Ratings based on 1,426 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY!!!!!

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Pros: Leaving
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: Great Location - terrible facility
Linens were old and dingy. White linens were GRAY! Room smelled "funky". No room service daily, refigerator leaked onto carpet continually. Floor was constantly wet. Slider to patio was broken or something(?). Need to a tow truck to get it open. WiFi in building is TERRIBLE!!! Staff is aware, and it has been a problem for so long they are indifferent to it. THIS IS A TERRIBLE PLACE TO VACATION. Building is in direct flight path of Navy fighters. Sonic boom every 15 minutes as they fly over. STAY AWAY!!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT IMPRESSED

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: well equipped room
Cons: remove the cover-ups, or there may be a lawsuit..I am pretty sure it was mold...
Location: all good, but nothing compared to Atlantic City....want to be near the ocean with more activities...go there
This hotel was a BIG disappointment, although set up very nice for convenience, the "oldness" smells coming form the vents stifled me, I could not sleep all night long...good thing it was only for one night....my fellow holidayers, I only now learned about "oceanVIEW" as opposed to oceanfront....make sure when you book you do for for the right room, or you will be on a "LEDGE"......not good, I do not recommend this hotel...due to its old smells...however I must say that the staff was more than great, the room beautiful and equipped....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Room was dirty the second we arrived, no wifi service that worked, tv in room had no signal and was practically broken, the room was extremely extremely small for a condo studio, bathrooms throughout hotel were always disgustingly dirty and never stocked with toilet paper. Heard terrible things about the manager that worked there. They would never stock our rooms with more than one roll of toilet paper so constantly had to call to front desk for it. Elevator buttons broken on our floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Comfortable.. close to the beach.. very clean.. would love to come back again..:)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Herndon, VA

Nice hotel, but terrible staff

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: Overall location of the building and interior
When we booked the hotel, it said that the room has a view. When we arrived the hotel and asked front desk to give us a room with the view to the ocean. Her answer was "sure". When we came to the room, it has a new to the city, not the ocean. However, room next to us 16A and we went downstairs to the front again to ask if she can give us a room with the view to the ocean. She said she did not have any rooms available with the view to the ocean, even though it was Monday(not weekend). Then, we politely asked if we can move to the room next to our room which is 16A. It was vacant. We were told that someone booked online specifically that room. So client in front of her could not get that room, but someone from internet can get it. We stayed overnight and no one actually used 16A and it was vacant. Thats pretty bad experience when front desk does not want to give available rooms for guests. It was my first time there and not likely recommend to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Exmore, VA

Unable To Check In On Time, Horrible Manager.

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: valet parking at $8
Cons: Replace the manager with someone like the front desk girl (Sandy). Someone that is willing to assist customers.
Location: IT's the Virginia Beach Oceanfront, many fun things to do for everyone.
Arrived at 4:30 to check into my $300, Ocean View, 1 Bdrm Suite (Check-In starts at 4 PM). Found the lobby filled with angry guests trying to check in. The hotel was grossly managed and way behind on getting rooms ready. Ironic considering their check out time is 10 AM. When asking the manager (Mr. Washington) why the delay, he made no attempt to remedy the situation, but answered sarcastically "How would you like to clean 300 rooms?" He basically slinked into the background and provided no other service to anyone, leaving the front desk to take the blunt of the burden and complaints. When I finally got my room. I opened the curtains and low and behold, my entire main view was a city street scene, and a great view of YNot Italian Restaraunte! The hotel advertises this room as ocean view, because if you walk out into the corner 3ft x 3 ft balcony, and strain your neck down the side of the hotel, you can see a glimpse of the ocean between buildings. I feel taken advantage, and almost to the point of false advertising. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. I plan on putting in reviews on every website that I can find. Certainly better options on the Oceanfront than this place, and at $300/night.....they can keep it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nothing resort about it.

Posted May 10, 2017
I specifically choose this hotel because we wanted the resort feel, chairs on the beach, being pampered by staff etc. We didn't get any of that. I am still trying to figure out what the resort fees are for. If you want a lounge chair on the beach you pay for it. Our room was not tidied by hotel staff once in our four day stay. We had to hunt down hotel staff for more towels even after I called and asked for more. I also had to stop them in the hall for more coffee, creamer, etc. Things that they should be restocking each day. The trash was overflowing by the time we left. We had reserved the studio suite which shares a main entrance with another suite. The occupant of the other suite locked us out of our room! This shouldn't even be possible! That was a fun experience at 11pm after a long day. There just weren't any perks to staying here versus the less expensive hotel on the strip. We were here for a cheer competition and thought that we would try to turn it into a little family vacay. So we visited several teammates at other hotels who paid less and got more. Oh and all the reviews about the 7am trash truck are 100% true. I thought they were over reacting. They are not! Lesson learned for us. P.S. I am still awaiting the receipt for our stay as they said it would be emailed and still haven't seen it :(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad experience

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The front desk staff was very rude at check-in and we didn't get our room until over an hour later than the posted expedia check-in time. After we checked in, they told us to go to the concierge for a "goodie bag." The goodie bag was just a bunch of brochures on their other resorts and an attempt to get us to purchase another stay. When we declined, the concierge left us a message on our room voicemail asking us to come down so they could walk us through the check-out process. When I went to the concierge they didn't have any info on the check-out process -- it was just another attempt to try to get us to book another vacation. There was no cleaning service available during the stay, even though you are charged a nightly "resort fee" - no fresh towels, no bed making. When I called the front desk to ask for clean towels after our 3rd night, I was informed that their laundry hadn't come back and I would not be able to get towels until 10pm that night. When they finally brought new towels, they gave us two bath towels (no wash cloths or hand towels) and they left the dirty towels on the bathroom floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Megan Schmeding, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your visit and service received. Please be assured that we will address this with the housekeeping team. We also regret that you appear to have experienced some issues with the check-in process. Thank you for sharing you feedback Megan Schmeding General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: location to the beach
Cons: clean the pool more often and keep plenty of towels on hand. I had to wait for a towel while at the pool for several hours
Location: The location is great. Plenty of places to eat and shop nearby
The rooms were okay. The cleanliness was so, so. While swimming in the pool things were floating by me. The staff was friendly. The real plus was the proximity to the beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Megan Schmeding, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your comments and taking the time to share your impressions with us, we will pay attention to issues mentioned and hope that you may decide to stay with us again in the future. Megan Schmeding General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel is right on the beach

Posted Apr 15, 2017
When I arrived there was only one person working the front desk. Then I made reservations for ocean view 2 bedroom suite. Well they didn't have any oceanview suites left. Then they gave me city view and didnt offer any discount.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Megan Schmeding, Hotel Management
We are very sorry for the issues you experienced with your room allocation and we would be grateful for an opportunity to improve on the given impression. Thank you for your comments Megan Schmeding General Manager