Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Great Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: rate for meals should come down.
Location: centrally situated.
Very good service. Food was a bit too expensive, but great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from NYC

An Old World Hotel, for Better or Worse

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The bar one floor up from the lobby is beautiful, well-staffed, and it served as quite place to hold meetings during the day in lovely environment.
Cons: The room fixtures are too low to the ground, and the mattress is only slightly softer than granite.
Location: It's in the city center, and it's a short cab right to many places. All the cab/uber drivers know where the Stanley is.
The Stanley is an old hotel, and it wears that fact like a badge of honor. In some ways, it's wonderful. There is rich, dark wood adorning the entire property; they have an old fashion, brass, rotary dial phone in the lobby; the bar one floor up from the lobby is opulent, for example. The down side is that it's not up-to-date regarding amenities. For example, everything in the hotel low, which was likely fine when people were smaller. I'm tall--6'3"/190cm--but that's not super tall, and the top of the bed's mattress didn't reach the bottom of my knee. The bathroom sink only came up to my mid-thigh. The hallways feel tight with low archways. Perhaps more importantly, while each room has an air conditioner, temperature is controlled centrally, not in each room. The unit in my room didn't work well. I spent a few very hot nights. It was cooler outside than inside, but the windows are locked. Putting aside all the foregoing, the fact that saves the Stanley and makes it deserving of 4 stars is the staff. They are very accommodating. I spoke to them about my warm room, and after two nights, they moved me to a larger room with a great A/C. The staff seems to have genuine concern for the comfort of the guests. So while the hotel's old world charm can cut both ways, I still recommend the Stanley for the reasons above, as well as their lovely heated pool, their excellent health and fitness facilities, but most of all because of the excellent staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
The hotel is clean staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is s bit old with no modernizations but comfortable with all the amenities you need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel in CBD

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The pool, the Exchange bar, history
Cons: Food quality and price
Location: CBD Tour
I stayed at Sarova Stanley for one night after a Masai Mara safari. Staff was formal and courteous. The breakfast buffet at the Thorn Tree has a large spread with passable food quality. The fruit juices and fruits on offer are quite exceptional, but this is usual in East Africa. The quality of the dinner (fried tilapia with chips) was somewhat disappointing. I would suggest visiting a local place called "Ranalo" which is just a couple of minutes' walk away from the hotel instead. It was extremely pleasant to swim in the pool as it was heated (lukewarm water).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in city center convenient to go every places

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: I am feeling very bad now because they send my suits to dry clean and destroy my new suits.
Cons: customer service
Location: this is hotel location near by many money transfer , and convenient for go anywhere .
I have sent my suits to dry clean, i surprised the small bottoms all are broken , fabric is changed to harder than before. Now i back to my country, i sent to my tailor to fix it , she found all suits is not clean by dry clean , it was somebody put in machinery to using water wash then drying and iron. so now my suits is broken. So, I may couldn't to request this hotel to responsible for my suit , because they will not responsible at all. Incase their are management really focus in customer care, they must be care about all customer service too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Support staff were very attentive.
Location: Didn't do much as was on a tight schedule of meetings.
I was there for a short business trip. Room comfort was good. On first glance, I was worried about the comfort of the bed, but it turned out to be pretty good. I slept well! I ate at the restaurant, food was good, service was good- restaurant staff were polite. I would encourage restaurant staff to check-in on their patrons...especially to be a little more responsive between the time they present the bill and when the customer is ready to go. Both times I ate at the restaurant it took a long time for them to come back to get the bill. The first time I just left after waiting a long time (my bill was to be charged to my room account anyway), the second time I waited and ended up having to flag someone down. Food was good and the breakfast spread had a good variety of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable, grand hotel in Nairobi's CBD

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Oasis of luxury in central Nairobi. The bar has a timeless feel, as if you have just come in from safari up country. Very relaxing and stylish, service is attentive and charming. The Thai restaurant is a joy, with excellent food and wine list, and well-priced. the staff are particularly welcoming, without being over-fussy. It is more than just a place to stay, though it does that very well - large rooms, breakfast early on request and beautifully laid out, front-desk and concierge very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

In comparison

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Breakfast included, food was great
Cons: Water available, bath tub too narrow
Location: Everything is near by. Another plus for them. But at the same time too busy. Just depend on what you are looking for. Local shops, food, entertainment
Prior to staying at the Villa Rosa Kempenski hotel i would rather not stay at the Stanley again. Although the breakfast was included in the price and was great, and the staff great people the hotel had a better location to me and overall environment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

History and convienence

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great place in center of town. Staff incredibly helpful. Very historical place, too, and nicely remodeled.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Bad experience at Sarova Stanley Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Billed as a 5-star hotel ... I arrived late in Nairobi and the hotels I usually stay at (Serena and InterContinental) did not have available rooms for the night. So I opted to stay at Sarova Stanley. It was a bad idea ... poor check in, workers hammering away all night. I called 3 times over the course of the night to ask that the hammering stop till morning ... nothing was done about it. Definitely this hotel is not at the caliber of a Serena, Norfolk or InterContinental in Nairobi. More work needs to be done to improve and be worthy of 5-star rating. I won't be staying here any time soon.