Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Luxury a cut above small vendor offerings.

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Compared with other stays we had in Morocco, Berbere Palace felt much more like a professional resort-style hotel stay, and much of the facilities felt accordingly geared to it. The grounds are large and massive, the rooms also huge, spacious, clean and opulent - but there is a clinical identity to the whole place that lacked some of the charm of the smaller Auberge's we had during our stay. This isn't to detract from what Berbere Palace had to offer - it had everything in spades, and was super luxurious. For the discerning traveller, there is a host of facilities such as multiple bars, restaurants, and grounds to wander, as well as a very comprehensive team of helpful, friendly, and welcoming staff. The pool area looks spectacular and is laid out with deckchairs, sun lounges, a bar by the pool, and outdoor dining areas. Breakfast is in the buffet restaurant, and caters to a range of tastes, even serving pork which wasn't as common during our stay. It isn't a cheap option to stay here, but the money paid is for a luxury that's a cut above small vendor offerings. The resort also appears to see alot of action - particularly with films and film crews. During our stay, there was a film crew staying AND shooting on the grounds of the resort, as well as hosting the competitors of the Moroccan Rally, their individual car crews, the rally press teams and 2 separate buses of tourists. Amazingly, the resort still had an air of peace and quiet to it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BURLINGAME, United States of America

Descent facility with poor service.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: It is located in the city center and convenient for sightseeing.
The check in went ok with the receptionist not speaking English. I was upgraded to a two bed room suite which was nice. The room has basics for five star hotels but is cleaned poorly with stains and hairs to be seen. There was no view other than walls of the surrounding structures. The restaurant experience was very bad as one of the waiters brought a glass wine without showing the bottle that I ordered. It was not until I asked to see the bottle that he admitted he had served a different wine, cheaper one, than what I asked for. Manager came out and apologized but the wine was fully charged as it was served. When checking out, the receptionist claimed that I had had a bottle water in the fridge that I had never touched. After I disputed, he had a housekeeper doublecheck and it became clear that it was her mistake. The receptionist said 'It is OK.' without apologizing. Overall, my stay was disappointing and I think was far from what you would expect from a five star hotel. Clearly the management has not caught up with the facility.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, good location

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is very comfortable, in a beautiful building, and well-appointed, with a great pool. Small issues such as the gym not be open at it's stated hours.
5 out of 5
by Hector from Florida USA

Great palace.

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great facilities in Sahara desert. Top service and food. If you want to visit this area is the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice Stay

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: Nice rooms, reception, ...
Cons: Just perfect
Excellent hotel Nice stay Clean and big rooms Nice decorations Pool opened at night
5 out of 5
by Derrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Comfortable but unremarkable stay

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The facade of the building,the Italian restaurant and the old movie sets
Cons: Staff training, improved housekeeping, a heater for the swimming pool, hot tub
Location: The Atlas film studios.
My family of 3 stayed overnight in mid March. It was a pleasant stay but unremarkable. Although the facade of the hotel looked like a beautiful kasbah from the exterior and the lobby was pretty, the rooms were a disappointment after our exotic stay in a Riad in Marrakech.The rooms were comfortable, soundproof and spacious. However the decor was bland and uninspiring. The tiles in the bathroom were stained-at first I thought there were blood stains, but realized they must be either paint or nail polish stains-not dreadful, but the look was really unappetizing.. The grounds and gardens were quite nice and the swimming pool looked inviting. At the high cost of the hotel I was surprised to learn that the pool was only heated to 20 degrees. As the weather was chilly at 10 degrees, the pool was very chilly. My family searched for a hot tub that would have been wonderful. There was none. I had to content myself with paying extra for a private warm jacuzzi that took 30 minutes to fill. It did have oodles of bubble bath and multi coloured lights, but the experience was somewhat diminished by a staff member barging in the room every five minutes. The front desk staff were a bit curt and not well informed. One of the waiters at the Italian restaurant was very pleasant and efficient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxurious complex

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
We had a pleasant stay for a few days in the Berbere Palace over the New Year. The complex is very nice - the rooms are arranged in a complex of houses in the garden, rather than in the main building. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, although perhaps sometime since they've been updated. The wifi coverage in the different areas of the hotel (lobby, pool, rooms) seemed good. The location was also fine. Not so much in immediate vicinity, but it was only a few minutes walk to the centre, the main bus station and just over 10 mins walk to the Kasbah Taouirt.
4 out of 5
by Janet from Zurich

Nice stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was better than what I anticipated. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom room which was a very good first impression. To enter the room we had to climb a narrow, curvy stairway. This did not bother us once we found the light switch but it would be difficult if someone had a disability. Our room was also quite a walk from the main pool/breakfast area. The rooms were clean and it was nice to have the extra sitting room. I did feel the rooms were a little dark. The pool area is very nice and meeting actors from the studios made it fun. There was construction going on during our stay which was slightly disturbing. However, I would stay here again. It is within walking distance of the downtown area with other restaurants but you do need a vehicle to see the studios. The breakfast is a typical buffet with a full hot menu and a chef making your eggs to order. I did not think the breakfast was included but it was a nice surprise when they said it was included in our rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The pool and the food were perfect.
Cons: The quality of the rooms could be better.
Wonderfull staff that makes the difference. The food is excellent and the settings are very nice.