Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Hotel No Sleep!

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Seemed clean
Cons: Security out front moving people along so not hanging out under our windows...
Location: Beach, shopping, restaurants...
We booked our first "Bed & Breakfast" and Ocean Front Hotel hoping for a romantic weekend stay in Newport Beach, instead thought we were at some hotel during spring break in Cancun! Local Buses, Vans, Barhoping tours all dropped off and picked up right in front of our hotel / room which was unit 1 right out front in corner of the hotel. 3 or 4 intersections merged here with constant honking and car alarms going off all day and at all hours of the night, a parking lot zoo. Baja Sharky's bar across the street so loud we couldn't even sleep with ear plugs in! Ubers and Van drop off and pick ups till 3am every night with drunks yelling and blasting music was non stop. Guess we should have had some idea when a framed note next to our bed says "If you need earplugs please see front desk". We were not even asked how we enjoyed our stay upon check out since we probably LOOKED as bad as we felt. I thought a Bed and Breakfast had cooked meals for guest to enjoy, instead had bagels, cold cereal and cut up fruit. Had better breakfast at a Holiday Inn... So very disappointed and this is the most expensive hotel room we have ever stayed in. Sad to be right on the beach and not even be able to open the windows at night to hear the waves... Windows stayed locked shut and still all you could hear are drunks yelling, laughing screaming and cars honking. Would not recommend this to our friends... Came home exhausted from a very disappointing stay....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice bed and breakfast type hotel by the beach.

Posted Jun 26, 2016
We stayed in room 6 which was nice and quiet. We read reviews for other rooms which may be louder as they face the beach/sidewalk. Thee only down side was the stairs at the entry to the room which were a cause of concern for our two year old who was constantly viewing them as a source of entertainment and fell down once. Perfect place for a couple to stay in, nice, romantic but not the best for small children.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2016
We stayed on room 3, found it to be very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Chris from London

Disappointed

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Due to location being near a series of bars and the hotel being next to the beach car park it became a hang out for young kids and their night time antics. So noisy right up until 3am. Not ideal when wanting a peaceful (Thursday!) night. I'm only 37 so appreciate every one wants to have fun but I thought for what I was having to pay in price it would be a relaxing peaceful stay on the beach. Annoying to have to dial a number when you arrive to get allowed in to hotel as lobby is upstairs. Breakfast v basic. The views are wonderful and that is the only reason why you are paying so much for this dated hotel. If this was off the strip in town you couldn't get away charging half the price. Sorry but I was v disappointed having read all the reviews. Just don't get it why TripAdvisor has it as one of the best in Newport beach. Complete false representation where I will now question the authenticity of these reviews. Apologies for my negative views but being truthful here.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth A. from Mesa Ariz

Get away for our Anniversary

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
This is a great place to stay. and we just love Andrea Schusterick At the welcome desk we stayed here for our 63rd anniversary also stayed here on our 50th 57th 60th wedding anniversary in the same room #1 close to the beach and with the windows open a fresh breese from the ocean comes in.The bed is very great and the room was beauitful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach and bars.

Posted May 22, 2016
the decor was like staying with great grandma. And if you are a light sleeper this place is not for you.
5 out of 5
by Chad from BNG

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
Date night, beautiful...right on the beach, romantic. 100 feet from the pier and great dining.
5 out of 5
by Dan

Great location

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
It's was grea! Beach front, what's not to love.!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to the beach

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and location great
Cons: Do not stay in room 9
Location: close to beach, restaurants
Nice hotel, great location to the beach but depending on the room you get it is very noisy. We stayed in room 9 and I would not recommend it. Very nice room, clean and quaint but faces the street and is above and across from two night clubs that stay open until 2am. So very loud. Also where they serve the continental breakfast starting at 7am is right outside your door so you get that noise as well. You also are attached to the patio where they allow smoking so you get the smell.
4 out of 5
by Charles from Victorville

Great weekend at the Doorman's Inn.

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very charming Victorian Styled B&B. Definitely on the pricey side. In some need of TLC but all in all a great experience. Customer service is great, very helpful. For a B&B the breakfast was weak.