Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Magor

Posted Nov 19, 2017
When we got to our room we discovered that it had not been made up from the previous occupant. There was no bed linen on the duvets, dirty mugs and a strong smell of smoke. The window was open and it was very cold. However, on the positive side the receptionist was very helpful and managed to find an alternative room for us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for the night

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Bit of a mouldysmell but it’s warm and ok for an overnight stop
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southport

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: The only thing going for this Motel is it's convenience for the area
Cons: The place needs cleaning and decorating and the smell needs to be got rid of.
Location: The location for us was okay as we had a Dog Show in Cwmbran and coming from the North of England it suits us to stay here.
Staff shortage, we had no soap in dispenser, smell on entering building wasn't very pleasant the building looks tired and in need of decoration and we felt sorry for the poor girl on reception having to sort out problems and make up rooms as well as doing reception, which she did with a cheery hello and a big smile and apologising for the problems at the motel. Our friends toilet wasn't working properly and they were short on toilet paper.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Bitterly disappointed

Posted Oct 30, 2017
I have never experienced a poorer service in a hotel then at Days Inn, Magor. I prebooked 16 rooms and cancelled 3 within the cancellation period to leave myself with 13 rooms for customers. After arriving and speaking to who were the cleaning staff who were very friendly, the front desk attendant turned up soon after who was without question the rudest person I had ever met in my life. She told me that I had made a mistake and it's my problem that there was only 12 rooms in our name. I explained very calmly that we should have 13 and I have the proof available to show which she did not want to see. The two cleaning staff were behind her who she was constantly overminding to the point where I was actually cringing. After about 5 minutes she realised that in fact I wasn't in the wrong and that "there was a problem between Expedia and themselves" did I get an apology? No. She couldn't offer me the 13th room but fortunately we had 2 customers that were willing to share or it wouldn't of been extremely embarrassing. Whilst we started to move our bags the receptionist started having a go at the cleaning staff right in front of my self and our customers. I didn't think it could get anymore embarrassing but this topped the it off. Once in my room, the room was cold, the TV doesn't work we can't tune any channels. I was just thankful to had to spend such minimum time there. The location is handy admittedly but the customer service was the worst I have ever experienced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Comfy Stay

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Quietness and comfy
Cons: N/A
Location: Ideal for access to the Severn Bridge
Late booking as i needed somewhere to stay. Never usually stop at Motorway Services but this time i did and had the most comfortable night. The bed was just right for me and there was no noise compared to other places i have stayed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Cons: everything
Really durty place. Total dissapointment. Shortage of staff, bad facilities, broken shower, filty dusty carpet not hoovered . Mouldy and unconfortable place to stay even for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, My apoligies that you experaiance these issue's on your stay, if you could inform me on more information. I would like to investagete further. Kind Regards Starr Watkins
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fordingbridge

Does the job for a stopover

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Convenint
Cons: Fix heating
Location: Newport and Cardiff nearby. Gateway to South Wales.
Ok, but couldn't get towel rail and radiator to work, which on a cold damp evening would have been nice. Beds nice and firm though. Wouldn't plan to holiday here anyway,but it is fine for somewhere to crash out when splitting the journey up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback, My apoligies that you couldnt get the radiator to work, please feel free to speak to staff who can arragnge these things for you. since your stay we now put all radiators on low, thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards Starr Watkins
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good stop over on long drive not my first cholce.

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Frendly staff room ok will try somewhere else next time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby, tired hotel. Poor customer service.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms need general repair and a thorough clean. Better customer service would go a long way.
I've stayed in this hotel a few times in the past few weeks (my work book it, I have no choice). The rooms are tired and need repair. I've had rooms with no chair, no bin, dripping taps, lamps that don't work etc. The rooms are often not cleaned or have the tea & coffee topped up during my stays. WHen I've been to ask for more coffee, they've said they'll bring some, no-one came. Staff don't seem to care and aren't very friendly. It would be more bearable if I wasn't paying £65 a night. If I could stay somewhere else I could.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Convenient Hotel on M4

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Close to M4 for forward journey with free parking
Cons: Child's bed was sloping but used pull out bed underneath.
Location: We had been to Chepstow and wanted to be on M4 for early morning journey to Swansea
Needed accommodation for family and most accommodation booked or overpriced. This did the job. Basic no frills but friendly and quick check in and out. Could be noisy as next to McDonalds and in motorway service station but we slept ok