Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Needed it for one night with our 2 little dogs. It was perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a very good stay for the price

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Pros: the king sized bed, air conditioner, overall pretty clean & comfortable
Cons: The shower/bath tub.They were very clean & water pressure was good but it was pretty darn slippery when you first get in it. A towel would work.
The king size bed was amazing! It was the best feature of the room. The bed gets an "A". The air conditioner was amazing! The rest of the room, a solid "B". The room for the price was more than adequate. Overall a good place to stay. I would recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Worst bed I have ever tried to sleep in.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Had hot water.
Cons: Complete renovations. New bedding.
Location: Convenient to scuba diving facilities at Vortex and Morrison Springs.
The bed was comparable to a cardboard box covered in bubble wrap. Could not sleep at all. Barking dog next door (no dogs allowed) remedied by front desk after a phone call. Hotel very old. Half was undergoing renovation. Should have closed the entire hotel during renovation. All night long, I kept hearing noises against the back wall where the vacant rooms were undergoing renovations. Room smelled musty. Shower curtain smelled sour and moldy. Would not stay here anytime soon. May reconsider whwn renovations are totally complete.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Disappointed with overall lack of cleanliness and customer service. The towels were dirty and the bottom of the bathtub was black. The faucet was covered with calcium and mildew. The bed was broken. Food crumbs on the floor. A wad of hair on bathroom floor. Loose electrical outlets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

super 8 in defuniak springs, fl

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Last minute planned trip to the beach for the 4th of July weekend and needed a place to stay somewhat close but too far away and decided to stay in Defuniak Springs about 25 miles north of the beach. Expected higher rates because of the July 4th weekend but this is NOT a $200 a night motel no matter what occasion. 1. The pool is 10 x 20 not big enough for the amount of rooms/people staying there. 2. Towels were so thin you could see through them and very rough. 3. Room was clean and the beds were comfortable 4. We passed up the skimpy free breakfast for the waffle house next door 5. The cleaning crew starts at 7:00 rolling there carts up and down the walkway yelling to each other what they need. NOT COOL IF YOUR A LATE SLEEPER ! 6.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Never again

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everyhting
Room smelt real bad. Toilet didn't flush. Pubes on the wall in shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Group stay

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: i didnt get wet when it rained
Cons: drop some money and renovate. it has great potential, good locations, its just a dump as it is now
Location: We were divers getting certified
The hotel was pretty rough. We had a group of 12 and each room was equally bad. Towels were hung back up wet, to be used the next day by staff. I intentionally dirtied a towel to make it obvious, and when i came back, it was neatly folded and placed back dirty. My ceiling was literally falling down
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Good for overnight or even extended stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Clean, NO BED BUGS. close to Defuniak Springs.
Location: Next door to the local winery. Beach just 30 miles away. Close to Walmart, Lowes, many Fast Food facilities and I-10.
Check in was efficient. Room was clean. Facilities older but updated. Pool is very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale FL

Great room even if price was higher.

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Hotel is in small, friendly little town. Right off Route 10. Beds are new and very comfortable. Great shower pressure..Frig and microwave work well . New flat screen TV with HBO and other premium stations. Staff sweet and efficient. Very clean, no musty , old smell. AC/heating unit delivers fresh, clean air. Not much more you could ask for at any price. Had time to write extensive review because not much to do here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing super about this Super 8

Posted Nov 25, 2014
On climbing stairs to go to room on 2nd floor noticed pile of chicken bones from buffalo wings meal under stairwell, figured this wasn't starting off too good. Carpet was in desperate need of repair in a few places. Only had one plugin on opposite walls in main part of room, which was supposed to handle the two lamps and clock, which means either unplug one lamp or leave clock unplugged. The bed made groinking noise every time you moved in it. Only reason we stayed was we were exhausted and didn't feel like moving. The chicken bones were still there the next morning when checking out. Pass this place up and find something else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you had a negative experience at our property. We will look into your complaints and see what we can do to improve on future guest's experiences. Again, we apologize.