Ratings based on 15,051 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel Close to Time Square

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Old Elevators were having mechanical problems, 2 of 4 down.
Location: Central to Manhattan. Close to everything.
I was there 5 nights. Very quiet. No problems what so ever. Comfortable, Beautiful.It had everything I needed. Would come back anytime.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Lovely location for Times Square and Broadway

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Able to walk everywhere.
Cons: No complaints.
Location: Plenty to do and see nearby, mostly within walking distance.
Lovely room very clean. Only complaint was waiting for the lifts, they seem to take forever. Although one was out of order!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Older hotel in a great location on a side street a block or two from Times Square and fabulous restaurants in Hell's Kitchen. 10 -15 minute walk to Central Park. Helpful, friendly staff. Had a minor repair fixed within 20 minutes of reporting it. Pleasant manager's reception nightly. Quiet hotel but can hear the occasional siren outdoors. Comfortable bed with very soft linen. Good work out room.No thefts, felt very safe. Only complaint - elevators very slow, one is broken.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south australia

good location that about all

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: the foyer & location
Cons: rooms & bathrooms need a complete refurbishment with AC that is quiet & effective
Location: location is good between 8th & 9th street very close to times square & the theatre district
first impressions after 30 hours in transit the last thing required is an over officious reception the room was dated the bed had really passed its use by date , the bath room was very old fashioned the room was very hot to cool it the window AC was very noisy made sleeping difficult on discussion with a member of the staff was told New Yorkers are used to this basically suck it One would be lucky to find an elevator that worked on a regular basis
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本


Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: ロケーションの良さ
Cons: 設備が古く、エレベーターが一機故障していたり、廊下中に他の部屋の電子レンジで使用した食べ物の匂いが充満していたりしたのが残念でした。
Location: 言うことなしです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect for our long weekend in New York

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: See about
Location: Perfect
Staff was gracious, friendly and helpful. Our wish was their command. The desk staff were welcoming and pleasant, and bellmen polite and helpful. The concierge was especially helpful, consistently going the extra mile in her explanations and advice, and making transportation and sightseeing easy for us. She was able to obtain play tickets for us at a reasonable price. The lobby was pleasant and comfortable. Our room was on the 11th floor overlooking 48th Street. Nice view of the city. Left the shade open so I could look out at the lights when I rolled over. Beds were comfy, room service discrete and thorough. Bathroom was small but adequate. Could hear muffled street noises -part of the New York experience, but none of hotel noise. It was actually very quiet. The location was superb. 3 blocks fron Times Square and the Broadway theaters and subway station. A block from 9 th Avenue and Hell's Kitchen clubs. Hotel breakfast was pricey, and nothing special. Would have appreciated being able to order from a menue
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
The hotel is within walking distance to Broadway, great shopping and wonderful food. One complaint is the wifi service...very spotty and when I called the front desk for help, the staff member on one occasion was very rude. The elevators were under repair every day we were there and the waits were long... on a couple of occasions we took the stairs..9th floor!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel close to Times Square and Central Park.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Staff were very accommodating. Four of us in a room and only amenities for two so we had to call down several times for items (towels, cups, robes)
Cons: More ice machines. Only available on 2nd floor which was a pain - especially with 2 elevators not working.
Location: Short walk to Times Square. Ticket office for all attractions (shows, bus tours, etc.) right around the corner.
Overall, a fairly good experience. Only problem was that both main elevators were out of service for our 3-day stay so there were long waits and even had to take the stairs to 11th floor once when another elevator went down. Also, ice only available on 2nd floor so was a bit of a pain.. Definitely recommend for cleanliness, concierge services and front desk services. Kitchenettes in rooms are a bonus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Staff, Great Location

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: The staff and price.
Cons: The elevators - broke down and slow.
Location: Location great. Just a few blocks from Time Square. Close to subways and bus routes. Also close to lots of restaurants and the theaters.
Great location for many different areas. Just a block off restaurant row. Staff was great. I asked for a feather pillow and was told that they did not have them but they would try to get me one. When I got back to my room there was one on my bed. Loved the extra effort. Air conditioner was loud but worked well. However the elevators broke down at least 3 times during the week and the service elevators were extremely slow. That was the worst part of the hotel. Everything else was great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Excellent for shopping, theatre shows, transport and eating.
We stayed at the Belvedere for nine nights. The room was comfortable and very well maintained. The hotel is close to Times Square and all of the theatres. There are so many restaurants within very close proximity too. Staff were pleasant, although I was not impressed with one staff member when we were checking in, as we arrived at 3.45pm and check in is at 4pm. We were told that we would have to wait the 15 minutes until 4pm. On a down side, the lifts were old and constantly out of order. You could wait up to 10 minutes and then find the working lift too full to accommodate you, so you had to wait again. The weather was starting to turn cool so fortunately we had the air conditioner on minimally. This was good as it was so noisy that it sounded like construction work going on in the room. However, the Belvedere is a well established hotel with obvious good patronage as it was always busy. I would probably stay there again.