Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US


Posted Oct 18, 2016
The beds were not comfortable at all The bath tub would fill up with water when you took a shower. The water took forever to drain for the next person to shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Best place I've stayed near San Marcos

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Fresher, more upscale furnishings.
Location: Gruene is nearby (cute, historical town with lots of eateries and arts and crafts for sale). Also a shopping center with Target, etc. close by.
We were visiting our student at Texas State University. Have stayed in La Quinta in SM before. It was fine, but the room is a little tired looking, and the breakfast area has the feel of a nicer bus station. We found the Hilton Garden Inn in New Braunfels was only a 15-20 minute drive away, and the rate at this time was the same as the La Quinta. Hilton furnishings and bathroom and carpeting, beds, furniture -- just in general were definitely much fresher and pleasant. No free breakfast, but for about $5 you can have coffee and waffle bar, pastries, fresh fruit, oatmeal ($9.95 includes cooked to order egg dishes). The breakfast area is lovely, lots of natural light, windows, table service. Very pleasant. Best place we've stayed out there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hilton Garden Inn

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Easy access to the outlet malls in San Marcos, which we took advantage of. Also beautiful county side to explore. River access for river activities.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Best of all the hotel was quiet which made for a peaceful night sleep. Food was excellent and room service prompt. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and wonderful staff

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Our stay was perfect until we walked outside to leave and our truck had been broken into. 4 other trucks had been hit too. Apparently it's a common occurrence which upsets me. If I had known that we would have stayed somewhere else.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
This hotel was over priced. No breakfast and No Wifi. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel near everything.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect for us.
Cons: I have stayed at three Hilton Hotels in the last 6 weeks. The bed pillows at each of them were not comfortable.
Location: Went to attend a wedding at Gruene Estates. Only took about 10 min to get there. There are restaurants, stores and anything you could need near by.
Nice hotel close to everything we needed. Staff was great, beds were comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great hotel stay for a rainy weekend

Posted Aug 25, 2016
The hotel was clean and very nice. The weather was stormy n rainy and they let us check in early, which was great bc we needed to chill for a bit until the rain cleared up. From begining of our stay until the very last day, was pleasant. We will definately stay there again. The coffee in the lobby is very good. They also have "spa" water which is lemon/lime water. I would fill my RTIC with it when we'd go off shopping. I think I saw some complimentary cookies in a jar there as well. The hotel staff was super nice. We had a great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Staff was friendly, helpful and available.
My family was here for a wedding and stayed at the hotel for a few nights. The room was very comfortable and hotel was convenient to restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.
2 out of 5
by Zena from Lewisville, TX

Not the Hilton experience I am used to.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
The Two Queen beds were extremely uncomfortable. The beds were supposed to be adjustable by using a turn knob on the side of the bed but the knob didn't make the bed softer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft. Worth, TX

It was terrible. Truck got vandalized in lot.

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: nothing
Cons: better night time security in the parking lots
Location: apparently this location is terrible -- for vandalism and break-ins 5 vehicles were broken into in the middle of the night -- by smashing out window
Woke up in the morning and went down to load up the truck and there were 5 cars in the parking lot with smashed windows, glass everywhere, massive vandalism and theft. The hotel would not even call the police. They said the police won't come for these type of incidents. So, obviously, they have happened before. It is an unsafe location. The hotel clerk at the front desk was rude and unwilling to help in anyway -- wouldn't even call the police, acted like this happens all the time. The damage was incredible. I would NOT recommend this hotel or this location -- unless you like having the windows smashed out on your vehicle in the middle of the night. Hotel clerk made it seem that this was a risk the consumer takes and this is was quite common at this location.