Ratings based on 988 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Location close to freeway, harbor, shopping

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: The location is good.
Cons: The bathrooms need renovation. The sitting room is 0k but if someone is watching tv in there another person could not sleep in the bed area, no door.
Location: This is the best part of the hotel. Close to freeway, harbor, shops, dining, beach.
We have stayed at this hotel before during renovations. We thought that the renovations were completed the hotel would be better suited for us. Not the case. The bathrooms are actually a liability waiting to happen. The shower doors open the wrong way potential hazard. The large bowl sinks are great to look at but not so practical unless you are tall. My aunt needed a step stool plus there is no place to set anything down. I had to put my dopp kit on the toilet. The shampoo provided was half empty not enough left in the bottle to shampoo. All in all we were disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seemed nice. Room in disrepair especially the bat

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Maintenance of rooms
Location: All good
The room was clearly used and there were. Number of things wrong in the bathroom like broken shower door, fan, missing hair dryer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary AB CA

Disappointment

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Cons: Reduce parking free internet and front desk staff more helpful.
Room was comfortable but the sofa was quite dirty. The patio only being open for a short time is the evening and not available for the day. Valet staffing was fabulous but paying 22/day for parking is excessive. 12.95/day for WIF!!! The Business Center had dirty and unreliable computers. Front desk staff were friendly but not well informed or to concerned with our needs. Spare blanket in the room was dirty and torn, replaced it but showed no concern.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ocean getaway

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Beautiful ocean view, easy access to the beach and nearby amenities. Friendly staff and nice restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner. Parking was the only negative, $22 for overnight parking in the structure, aside from that a must visit if you're staying in Dana Point
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad condition

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Bad experience, the garage was flooded with duty water, the room door doesn't locked. Bad bad experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Loud train, room was in okay condition. The only plus was that it is walking distance to the beach and staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Facilities

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Room was clean, modern but a little small for 5 people. Double beds are too small! 2 queens would be better! We loved it though! Very accommodating Heated pool too! Complimentary Beach Chairs too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twentynine Palms, CA

Expected more from a "Doubletree" hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Don't fall for the price listed. The hotel will charge you a "guest tax". Only 2 working elevators; if you have pets make sure you only get charged ONCE! Hotel location is not convenient. Room service charges extra 23% of the bill to your room for your server and still expected to pay tip. Front desk ladies were nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Clean and modern but lots of disappointments

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, clean and modern room
Cons: Service from the Staff. They did not do what I had asked for. Major disappointments.
Location: Near the ocean, freeway. Dana point harbor near by.
I contacted the hotel directly also via Expedia that I would be cerebrating my birthday alone and wanted to make it special. I was completely ignored. Staff did not help me what I asked for. AC broke, neighbors were away too noisy all day/night. Fitness center equipment I wanted to use, did not work. No hot tub. Parking is $22 a day, also I was charged $13 internet access. Foods / drinks on site are super over priced, nothing is free in this hotel. Coffee was almost $4 as well. Disappointed...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B, Norway

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Very nice hotel, nice interior and friendly hotel staff! Clean rooms. The hotel were in the middle of two trafficated roads, but we were aware of this in front, so it didn't bother us. It was also a little bit outside of everything, but there were free trolleys that could take you all the way around Dana Point. All in all s good experience for our family of four😊