Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Great hotel, perfect location for the metro or shopping!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! Hope you come back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice Appartments with minor flaws

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Spacious and clean room Fast internet and good TV supplied Kitchenette with proper plates and cooking equipment Nice small balcony Good restaurant
Cons: Sleeping pillows No elevator Low water pressure Uneven floors
Hotel Kutuma is situalted on the edge of the Montreal Town Centre on Rue Saint Denis. In the area there is a number of shops and restaurants to choose from. Walking to the city centre or waterfront will take 25-30 minutes. Our room which was actutally more of a small apartment with kitchenette and dining area was situated on fourth floor. There is no elevator and the staircase is rather narrow, but the desk employee helped us carry the luggage up. Room 402 is spacious, but there were some minor flaws to it. First, the sleeping pillows were too hard, which forces one to have a strangely elevated head (like having 3 pillows at once). The whole building seemed to be structurally deformed, with small slopes and inclines of the floor instead of even surface, it is an old building afte all, but made me feel a little uneasy. The bathroom door wouldn't close due to deformed frame (or wall), the closet doors would self-close themselves due to the uneven floor the cupboard stands on. Water pressure in the shower was too low, taking a shower needed forever. Long wait for warm water. Staff was friendly but didn't correct my false assumption on parking cost (I understood 20 instead of 28) even though I had repeated 20 and asked to confirm the number 2 times. The answer was yes. Not a nice surprise when parking cost goes up by almost one third on check out. At departure we only got an invoice for parking, not for the room rate. We had had received nothing at all if we hadn't inquired.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden gem

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Large, interesting space. Close to old Montreal with good restaurants within easy walking distance. Very nice and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Marc!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The hotel was in a great location. Exceptionally clean, spacious and comfortable rooms and bathrooms with great amenities. The desk staff were excellent - polite, courteous and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by kutuma, Hotel Management
Thank you, we hope to see you again in the near future
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Friendly, considerate, good location

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Room and facilities excellent, and staff so welcoming and helpful.
Location: Walking distance to the main tourist attractions, metro very close, plenty of cafés handy.
Staff particularly open and friendly, welcoming even when I was unexpectedly delayed and arrived at midnight. Offered coffee and my luggage delivered to my room, walk-up 4 floors. Nice restaurant and popular, always busy but not too busy to be welcomed and attended to. My room was large and very comfortable, coffee machine, stovetop, frig, spacious and well appointed bathroom, king size bed, lots of pillows. Light and airy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia. Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review Jenny!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México

Hermoso

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Me encantó el hotel, el staff es muy amable. Me encantaría quedarme en él otra vez.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Jia, Front Desk, Hotel Management
Gracias por la revision, Azul!
3 out of 5
by Lynda from Burlington, VT

Most amenities didn't operate during stay.

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Guests enter through the Ethiopian restaurant on the ground floor and check in, out, etc. at a tiny little host stand; there's no hotel lobby. Also no elevator. Still, staff was great and room was very large and clean. However, my AC didn't work upon check-in nor several hours later, though was eventually fixed that night. Very nice kitchenette but no appliances (stove, microwave, coffee maker) except small refrigerator worked during my nearly 3-day stay. On my last morning, after the coffeemaker had been switched out and 2nd didn't work, a staff member brought me up coffee and that was very sweet. Also my hotel key card stopped working, probably related to a electric issue a day earlier when the building doorbell didn't work. To me the hotel seems an afterthought to the restaurant, and while a designated hotel probably would have fixed all these issues promptly this did not happen in my case.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place, great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
They made our trip to Montreal immeasurably better. Traveling with an infant is always tough, but they made it so much easier. Also, the attached restaurant Le Nil Bleu is some of the best Ethiopian food I've ever had, and I have Ethiopian food often in NYC, DC and Philly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut, usa

unique hotel in montreals latin quarter

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: the sister Maghreb restaurant was very good, the flatbread accompanying each meal was new to us and i'll be seeking that out again in the future.
Cons: a couple of light fixtures [ incandescents] were loose but we didn't need them.
Location: within walking or short cab ride of downtown and other points of interest. many nearby restaurants of all descriptions.
my wife and I were bowled over by the room. a suite with an understated african motif. it had a full kitchen , a king bed and a comfy sitting area. it was large. the bathroom had ceramic tile flooring and walls with a 2 person whirlpool bath equipped with a rain shower showerhead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Very professional service

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Wotif
Thanks to David and Franco for taking care of our needs. Even though there is no lift. The great service made up for it..the hotel did not feel over crowded with patrons witch I liked. it felt personal and private. It would've been nice to have been told the bottled water was at cost. I just want to know what my options are. Other than that I'd come anytime. Restaurant was amazing. The room was had great decor clean and modern