Ratings based on 662 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ILLINOIS

Hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Bathroom is small, airconditioner not strong enough to cool the room, parking garage is available for self parking but if you got a big SUV or truck it's gonna be a tight driving in the ramp. The pluses- rooftop pool, gym, business center.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Poor management and unhappy employees

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: location
I called ahead to ask if we could check in before 4. I was told to come as early as possible and they will clean our rooms first. I arrived at one pm to an awkward lobby with only swing doors making it difficult to bring luggage in. At 4 our room was not ready. they told us they would call. I did not move from the couch of the lobby and inquired every 30 minutes. Finally they did not call me but when I inquired at 6:45pm, they had our room. I paid for a 6 person suite and got a four person suite with a soaking wet carpet. The management did not offer a cot and I asked for extra towels on more than one occasion. They were never delivered in 2 days. I asked to be reimbursed I was told by front desk manager she would handle it. 9 days later I have yet to be reimbursed. I have asked for management for the past 4 days. I have yet to get to speak to them when I call and I have not received an email or phone call. I went online to their live chat and I asked for management's email and they immediately went offline from my laptop that I sent the request from. On my phone they were still live asking to help. Why so many guests over the two days I was there did not get their rooms in a timely manner were because of cleaning services calling in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

By no means opulent or luxurourious but good value

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Stayed their for 5 nights I was happy with it. Could have been nicer but for the price I paid I think it was $1200 for five nights with a balcony over the beach I thought the value was great. If I go again I would stay here maybe 10 days instead of 5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Close to beach but in desperate need of renovation

Posted Jul 11, 2017
This hotel is right on the beach which was nice, but the room was in desperate need of renovations. The bathroom was atrocious, the tub and toilet were dingy and showed major wear and tear, and the tub was rusting. The "kitchenette" was incredibly small and the fridge made a scraping sound every time we opened it. The door to the outside didn't close very well and kept sticking. I wouldn't stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

It's ok.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
My only comment is that check in was 4. I got there a little early and they put me in the wrong room. They were more than accommodating to get me into the correct room. Very friendly and apologized a great deal. They just couldn't not get a hold of housekeeping. I ended up waiting for an hour for a room to get cleaned. And the parking garage is horrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, lack luster service

Posted Jul 1, 2017
We were unaware that this was a time share facility when we booked but found out at check in when we were told to stop by the concierge who was nice at first but when we politely told him we were not interested he shooed us away with his hand and told us we could go. Not the impression we wanted after driving 13 hours only to be told our room wasn't ready. After waiting an hour I checked in again and was given keys to our room but didn't actually receive a call until 8pm. Had I not gone to the desk after our hour wait we would have waited 4 hours to get in our room. We travel with 4 children often and will not stay at a diamond resorts again. The room was smaller than expected and no way to clean the room so we walked on sand all week. We had 6 in our room and was only given 4 towels even though we requested 6. Room cleaning and towel exchange was only done by request and was often filled with an excuse i.e. "We're waiting on our linen truck again". The pool bar was cash only which made it difficult to enjoy the service without leaving wads of cash in an unattended bag while you swam. There were never towels at the pool which were listed as one of the amenities and the pool deck was sticky around all of the chairs. The bartender was very nice but frustrated with the new cash only policy. The location on the beach was nice but was over shadowed by the staff and the lack of customer service shown.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First time in VB, not impressed with this property

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Sold out of room even after we booked it months in advance. Reaccommodate to a smaller room, no compensation given. Had to change rooms mid week. Still waiting for a call back from management. Will go back to VB not this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Awesome place!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
All the amenities you could ever thnk of, beautiful views and close to anything you could imagine, the only downfalls are no housekeeping for the duration of the stay, the parking garage is tight. And they push wayyy to hard trying to get you to purchase a timeshare, I suggest skipping the concierge desk and your "welcome packet" for a perfect worry free stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Close to beach

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Low water pressure slow drains. Bug in shower. Took over 2 hours to get missing towels and washcloths delivered. On first floor could see the beach from room due to vendor displays on boardwalk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Whitney, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Your concerns are taken seriously and will be addressed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Ok if you don't value cleanliness

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Diamond Resorts bought this hotel since our last stay there, and the experience was anything but good. We will not be coming back. They do NOT provide daily housekeeping! It's a substantial "upcharge" on top of what you are already paying for the room if you want it cleaned during your stay!!!!! You want towels? Call the front desk. Take out your own trash and then call the front desk for bags. They don't even provide a small vacuum in the room either. So don't have small kids and drop crumbs like us!! Oh and then there is the wait for your trash bags and towels. Spent hours sitting in our room waiting on what should be provided without having to ask. Very frustrating. We will not be staying here or any Diamond Resort again!! This is sad because the staff was friendly and courteous; their hands were tied by their corporate owners.