Ratings based on 2,022 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Nice hotel. Very clean and in a good location. The wifi connection was awful during our stay and, though we complained, it did not improve. This was inconvenient as we were travelling from outside of the country.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NoMad

Shabby without the Chic.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Location: Near Grand Central who's subway only serves Eastside and Queens efficiently. a good hike to Times Sq,
This is one of those properties all over NYC that look modern in the pictures, list all the star amenities, but turn out to be dumps. They get away with it, as NYV+C has a constant stream of new visitors and they could care less about repeat business or even bad reviews. I failed to read the reviews and like many others travelers posted, how is this listed on Expedia as 4 stars?? The front desk associate checking me in was aloof, practically mute, and gave the creepy vibe of one of those movies where an unsuspecting traveler meets a shady fate. Room was very large by NYC standards. The dark brown carpet and chaise lounge were covered in lint and smelled musty. The fridge was a mini bar with very overpriced drinks and libations. WiFi was a joke, so slow could not even finish an online food order. Bath never update, tile scratched and cracked in some places. I was not dirty but it felt dirty. It's an older building with out the details that at least give "faded glamour".
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Nice convenient hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: Huge rooms for New York, location is convenient to New York Action.
Cons: The facility is older. Baths are clean but we had a leak from bath above. Of course, the management took care of us. No problem.
Location: Close to 42 nd st., empire state building , grand central station.
Service is excellent but the building is old. Room is huge for New York standards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recomendable

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Ubicación muy conveniente. Buenas instalaciones. Personal muy amable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hôtel très bien placé

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Bonne hôtel nous avons été surclassé, cependant la Clim de l'étage supérieur faisait un bruit d'enfer. nous dormons avec les boules quiez donc cela ne nous a pas dérangé. L hôtel est très bien situé et le personnel dans l'ensemble est charmant sauf les deux femmes de l'accueil
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location, comfortable beds

Posted May 24, 2016
The St Giles has a great location, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. As others have reviewed, our only negative comments are that the rooms - tho larger than typical NYC rooms- are in need of serious updating. Ragged carpet and peeling walls distract from what is otherwise a really nice hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Convenient Midtown East hotel

Posted May 16, 2016
The rooms size was adequate but you can tell there was a lot of wear on the carpet and the room was in need of a facelift.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Convienient, roomy and quiet

Posted May 13, 2016
We stayed here to attend an event and were surprised by how nice the staff was, the large size of the rooms and the location was pretty easy to get to the places we most wanted to get to. I recommend this hotel for people who enjoy locations that aren't mainstream, have an older charm to them, and appreciate more space. We loved it and will stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gute Ausgangslage für Stadt Erkundungen

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Die Lage und die unkomplizierte Abwicklung.
Cons: Langsamer sprechen und mehr Kundenbedürfnisse abfragen. Frühstücks Qualität auf dem guten Level fixieren den wir anmachen Tagen erlebt haben.
Location: Katzensprung vom Chrysler Building und Grand Central Terminal entfernt. Optimal für Ausflüge zum Timesquare Square und zu vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten.
Im Vergleich zu anderen Angeboten in Manhattan relativ günstig geschnappt, relativ guter Service und bemühtes Personal. Im Vergleich zu deutschen vier Sterne Hotels hatte die Bettwäsche und Zimmerreinigung Optimierungspotenzial. Das Zimmer war sehr dunkel und die elektrische Beleuchtung eher romantisch als funktional. Die Klimaanlage was recht laut, zugig und auch ausgeschaltet immer hörbar aber dafür sehr effizient. Das Frühstück war an manchen Tagen viel besser als man es in einem amerikanischen Hotel kennt, ließ aber dann stark nach und konnte schließlich Preisvergleichen und der Atmosphäre der Diner auf der Lexington nicht mehr mithalten. Die Ruhe im Zimmer, bei geschlossenem Fenster, war fantastisch wenn man bedenkt welcher Trubel in Midtown herrscht. Buslinien nach Up- und Download direkt an der Lexington, U-bahn und Bus zu Flughafen wenige Blocks entfernt. Tipp: Metrocard für Linienbus und U-Bahn mit Flatrate kaufen, kostet 2016 für eine Woche 32 $ und schont die Füße ungemein.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel rooms are run down. Far from 4 stars.

Posted May 5, 2016
Be prepared for rooms that are desperate for an update. Our room the paint was peeling, carpet was stained/bleached out in a spot. Bathroom was in need of repair. This is far from a NYC 4 star hotel. Definitely a 2 at best.