Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2018
Looked like the sheets werent changed. Not a nice place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay area, California

Terrible

Posted Feb 25, 2018
Hotel reaked of marijuana so bad other families left, police were called by guests & staff but never showed up. Got asked for cigarettes, money, & food by people while out on deck Outdated small rooms for the price. Loud freeway noise. Pool closed. No dining or bar close by. Staff was awesome though! Deck & view of harbor decent. Lots of nearby construction & detours. Considering not staying at a Hilton again if this is how they reward their employees that are doing a fabulous job under such crappy conditions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Homewood Suites By Hilton - Oakland Review

Posted Feb 12, 2018 on Hotels
I thought for the amount of money per night that the room would be larger ($259.00). I also thought that the bedroom would be separate from the office desk and kitchen area as they are designed at other Homewood Suites by Hilton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Book at your own risk

Posted Jan 30, 2018 on Hotels
The staff was nice,Lobby was clean and inviting but the room I stayed in had an old 70's decor, It smelled like a old folks home,The bedding looked dingy,there were cats that lived on the premises that were on my patio meowing throughout the night which was kinda creepy,pictures on the website very decieving,I've stayed at better Motel 6's than this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2018 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Dandrea

Awful Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel was not what I expected in a Homewood Suites. It was below my standards of what I am accustomed to. The breakfast was awful. Made me sick as a dog. I will never stay at this Homewood Suites in Oakland on the waterfront again.
5 out of 5
by jean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

A repeat visit

Posted Oct 10, 2017
This was our second visit to Homewood Suites at Embarcardero Oakland. The check in process, while it took a little time, was smooth and we were given a room Far From the Madding Crowd - way at the far end of the hotel. A team of very helpful and knowledgeable staff were at the front desk and we were able to find directions to a hairdresser and to other places in Oakland. The room was clean and comfortable. This was the first place which has NOT replaced the towels that were hung up and only changed those that were on the ground. Well done! Everything worked. Breakfast was much better than the standard dehydrated scrambled eggs and canned biscuits and gravy fare at other similar establishments. The breakfast was substantial, well prepared and presented and had a lot of variety. It was only on check out that we encountered an incompetent team. There were two of them at the check out, one on the phone for about 10 minutes and the other who would not help us since she was doing some 'accounts' - filling in some paperwork which she did not stop even though the customers were waiting and we were getting delayed. Eventually the telephone lady deigned to give me my receipt - for ONE day although we were there for two. I am sure that these two do not represent the hospitality that Conrad Hilton strived to promote.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Small Beds

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I was very disappointed to find out that the rooms were not suites (one desk and a desk chair - not even a lounge chair) and more importantly, had a Full Size bed ( When I complained they said it was a Queen Size bed). I am use to having a King size bed in my rooms and did not realize that I had to look what I was renting in the room. Had I realized that they had Full size beds (1 not 2) I would have not booked the room.
5 out of 5
by GLORIA

Family Gathering

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
I had a wonderful stay. I spent time with my 26 and 16 years old kids. We felt like home. Swimming and having dinner and breakfast together.