Ratings based on 1,040 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

Great downtown Oakland location

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Very reasonably priced, not hugely memorable, but there is character here. I have stayed twice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Great location and for the price it worked...

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Charming old building in great location
Cons: SHOWER WATER PRESSURE!
Location: Jack London Square, PLANK fun center, African American museum (fabulous!) Chinatown, several dance clubs, Ratto's Italian Market
Was looking for a moderately priced hotel in downtown Oakland and there are few choices. This location was perfect for our needs. First tip we have is that there is plenty of free street parking on the weekends so check that first before parking in the parking lot across the street for 15.00/day. We were put in a standard room on the 4th floor. The rooms are quite small and the sink is in the room, not the bathroom, which is a little weird but no biggie. There's also a tiny armoire and a fridge. The bed was ok but my partner found the sheets "threadbare" and scratchy. So far no real deal breakers regarding the room since we didn't spend much time in it. However, the shower is another matter. NO water pressure at all and it took me about 10 minutes to adjust the temperature so that's a big waste of water even though it comes out as a trickle! I have a lot of hair and I had to spend a good (I mean BAD!) 20 minutes just rinsing the shampoo out. Ugh... The shower issue was enough to make me think twice about returning since I doubt there's much that can be done about that! Otherwise, the hotel has a certain amount of charm and the people working there were very nice. And you really can't beat the location if you want to park your car and see the many sights of Oakland & Jack London Square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown Oakland.

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Washington Inn is a vintage hotel that has been modernized. It's convenient to downtown Oakland, quite, and cozy. I'm thankful for the hotel staff for being accommodating which made my stay a better experience. Overall the hotel was pleasantly nice, but a bit pricy and no convenient parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno

Smart choice in downtown Oakland

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Spacious room, quiet and comfortable with easy access to nearby parking
Cons: More variety with breakfast spread
Location: Several quality restaurants nearby and easy access to downtown Oakland work or play
Business trip - excellent location for downtown Oakland but also easy access to BART for San Francisco work and play
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Three block walk to 12th Street BART

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Super close to BART station
Cons: Included cold breakfast doesn't include protein other than cold hard boiled eggs.
Hotel location gives you great and convenient (5 minute walk) no-car access to the entire Bay Area via BART and multi-transit modes, paid with a single Clipper Card, which you can buy at the BART station one stop south (Lake Merritt Station). Or if you arrive at Oakland Airport, you can hop right onto the BART and stop at the Lake Merritt Station to buy a Clipper Card before continuing on to the Oakland 12th Street BART station then walk the three blocks to the Hotel. Seniors (65+) can buy the Clipper card which gives you a whopping 62.5% discount on all fares! We used Clipper cards to take BART, Cable Cars, MUNI trains, AC Transit and NextBus. You can even use it on Golden Gate Transit and Ferries. I advise that you try to get a top floor (less noise), but especially their "large room". Other reviews indicate this will be the difference on whether or not you will enjoy your stay. Liked that all four of our windows in both rooms would open (slightly) for fresh air. Ours 407 had a separate door to living room with kitchenette, couch, desk, and another TV you can watch if your partner wants to watch a different channel in bed, or just wants to sleep. I think the rooms on the north side may be quieter (facing 10th Street), there is some late night club noise down the street on Washington, and also from the brew pub behind the hotel. Lots of good restaurants to walk to and China town is only 3-4 blocks walk as well. Friday there is an Asian market in the street outside the Hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mittelprächtig, entspricht dem lokalen Preisgefüge

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Downtown, hier kann man gut arbeiten.
Erstaunlich unfreundlicher Empfang durch Rezeptionisten, andere Rezeptionistin sehr freundlich. Hotel ist nicht grausig, aber auch nicht toll, der Preis wirkt im Vergleich zu anderen Gegenden sehr hoch, für Oakland / Bay Area entspricht er dem Üblichen für diese Kategorie. Frühstück "continental", also nicht viel erwarten.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in Old Oakland

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Loved our stay here. Very quiet, clean room. Safe neighbourhood. Friendly staff. Close to BART. Will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Super cute though overpriced hotel. Number one issue was the hair everywhere- seemed that the maid who cleaned the room was shedding and definitely not wearing any headwear.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

nice staff, nice location

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Super wonderful staff, very friendly and helpful. Located in a nice part of down town, and close to a ton of fun bars and restaurants. Only issue was the room smelled funky, and the sink was in a weird place (which was more amusing than inconvenient).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Quaint Little Hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We went to Oakland for a Sunday Reggae nite at The New Parish and Heiro Day, and decided it better to stay the night. The hotel is so quaint! LOVE the elevator. The room was clean and cute. I would definitely stay here again. Right across from the over priced Marriott! They do use the Marriott for parking, but since this was a holiday weekend, we just parked free on the street right across from the front door! Their bar is closed on Sunday, but the Smart & Final next door had beer, wine and liquor, so we went there. No problem! It was a good stay.