Ratings based on 2,421 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: The hotel was great!! Great food, great entertainment!! Great beach!!!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was right next to the Atlantis. There were a lot of activities nearby!!! And the beach was excellent!!!!
We had a great time at the Riu Palace on Paradise Island
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Albany NY

A winner for its Spanish flair & casual atmosphere

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Very clean, cheerful friendly staff, and excellent specialty restaurants
Cons: a hotel van service l to/ from the airport at a set price. A Brazilian rodizio rather than a buffet. Room rates based on view of water.
Location: Good beach location. Only shopping within walking distance. Need to walk over to Atlantis to book day excursions because they are open longer
My wife is a true Mediterranean girl (half Italian and also French) who craves sun and warmth. I needed a nice warm getaway for her in January and i hose the Bahamas, where we spent a nice vacation a year or so ago. This time I chose the Riu Palace. It delivered for us--a comfortable spotlessly clean room with a partially obstructed vie of the ocean. Food was good, especially the meals in the specialty restaurants which we were able to score reservations in every night we wanted. If you want a nice relaxed getaway this is the place. And it is apparently well liked by the young set with kids in tow. I would recommend it to people looking for a relaxed vacation at a reasonable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Farmingdale, NY

Change of Quality with Change of Management

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: The food was plentiful, good and imaginative.
Cons: Everything.
This was our second stay at this all-inclusive hotel. Last year under a different management the rooms were clean and adequate, the food was good, each restaurant was easy to schedule, and the facilities delightful with a friendly and helpful staff. Under a new general management several policies had changed and very little of the old charm and convenience remains. First, when we entered our room we found several of the dresser draws difficult to open and the hallway light not working. Maintenance forced the draws open but, never corrected the problem. Additionally, it took three days before they replaced the bulb in our hallway light. Further, we lost water pressure on one occasion and hot water on two. We were unable to schedule the specialty restaurant because the policy changed to a to first come first seat. Since there was only one sitting per night we were forced to stand in line up to an hour. Other problems involved the heated pool that was not heated and a lack of activities when the weather curtailed swimming. In all a thoroughly dismal experience that left us crossing this hotel off our list.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Terrible staff, the discriminated us all the time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

great value, great staff, nice beach!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
we enjoyed our 4 night stay. the staff is very accommodating and was able to change our original room due to some construction noise. although the pool was a bit small for the size of the hotel, there was plenty of room on the beautiful beach. overall, great value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Good location

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: It has one of the best locations for a hotel. It is walking to Atlantis, which is nice for those that plan to visit the resort.
Cons: I would say that the entertainment, having dinner reservations 24 hours before, and the buffet dining room staff.
Location: Atlantis is the biggest attraction nearby. Of course, the beach is located feet away and is gorgeous!
I have stayed in two other RIU hotels in other countries. This one was disappointing compared to the other ones. The building was dated, but that wasn't even the biggest issue with the hotel. The staff did not seem happy or pleasant like other RIU employees at other resorts. In the dining hall, you had to flag down staff for anything. This was not the case at the other resorts. Several of the serving staff seemed put out if you had to ask for coffee or some other drink like a soda. Most times we did not ask for anything extra because it was not worth it. At other RIU resorts the dining hall staff were quick and pleasant to work with. I am only comparing this resort to other RIU all-inclusive resorts I've stayed at. Our experience was not ruined, but I would recommend others look for other resorts to stay at. It does not live up to the reputation of RIU. Finally, guests had to wait in line for up to an hour for dinner at one of the four restaurants. It was frustrating to have to hope to get in and adjust your schedule to stand in line.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great staff, horrible management.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The staff was awesome.
Cons: Everything else. The spa staff were also awesome. But the facilities are old and worn (leaking ceilings in lobby for example) and no fun activities.
Location: Atlantis is next door which is great but it can be overwhelming.
I visited this hotel over the 2017 new year's weekend (12/29 thru 1/2/17). Brought my cousin to celebrate her 30th birthday. The hotel is directly next door to the Atlantis. This turned out to be a good and bad thing. But first I want to say that the staff at the Riu Palace is FANTASTIC. Nothing I have to say about my stay should reflect on them. They were all kind, helpful, attentive, fun. It is the management of the hotel that is the problem. Their attitude seems to be that if you want to have fun - go to the Atlantis next door. They had no nightclub. No kids club, no fun activities for adults (21 to 50 - the age of most guest). Instead they seemed to only cater to children and the elderly. They need to fire the current management and hire folks who know how to manage a hotel. I have stayed at 3 other Riu hotels and this by far was the worst experience. The staff can only do so much. The food was ok and the New Years Eve party and layout was nice but they should have had a REAL party. We opted to go to the Atlantis and had a great time on New Years Eve at the Dragon Lounge but when we got back at 2:30 am, the Riu was dark like a ghost town with everyone turned in because their party was like one for old folks. The sports bar has nothing but TVs and a couple pool tables. At other resorts they have arcades, music and lots more food available. Also no umbrellas on the Beach??? So because of the staff I give the hotel 2 stars but they need a major overhaul.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Terrible place and vacation spoiler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Beach, Staff serving food, and the food was OK.
Cons: Demolish and rebuild.
Location: It was next to Atlantis and so we spent the time there for entertainment.
Terrible: Lobby ceiling was leaking and the water smelled like sewage. Room ceiling was leaking as well. Room telephone was not working, The AC was too cold and the control was not working. Service directory pages were missing. Hot tub was broken, Sauna did not work. New Year's entertainment was lame. Concierge could not arrange for golf appointments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do yourself a favor, choose a different resort

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location. The hotel was located next to Atlantis.
Cons: In general, entire staff should be friendlier and accommodating. Although some were very friendly, most wouldn't even crack a smile.
Location: Atlantis is just a short walk away. Various tours will pick up directly from the hotel.
1. Hotel front desk staff was completely unaccommodating. Family of 5. Booked 2 rooms over 7 months prior to arrival. Called hotel directly after reservation to request both rooms to have 2 double beds. Staff member told me it shouldn't be a problem. Upon arrival, we got 1 room with a king and one room with a double. Advised staff of my concern and previous request. Their response, "Sorry, hotel is booked". 2. Water leaking from AC vent. Carpet was wet and damp the entire time. Room smelled of mold and mildew as well as hallway. Leak in the bathroom from floor above. Obvious the sheet rock on the ceiling was soaked and damaged. Concerned that the ceiling above toilet and shower was going to collapse at any time. Alerted staff of the condition of the room but nothing was done about it. 3. Although a few staff members were friendly, the majority of the staff were not. In general, the staff did not make us feel welcomed 4. On several occasions, we had to find utensils, get our own coffee, and get our own water. 5. Food choices and quality was EXCELLENT! Best part of the vacation was the food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 2, 2017
We had much fun. Hotel staff is excellent. The manager was very present which was a first for me to see in a hotel. He works hard and long hours I would say.