Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland ca

No complaints really

Posted Feb 6, 2017
-1 star because the room had those automatic light switches, which drove me a little crazy tuning on and off All Night Long.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Truly awful hotel experience

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: It was close to UC Berkeley
Cons: Everything
I've stayed in many hotels over the years, but this one manages to take the title of worst for my one night stay in Berkeley. First off, when I got to my room the door was basically open. The furniture in the room looks like it has spent a decade in a frat house. The hotel building itself looks more like a motel. The fridge in the room makes a loud noise that prevented me from sleeping, so I had to unplug it. All I could have asked for was a decent night sleep, but I was woken up at 7 am by loud cleaning staff right outside my door, which is apparently paper thin. After about 30 min of them loudly talking in the same spot, I had to go outside and tell them to quiet down. The parking lot filled up the night before, so I had to do street parking which requires payment after 9am. I should not have to pay to park for a hotel. After experiencing this hotel, I decided without a doubt that I will always spend the extra $40 to get a drastically better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rohnert Park

It was good for a short visit.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: the room was clean. they gave us bottles of water which was good because we were in a heat wave. The breakfast was good.
Cons: the chair was stuck in a corner near the air conditioner. You couldn't move it around the room.
Location: The university of California. Bart is near by so you can go into Oakland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Breakfast and free parking!
Cons: None!
Location: Berkeley is a walkable distance away! Also Trader Joe's!
It had all the things we needed! Breakfast, free parking, walking distance from Berkeley, reasonable pricing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quality Inn Consistency

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Proximity to our destination.
Cons: Rooms that can't accommodate a king size bed should be changed to a different size to allow the guest to move more freely in the room.
Location: Located on a busy commercial street with good access to restaurants and services. Accommodations were quiet.
I was somewhat disappointed with our room because it was just too small to move around the room. Only one person could pass by at the end of the bed due to limited space. We managed for one night, but we won't be returning. We've stayed at Quality Inn's in Vancouver and were quite pleased with the room, service and price, but the brand didn't compare with this location unfortunately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed for the rating given to this hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The water pressure.
Cons: With the exception of the water pressure everything .
Location: I did not like the location at all,dirty and not well kept.
We booked late at night but with a 3.7/5 we thought it would be better than what we experienced.When we arrived there was several people (not guests ) in the office they weren't exactly friendly,no parking available -they said leave your key and when a spot becomes available we will park it-could not do that with a rental car-a guy offered us his spot to park and we did.on our way up to our room 3 of the people that were in the office were smoking-they advertise a smoke free facility,our room key did not work,the security door lock did not work,the carpet had stains as well as the bed sheets had cigarette holes etc....the water pressure was good and so was the hot water,but for the 130$ we payed this place was a waste of all that money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Move in weekend

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Good hotel for move in weekend for UCBerkeley students. Staff was nice but room was cramped. Two double beds where there should only have been a single I guess they want to give parents the dorm room experience. Kind of expensive for the value. Close to campus. Furniture in poor condition
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley CA

Very small a acomodations

Posted Aug 9, 2016
No chair in room. No luggage holder, and room quite small for price paid! Not at all like Quality Hotels I have stayed in before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Decent for the area

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The Staff
Cons: It's a somewhat older hotel and the furnishings could use an update.
Location: Berkeley Marina
The area is not known for upper class hotels, but the Quality Inn was nice enough, considering. But, the standouts were the staff. I had some very specific needs and made special requests. Although there were no promises made, I was pleasantly surprised when we checked in and without fanfare, everything I asked for was made available to us. I was traveling with an elderly person and children and needed the rooms to be as close as possible. The hotel was booked but they were able to get all of our rooms right next to each other. Bravo!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from claremont, Ca

Rooms are more Rooms are a bit cramped R

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Cons: Room too cramped
The rooms are smaller than at most quality inns. Ironing board and iron took up most of closet space. Quality inn still better than other motels I've stayed at on University in Berkelry.