Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Staff was great

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The staff - the entire staff.
Cons: The coffee, especially in the restaurant/bar. Since there is no room service, more readily available info on delivery options in the area.
Location: The Front Desk has some good take out menus, so be sure and ask.
The staff was great and very helpful especially when asking for tips on the subway and local restaurants. They will take you anywhere within a mile radius of the hotel which includes a couple of subway stations, restaurants and markets. The rooms were nice and clean. The bar was a good place to gather with our group and plan for the day. Here are my only two negatives - the coffee in the /restaurant/bar - the restaurant/bar being closed for a private event without notice to the hotel guests. Although minor we had no idea and it was Super Bowl Sunday. Overall The Box House is a nice place to stay with a great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Brooklyn

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Good sized rooms, great staff.
Great hotel, friendly staff, nice sized rooms. Easy access to various parts of the city via Uber. Stayed for a weekend so we didn't walk around much but did take Uber to various places in Brooklyn and Manhattan. Good restaurant in the hotel for breakfast. Would definitely return and would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach CA

Very comfy

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: It was clean, They offer shuttle services to drive you wherever you need to go, The gym and everything was near by !
Cons: The sofa bed is pretty uncomfortable.
Location: Dorian's cafe is super good! The subway stations are nearby to get you anywhere you need to go. A lot of stores near by it's a perfect area!
I love Felix Christian sing and Johnny they were all very helpful with me and my familly. The hotel was very nice and comfy very calm and quiet as well as peaceful and clean. This hotel made me and my family feel at ease and at home and we loved everything about it. All the guys were very nice and had a great personality we appreciate them so much !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Christmas stay

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Great hotel and great staff! The hotel is about a 15-20min walk to the subway. It is 2 subway stops from central station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2017
As soon as we walked up the front steps we were greeted. The staff is amazing. The room is very specious. I love this hotel. Only bad thing is that the parking is on the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

amazing

Posted Dec 27, 2016
amazing experience, very happy with the stay, we brought a few packed food to the hotel and asked the staff to heat up for us they are happy to do so
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barkisland, UK

Boutique hotel in easy reach of Manhattan

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Distance from Manhattan and convenient for Long Island City. The courtesy car to subway & ferry.
Cons: Speed of service at breakfast. Make it clear which rooms have spiral staircases.
Location: Great location, easy Rachel of Manhattan but also a very easy reach of Gantry Plaza State Park giving one of the best views of the Manhattan skyline.
Great hotel, modern & comfortable. The courtesy car made it so easy to reach the subway, one stop from Grand Central & the bustle of Manhattan. The rooms were clean and were fun to be in. As slightly older customers the spiral staircase whilst aethestic and space saving in our room was a bit of a challenge to go up and down in heels after after a day out. The breakfasts were good value for money although service was a little slow but did not distract from our stay. I will definitely use this hotel on my regular visits to NY.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Loud construction noise.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Staff . Great customer services.
Cons: Mattress quality. Less noise due construction. better dining
Great customer services. Great design. Noise from construction. Noise from housekeeping staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, area not for 1st time visitors to NYC

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Funky decor and taxi service.
Location: 1st time visitors to NYC might find the gritty, industrial location rather unnerving.
Very nice hotel, with excellent kitchenette facilities. Staff very helpful and free local taxi service was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Unique hotel, too far north in Brooklyn

Posted Dec 9, 2016
We loved our loft style room (#24) for our stay, but wished the hotel was closer to Dumbo or Brooklyn Heights, as this was where we spent most of our time. The old taxis were advertised but not available. The front desk staff told us he hasn't seen them running in a while and that was disappointing. The staff took us through other amenities which included computer usage and printing availability. When we attempted to print our boarding passes, the keyboard didn't work. When we shared our concern, the front desk staff again told us that it hasn't been working since the day before. We were told there wasn't maid service until day 3, but fresh towels will be exchanged out daily. Again, that didn't happen after the first day and when we asked for fresh towels to be delivered, they did just that but left the wet ones. Even with those small incidents, it was a lovely hotel.