Ratings based on 1,189 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2016
This hotel appeared to be clean but the amenities where not great. Rooms were small, TV did not work, and bed was not made properly. Overall, it was affordable, but not the most comfortable. I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Tutto molto piacevole e vicino a Time Square (10 min a piedi). L'unico problema è stato nella prenotazione della navetta per il JFK al ritorno. Tutto il resto del soggiorno piacevole.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Close to Times Square, maximum 5 minutes walking. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than outside

Posted Mar 30, 2016
The room was the smallest that I have ever been in. Impossible for two people to stand shoulder to shoulder. The most basic in every way. I couldn't take more than I day. Staff was very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy hotel out of the way!

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Perfect if you wAnt a little exercise and want to visit time square!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I really enjoyed staying here! Best Bed Ever!!

Posted Mar 26, 2016
Pros: Bed, service, staff, and cleanliness.
Cons: Maybe a slightly bigger room, but was very happy with the place!
The Staff was great! very clean, and enjoyed the walking distance to most areas, especially the High Line walk!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Western Australia

Needs TLC

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Really comfortable bed.
Cons: Attitude of the staff and a good clean.
Location: Not too far to get to the subway - Penn Station. 20 minute walk and at Times Square. Quite a few eateries relatively close by.
After checking the reviews I decided to give the Magnuson a go and give them the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately I should have trusted my first instinct - pay more and stay somewhere else. Pros - The location was ok - not too far to walk from Times Square. A very comfortable bed and the bathroom was clean, toiletries ok. Con - The reception staff were really only going through the motions, not very welcoming. The place really is in need of some TLC - most areas looked as though a thorough clean would be in order. The carpet looked shabby and in need of a good steam clean. The furniture in the room was really too big and made it difficult to move around and not really matching and needing updating. We really are not fussy guests and could see that with fairly little effort this hotel could be improved. Would I stay here again - probably not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Close to Javits

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Convenience for attending event at Javits Center.
Cons: Daytime staff seemed a little rude.
Location: Close to Javits Center. Ten-fifteen minute walk to Times Square.
This hotel is perfect if you want to be close to the Javits Center. When you come out the front door, turn left and you are staring at the Javits Center. The rooms are small but clean. The King bed makes the room feel even smaller as there is very little floor space around the bed. Breakfast is included and is average but again convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Close but lacking in style

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient to the Javits Center.
Cons: Beds and sheets updated and in good condition. More availability to dining/seating in lobby.
Location: Great for being close to Javits. The traffic seems lighter in this area than others in Manhattan. There is new construction happening all around.
The hotel was close to the Javits Center which is why I booked there. The center was one block away; however, on the way is the warehouse holding the carriage horses and they hose down and muck out each morning allowing the water to run into the street. Very strong smell of horse urine. After that building, the next one is a gentlemen's club. As a professional business women, I did not walk there after the sun set for obvious reasons. I am not sure why they call themselves a conference center. The lobby is one floor down from the street level and an elevator if you have physical challenges or luggage; otherwise there is a steep set of stairs. There is a small lobby of the sofa and a couple of other seats. Whenever I entered the lobby, there was always the same man sitting on the sofa. Thought he was a guest but when I wondered into eating area to get a plastic fork to eat leftovers that I was bringing to my room, he stopped me from doing so stating no one could be in it unless it is 7 to 10 a.m. Our room was clean; however, the bed was hard as it sat on a plywood sheet resting on a platform frame and legs made with 2x4s. The mattress had an egg-crate foam pad on top whereby the ad called it a pillow-top bed. There were many worn spots/holes in my sheet. Very surprised they were still being used. Not much room between furnishings and the beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C.

Comodo albergo nell'upper west side

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Buona la pulizia delle stanze, Wi-Fi gratuito in tutte le camere, e postazione Internet nella lobby. Colazione continentale buona, comodo alla metropolitana, vicino al centro circa 10 minuti a piedi dalle principali attrazioni della Manhattan che conta.