Ratings based on 1,506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sanchez

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Nice hotel close to restaurants and nightlife. Went out to Oakland for a Raiders game and loved this location. I will do this again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, USA

Relaxing Stay at a Fine Local Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, room service, price, free wifi, low parking price, decor, staff -- everything was wonderful.
Cons: Tiny nit-pick -- the carpeting in the hallways needs a good sweeping.
Location: Yoshi's -- good food and live music/bands. Movie theater one block away. Historic spots/Jack London Square. Sunday farmers market. Bars/restaurants.
We are locals but stayed here for a relaxing mini vacation over the holiday weekend. Our stay was lovely. We walked the waterfront and enjoyed many of the local bars/restaurants/shops. The hotel is cute (decor-wise) and comfortable and safe. Best of all -- the price was more than reasonable for the Bay Area (including the daily parking rate). The first night we walked one block to see a fantastic band at Yoshi's. The second day we walked one block to see a movie at the cinema. We also walked a half block to take the ferry to San Francisco's Ferry Building Marketplace! Meals/drinks at Yoshi's/The Fat Lady/Kincaid's/Scott's/Steel Rail and Lungomare were all wonderful. A fantastic mini-vacation all around!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Shabby Chic

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: The location is amazing. Right on the water in jack London square. Near so many restaurants, stores, markets and things to do.
The rooms could use a facelift I won't lie. I've stayed before and this particular room was nicer than past rooms. But they are clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Stay here every time I visit Oakland

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: I travel here often to visit family and I always look for a better option but never find one. This is the best value for the price. The price does go up on a busy weekend, so watch for that. Otherwise, great value!
Cons: Location is lovely right in Jack London square. Great view and lots to do in the area.
Location: Restaurants, movie theater, jazz workshop, ferry to SF
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff was very nice but that's about it.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: We had a nice water view and the little coffee shop has good food and coffee.
Cons: Sound proof, update decor, get down pillows, and nicer linens.
Location: Scott Seafood is good. I think the area is a little shady but they have a nice Farmers Market on Sundays
Paper thin walls are the main problem. I found it interesting that they had ear plugs as an amenity in the bathroom until we tried to sleep the first night there. I could hear everything going on in both rooms on either side of us. The neighbors snoring kept me awake. The other room had dogs barking. .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
had a good time until people complained about us hanging out in balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Very nice hotel. Nice and quiet.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: It was so quiet that I could barely hear anything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The hotel was in Jack London Square, but I finally found the hotel.
It was so nice to go to sleep and stay asleep. I slept through the night without hearing any noise next door or anywhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We waited and waited and waited to be checked in. The guest at the counter was having an issue with the price rate. 5-7 mins later the guest is checked in and I'm still standing there waiting to be acknowledge. "I'll be with your shortly" would've sufficed instead she was quite rude and not friendly at all. Our room had a connecting door that connects to the room next to ours. The guest in that room had a toddler and a baby (no blame to them) that cried the entire night. You could hear everything through the door. Our bathroom had hair in the tub, on a towel, and built up dirt/dust near the side of the sink. The previous experience with the woman who checked us in made me not want to even contact them with these issues. She clearly didn't care.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Rooms really needs update - new carpet, paint, new furniture. Location is nice and it's great they provide ear plugs - you need them because you hear people walking around on the floors above you.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but too close to train..

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Evening hosted wine and cheese, location and friendly staff
Cons: Better sound proof windows?
Location: Plenty of places to eat nearby and hotel can shuttle to the BART station where you can easily take the train to football games our to San Francisco
This is a great hotel with very friendly staff. The one drawback is that it is located too close to the train tracks. You will hear a train coming through the area during the night.