Ratings based on 980 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad condition

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Bad experience, the garage was flooded with duty water, the room door doesn't locked. Bad bad experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Loud train, room was in okay condition. The only plus was that it is walking distance to the beach and staff was friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Facilities

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Room was clean, modern but a little small for 5 people. Double beds are too small! 2 queens would be better! We loved it though! Very accommodating Heated pool too! Complimentary Beach Chairs too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Twentynine Palms, CA

Expected more from a "Doubletree" hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Don't fall for the price listed. The hotel will charge you a "guest tax". Only 2 working elevators; if you have pets make sure you only get charged ONCE! Hotel location is not convenient. Room service charges extra 23% of the bill to your room for your server and still expected to pay tip. Front desk ladies were nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido, CA

Clean and modern but lots of disappointments

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, clean and modern room
Cons: Service from the Staff. They did not do what I had asked for. Major disappointments.
Location: Near the ocean, freeway. Dana point harbor near by.
I contacted the hotel directly also via Expedia that I would be cerebrating my birthday alone and wanted to make it special. I was completely ignored. Staff did not help me what I asked for. AC broke, neighbors were away too noisy all day/night. Fitness center equipment I wanted to use, did not work. No hot tub. Parking is $22 a day, also I was charged $13 internet access. Foods / drinks on site are super over priced, nothing is free in this hotel. Coffee was almost $4 as well. Disappointed...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B, Norway

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Very nice hotel, nice interior and friendly hotel staff! Clean rooms. The hotel were in the middle of two trafficated roads, but we were aware of this in front, so it didn't bother us. It was also a little bit outside of everything, but there were free trolleys that could take you all the way around Dana Point. All in all s good experience for our family of four😊
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Excellent view & excellent staff

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Location, Hotel Staff (Alea @ front desk), and our oceanview room with balcony
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: The ocean, right in front of the property!
The location of the property is the best, feels very exclusive and private. Hotel staff is amazing. Alea at the front desk is the warmest, most personable person I've met in the hospitality industry in a very long time. We stayed in the King Oceanview room on the 4th floor and we probably spent the entire weekend on that balcony. Incredibly relaxing and the view is everything I imagined it to be and more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prescott, AZ

Nice and close to the beach

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Location near the beach.
Location: Dana Point Harbor and the Lantern District are quite nice.
Getting out of the hotel, and back onto Pacific Coast Highway is a bit of a challenge. Pool is a bit on the small side but the property is kept nicely. We wandered up to the 4th floor for drinks.... live music and the view was beautiful. Our room had one of those sliding doors with glass.... if you get up in the middle of the night it lights up the entire room! For the price it was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canyon Lake

Nice room with lounging area

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Cons: new hairdryer
Fun time for whale watching and hanging with friends.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: The Valet Guys are awesome. Being there is NO parking, they are very helpful on getting car, towels, beach seats.
Cons: Customer Service --- It is a Hospitality Service Industry. They truly lack it.
Location: Dana Point is an awesome town. There is lots of beach, restaurants and boats to watch.
I had scheduled to stay for 6 nights, on Memorial week, but only ended up staying for 1 night because they hotel could not be bothered to get a Crib for my infant. Please realize, I did call 3 days ahead of my check-in to make sure there would be a crib available for us, and they told me it would be IN my room when we got there. I can understand the first night, since we arrived at Midnight; but when I checked with the front desk the next morning, they promised we would have one available for use the second night. When we came back later that day - the front desk basically informed us the Hotel's did not have one again, and it is not their issue. So - someone couldn't call a sister hotels - like the one two blocks away to borrow one?? It made two Promises they could not seem to keep... I wasn't about to stay to see what else they failed to do.