths! Thanks again to our guide Donald. We had a couple of great meals in the hotels restaurant and the breakfasts were superb. But what made our stay as good as it was was the excellent staff. Everybody from the restaurant and front desk were very professional and helpful. The receptionist helped us book our transport and have even arranged for an item we left in our room to be sent to a hotel we are staying at later. Again many thanks to everybody at the Monteverde lodge.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Lush greenery

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Very convenient location to the reserves and other sights. Very well maintained hotel. The hotel workers could not have been nicer.
Cons: The hotel was excellent. Highway 606 off of Highway 1 is a chiropractor's dream...one pothole after another for over 10 miles on a dirt road.
Location: Reserves filled with fauna, birds, butterflies, snakes (saw two) and other types of animals. Bat Jungle gave me a new perspective on their importance.
5 out of 5
by Dimitri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
wunderschöne Gartenanlage. Sehr freundliches Personal. Für 4-köpfige Familie mit Unterbringung in einem Zimmer sinde die beiden Queen-Betten etwas zu schmal.
5 out of 5
by Randy

Perfect

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Road up to the lodge was extremely bumpy butcwirthbotvobcecwe got there. It closes at 10 pm so make sure you get there before then. The staff were so friendly, food was great and the grounds are amazing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

Perfect spot for quiet relaxation

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Wonderful staff and accommodations. Breakfast was excellent as was our dinner. Beautiful grounds and bed was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

beauty and serenity

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The beauty
Cons: The walls are thing, so you can hear your neighbooh snoring
Location: I ate tacos one day, but took a taxi to the other activities I did
This was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very quaint and cozy. There was no tv, but that was ok bc it adds to the serenity of the location. The gardens and trails were wondeful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I thought it would be!

Posted Jul 12, 2016
We were on our honeymoon and wanted to stay at hotels and lodges that were a little grander than we would normally stay at. We first stayed at Finca Rosa Blanca and Tabacon (which were amazing) and then traveled to Monteverde to stay at the lodge and gardens. I was shocked when we arrived to realize I was staying (for the same price as the previous two hotels) in what appeared to be more of a cabin. We were then told that our room (a 2nd story forest view) was double booked and we would need to stay in a different room. The staff was very accommodating and gave us dinner on the house for the inconvience. On the way to our room, there were dead moths and butterflies everywhere (which weren't swept for over 24 hours). Our room was very dark and dingey and didn't have air conditioning. Now, if I had paid $150 a night for this location I would have had NO problem. But I was paying $250 a night! I felt ripped off. Their restaurant is good (again, overpriced) and staff welcoming. However, I would not stay there again.