Ratings based on 518 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you like to sleep, don't stay here

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The walls so are paper thin that you can hear every single word that is being said next door. Every 15 minutes the train passes by and blows the horn which is incredibly loud. I slept 2 hours even with earplugs in. Reception decor was redone but the checkin process was not good, the employee was refusing to honor my requests and was rude and annoyed to me. The rooms do NOT look like the pictures online. This was more of a cheap rundown motel for the price of a nice hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

More a 'motel' than a hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: It was clean, easy to get to and a good room.
Cons: The internet access
Location: An easy ferry journey to San Francisco from the square. Restaurants quite pricey but good food.
We were staying in Oakland for business. This was idea, on Broadway (there's a free shuttle up and down!) and right next to Jack London Square. The internet was a tad intermittent but mostly worked. I didn't mind the sound of the trains but, they were audible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Close to everything.
Cons: Cheaper Parking would be needed.
Bathrooms were very very small. It was interesting! No idea why parking is 20 dollars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

It worked well

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Staff. Best people ever.
Cons: Thermostats in the room, A/C units.
Location: Lots of great restaurants
It's an older facility (with reception area recently renovated) with "dated" rooms. The A/C units are quite old, and don't function efficiently. The rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable. The best part is the hotel staff. They are friendly, helpful and were quick to provide the needed services. Location is great with lots of great restaurants around. Being a vegetarian, "Souley Soul" (a Vegan Soul Food restaurant) was a great option. Sadly, pretty much the entire downtown Oakland is a city of homeless individuals. I will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland

Live locally.

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Needed to get away from home in town to get work done. This is a good, clean, local hotel. It is not a "national" chain, though it is under a new name Z now. I would get a room here over anything else in downtown Oakland or Berkeley for the similar price range. The Marriott in Oakland is #1, but you pay #1 rates. This spot is cool. Has a pool. You can walk to the area's many stores and restaurants. If you park outside in the streets, just purchase a window before checking in (lol), because your car will get broken into. So park under with the hotel; they allow in and out. I am local, this is a solid, clean, safer locale in Oakland, that most people miss on, for not knowing its quality. Which is more a marketing thing than quality thing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Rooms in need of renovation

Posted Dec 5, 2016
I will say the location is good for enjoying all of Jack London Square. The room was old and needs serious updating especially the bath. Ice only in 1 location and walls are fairly thin. For the cost I expected more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to our son and his family.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: The employees - all so friendly!
Cons: Just finishing the renovation. I missed the exercise center.
Location: We don't do much nearby as we drive over to our son's house.
They are doing a renovation so a couple of things were a little confusing but not bad. Our room was fine and the food is wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south san francisco, Estados Unidos de América

Not worth the price

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: na
Cons: rooms, security
This hotel used to be more up their repairs and room. I felt like I was staying at a motel 6 except with different colored blankets. Security doors in hallway were falling apart and didnt work and just opened without room key. Room was cold and bathroom was motel 6 style. Not to mention during construction, I literally checked into the hotel in a small door opening in the parking garage without a lobby.The price of this is mainly because of the location downtown oakland. But the quality of the room was and halls were just not worth it. I wouldve drove a few exits down by the airport to get a better quality room for better price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Train Noise

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel being remodeled. Slept well except for loud trains at night and early mornings
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Nov 25, 2016
This is a fair place to stay one night. Nice location, nearby the sea and good restaurants.