Ratings based on 2,224 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Great location

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Upon check in we were upgraded to suite. Huge space , rare in NYC. Great staff and like the coffee now served in lobby. Enjoyable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Location for Walkers, Staff Great

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: We loved the simplicity, the nice staff, and the no-nonsense NYC feel.
Cons: Showerhead needs upgrading, and the hotel needs new HDTVs.
Location: Bloom's Deli has breakfast. Between the Empire State Building (which we saw from the window) and the Chrysler Building (awesome Art-Deco classic).
First, the staff: The check-in and check-out were quick, friendly, and helpful. The doorman would sometimes be there and open the door for us. The rest of the time, the friendly staff left us alone! There was no need for them to get in the way with any kind of sales or overly-friendly offers for accommodations that we didn't request. This was, for us, the perfect experience. I don't like all the crazy attempts at over-service that results in me awkwardly saying "Uh ... no thanks," and thinking, "Gosh, leave me alone. I'm trying to enjoy the city." Second, the room: A nice little room with a comfortable bed. The shower was small with a trickling showerhead. The TV was 2007 or so, but still had on-demand (that we didn't use). I tried to plug my computer up to it one night, but there was no HDMI port ... so we watched local news or something. Why worry about that, though? There's plenty of entertainment in NYC. Just look out the window. The room was clean every single day. Fresh towels. Cleanliness. Luxurious? No. However, clean and comfy. Third, the location: Midtown East, Murray Hill, a block or two from the Chrysler Building. Diners and restaurants all around. Out of the busy-ness of the busiest tourist places, but not so far you can't get there. Three streets from Grand Central that will get you anywhere in all directions. I wouldn't call this out-of-the-way, but it's not so much amongst the throngs that you are run over by tour groups.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Good location, excellent staff, nice gym and clean room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great location but coasting on its reputation

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Badly needs total overhaul and clean windows.
Location: Midtown Manhattan.
I've stayed at The Court a lot and also have been upgraded to The Tuscany next door. It's in a great location, and the small staff is very welcoming and helpful. The hotel badly needs an overhaul. Perhaps there are plans in the works. I booked a room and was upgraded to a corner suite, a nice gesture. Sadly nearly every aspect of the suite was faded, stained, tired, or worn out. The fact that this is really a budget hotel in a great location never stood out more. The bed was good and the bathroom clean, lots of hot water, and tons of closet space. There was no wi-fi access in the bedroom which meant no work from that space (the signal was extremely weak and kept dropping). Stained or rather bleached spots in rug - lots of evidence of wear and tear. Finally, great views from very dirty windows -probably the dirtiest I've ever had in a NY hotel. Sigh. I want to LOVE this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Fantastic hotel in a great location!

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Fantastic location, quiet, clean, great staff.
Cons: The carpet in the hallways looks a little worn but other than that, nothing.
Location: Close to Grand Central, Empire State Building, Chrysler Building, easy distance to Madison Square Garden, Times Square. You can't ask for more!!!
I looked at reviews on Expedia for hotels close to Grand Central Station. I am so glad that my husband and I decided to stay here! Several blocks from Grand Central; easy walk for us while pulling our suitcases. Fast, pleasant check-in. They upgraded us to a suite (without any request from us). We were on the 10th floor; the suite included a living room, hallway and a large spacious, bright bedroom. The view out the bedroom window was of the Chrysler Building! It was quiet and comfortable. A Starbucks was nearby; a great deli named Bloom. We easily walked everywhere from the hotel. I have already recommended the hotel to multiple people and I will be back to enjoy this great facility. Thank you so much!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
Despite large rooms and good location this hotel needs major renovation. Shabby furniture and old carpets in room. Mold on shower curtain. No coffee maker in room (free coffee in lobby am only). Depressing lobby. Very nice staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newburyport, MA

Good location

Posted May 17, 2017
The room was very big, the couch and the bed were a little too soft for my taste, but still nice. When I stayed, there was scaffolding and construction in front of the building so it was hard to locate it at first. All in all, great value for the price
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Stuck in the 1970's

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, literally everything.
Location: Location is great, that's the only thing.
In need of a MAJOR update, if I was the owner I'd be embarrassed to rent these rooms. Why not redo 2 rooms/week and pretty soon you'd have a nice hotel as the location is great but the interior and the rooms are not great, not even close. I arrived late and was beat. When I walked in my room I was greeted with a funky stink in my room, which was just the start. My shower head was broken so I had to splash water on myself in an attempt to get wet, there was mold in the bathroom, the room was dark, dank, and everything in was either stained, worn out, broken, and old. The mattress was horrible. I had 1 towel in the bathroom with no washcloth. The shower curtain was too short so the water just ran out onto the floor which I used my 1 towel afterwards to try and sop up. The old chair at the desk was real low and the desk was real high so it was useless to use and I wouldn't have anyway as the moulding around the desk was all loose and it laying about and the top of the desk and the night stands were sticky and the entire finish was worn away so it's been decades since they've been replaced (and cleaned). The TV was analog so the picture sucked. Why have a flat screen with analog? I could go on but I'm reliving this nightmare of a room. The only thing I can say about the hotel is that when I arrived, the staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Close to Grand Cental Station

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location was great for getting around, as the nearest station is Grand Central, which is on various subway lines. The room was comfortable.
Cons: Not a very good lounge area, but we didn't use it anyway as we were out and about.
Location: We could walk to a few sights such as the Rockefeller and Times Square. Great breakfast options at Grand Central.
Quiet and comfortable, great location. A very good base for exploring New York. Plenty of good places to eat nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, large room compared to most NY hotels

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay there. It was only 3 blocks walk to grand central. The room was probably the largest room I've ever stayed in for a NYC hotel. There was a spacious desk area, queen bed and then a nice couch next to two fairly large windows that let in a lot of light. The bathroom was on the older side but was overall clean. Internet was fast and easy to access. Exactly what I needed for a business trip. Would highly recommend.