Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Quaint old hotel but service is not why I would expect from a 5 star
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Ambience
Cons: Staff is really bad, the concierge as well as the front desk. Not helpful at all.
Service was very bad. No help from staff and when they woukd help it was to recommend taking the hotel car for an exhorbitant price! Very bad recommendation for restaurents. They would orient us to very touristy overpriced and not particularly good places.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

An immaculate hotel at a ridiculous price

Posted Nov 2, 2016
If you want a hotel that has all of the staff bowing and scraping before you ... they would probably blow your own nose given half a chance, then this the place for you. If you have more more money than sense and want to be obscenely pampered, then this is the place for you. If you want to spend a voyeuristic day looking at the opulence of the place and the at the over indulged guests, many of whom do not seem to have any idea how bizarre it all is, then this is the place for you. Alternatively if you want a better interaction with humanity in a clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel, India has many other choices at a fraction of the cost.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston, United States of America

If you want a taste of the Raj

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Everthing was great, from beginning till end. Great room in a great historic hotel. English colonial hotel since 1938. Service and friendliness like only India can provide.
Cons: Nothing. I can't think of anything that I didn't like
Location: Center of town. Short tuk-tuk ride to anywhere
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weston, United States of America

Outstanding, elegant hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: First, the context. One is accustomed in India to recieve the most friendly, helpful, respectful service. It's part of their culture. This is a fantastic historical hotel built in 1936 toward the end of the Raj. Immaculately maintained, but with top drawer modern amenities (pool, spa, excercise) the Restaurant has some of the best Indian Cuisine I have ever tasted. (I'm no chef, but I have taken at least 10 Indian cooking classes from a pro.) You will never find a better hotel in any other country for anywhere near the price.
Cons: I can't think of anything that I don't like. It is great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

disappointing start but excellent stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The Imperial is on Janpath just 10 minutes interesting stroll from Connaught Place.
The hotel front desk thrilled us on arrival with the news that we had been upgraded to one of the best rooms on the hotel. So we were a bit disappointed when we were shown a room which we would describe as nice but quite ordinary luxury for a hotel like the Imperial. Our first impressions of the hotel were also slightly disappointing. A slightly corporate feel.... But... after settling in we began to like it very much indeed. The location is perfect. The rooms are comfortable and everything works properly. The breakfasts were very good: excellent South Indian dishes plus all the standard fare of European hotels. My only criticism of breakfast would be that the European pastries (danish, croissants etc) were much heavier than their European counterparts and the omelettes and scrambled egg from the chef egg station were premixed and not so nice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is a delight. Wonderful old Indian/ Colonial pictures everywhere and fantastic fresh flower arrangements.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous British style from colonial days

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: people
Cons: nothing
This is a great hotel to experience the ambience of old British colonial days. Very friendly, helpful, and safe. They made me feel welcome, and got rid of bad experience getting there with Air India (incidentally, never fly Air India) Nice staff, good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 京都

最高のホテル!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
素晴らしいホテルでした。アールデコの美しい建物、豪華なロビー、天井が高く快適な客室・・・。食事も美味しく、スタッフの対応も申し分ありませんでした。プールも広く水も綺麗です。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful Elegant Oasis.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Apart from the sheer beauty of it, little things like free water and fruit were a lovely bonus
Cons: If anything the windows weren't quite insulated enough to keep out the outside noise.
Location: Perfect location. Not isolated like the hotels are in the embassy area. Easy walk to Conaught Place and all the restaurants and shops.
This is a wonderful place. Elegant, beautiful and peaceful. There are too many excellent things to say about this hotel. I read with interest the reviews before I went. I can only presume that those who have gripes must be very very spoiled indeed. Perhaps if they opened their eyes to the realities of Delhi and how countless people are forced too live, they would realise how lucky they are to be staying somewhere like this. I spent 12 nights in the hotel and everyone of them was perfect. It felt like home. It was a privilege.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel, great staff, great location. An oasis in Delhi.