Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Toby, the manager is a gem. Was so helpful and sweet.
Cons: Only thing I can think of is that a kettle in the room would be great.
Absolutely lovely hotel, everything was beautiful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, Michigan

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very charming hotel with a nice restaurant on premises. Well located and very nice and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waco TX

Superb old-world hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The art, probably
Cons: Virtually nothing
Location: Amazing location near some of Oxford's best restaurants, pubs and cocktail bars (The Duke of Cambridge is a block away).
I recently stayed at the Old Bank and Old Parsonage, both in Oxford, and both owned by the same people, and I am borrowing some sentences here from my Old Bank review. The Parsonage is an almost incredible place - lovely seventeenth century architecture, but fully redesigned in 2014 for comfort and convenience. Super helpful staff. One great touch is a fine library for sitting around and relaxing. Tip - the excellent English breakfast is more expensive than other items, but includes a very wide range of extra choices. Great value. Do eat on the patio. One thing you might not realize before you walk through the door is that the hotel has a cosmic collection of twentieth century and contemporary British art scattered all around, certainly of top class museum quality. The same is also true of the Old Bank, which is owned by the same people. If you took all the art in the two hotels and combined them under one specialized exhibition space you would have a major national attraction – and there they are, gazing down at you while you are eating breakfast! My one complaint is that they don’t have a printed guide of some kind to these paintings. I loved it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Fantastic in every way

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This fantastic boutique hotel retains it's historic feel while blending ultra-modern facilities. It's gorgeous, comfortable and delightful, easy walking distance from all the major sites in the city. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice, lovely staff, but not good value.

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was quite small, much smaller than any room I have had in London, for instance. It was nicely appointed and in excellent condition, but with considerable noise from upstairs, of people moving around. I think we may have been directly under a service stairway or closet which saw frequent use by staff. Staffing at the hotel was outstanding and very helpful. Service was outstanding. Location in Oxford is excellent. I have stayed here several times, beginning over forty years ago, and will do so again--but it is quite expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on CheapTickets
The rooms are small but beautifully fitted and furnished. The hotel's effort to check ahead of our stay if we needed parking then signposted a reserved spot created a smooth process and provided a personal touch. Reception seemed rushed busy servicing the restaurant at the same time as providing check in, check out and concierge services to guests. There were no tea or coffee making facilities or kettle in the room. This was disappointing as it would be provided at the most basic accommodation. We ended up having to pay 10 pounds at checkout for two teas and a coffee during our stay, which had cost some 400 pounds.
5 out of 5
by Suliman from KSA

Best hotel in Oxford

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Short for 2 days but amazing experiance for Oxford city
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A real gem in the heart of Oxford

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with attention to service. A real gem in the heart of Oxford.
4 out of 5
by Amy from Carmel

Paeents visit daughter

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
Nice visit with daughter at Oxford
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful hotel in Oxford

Posted Jun 1, 2016
An amazing little hotel not far from the train station and the centre of town. The staff were excellent, with the exception of the young woman who greeted us who seemed to go out of her way to make us feel unwelcome. Fortunately, we didn't see her again during our stay.