Ratings based on 1,509 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything you could ever need!

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Stayed at the Riu Palace for 6 days 5 nights, and couldn't have been happier with our decision. Rarely did we leave the property... there's no reason too! The pool and beach are both amazing. The staff are super friendly and entertaining all day and all night. I was skeptical about the food quality heading into the vacation based off prior all inclusive experiences but I was pleasantly surprised. Both the food in the main dining hall as well as the speciality restaurants were surprisingly good! Look no further than the Riu Palace, they have it all!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Bait and switch

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Bug on Expedia website caused me to spend extra 50% at check in to add my wife. Customer service was unable to resolve. Also confirmation email stated generous hotel credit which turned out to be discount coupons instead. Staff advised they had tried for a long time to have Expedia correct misinformation. Food was mediocre and hotel was old. Staff was friendly and beach was nice. Water color and clarity were great and sand quality was impressive. Watch out for the wind gusts unless you want sand in your face.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

This is not a 4 star hotel, needs updating

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Pros: not much
Cons: staff were not accommodating, especially at breakfast, no one came to offer tea/coffee when you came in, you had to go looking for someone,
Location: 15 minutes from the airport
AT check in the lady helping us couldn't find our reservation at first and asked were we sure we were at the correct hotel, her supervisor came over and when I asked if there was a problem, she snapped at me that she was sorting it - very rude we thought. The bedrooms need updating badly, the plugs in the rooms and bathroom (especially) were so old the electrical appliance was falling out all the time, terrible hairdryers, we had 3 rooms, one of them smelt really badly of damp, the furniture was old, basically the rooms need to be revamped. We have stayed in RIU in many places and this was definitely the worst, will not be going back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Horrible Customer Treatment

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Cons: The fact that three male staffers surrounded us two women and forced us to move was incredibly rude, frightening, and unprofessional.
This resort offers a public beach with a number of beach loungers for customers to use. My mother and I found 2 free loungers to lie down on. We saw a space closer to shade and wanted to move our loungers but there was a pair of shoes there. We asked a nearby man if they were his but he didn't speak English and dismissed us making us think they were not his but forgotten by someone. My mother tried to move them out of the way to get closer to the shade but he started protesting. Being courteous, she put them down and apologized. We lied down to relax when three male staffers surrounded us and said the man had complained we were in his space and asked us to move. First of all, we were not near this man and his shoes were so far away from him that we had to ask if they were his. Second of all, this beach is for all resort customers not just this man. The fact that three male staffers surrounded us two women and forced us to move was incredibly rude, frightening, and unprofessional. We were lying down and silently relaxing so there was no reason for them to do that. We were very hurt and disrespected by this kind of behavior and we will never return to a hotel that treats their customers in such a disrespectful manner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Our 9th visit to Aruba

Posted Jan 26, 2018
Took my 80 year old parents for their first visit. This was our first time with Riu Aruba and will go back!! Had to make a room change due to a noisy AC unit but staff was very accommodating. Food was fantastic. Evening entertainment was later than we prefer but we enjoyed the daytime activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ - New Jersey

Paradise

Posted Jan 21, 2018
Great views, great people, great weather and great food !!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Annapolis, MD

Good, not great!

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: The entertainment was low key most of the day and more aggressive as needed. The views are amazing, the guest services were very good.
Cons: The food was well below what was there 2 years ago. The buffets were boring. The fine dining was okay but not good/great. Same menu from 2 years ago?
Second time at this previous glorious resort! The Resort is showing its age. Our room was spectacular. 10th floor dead center with amazing views. Unfortunately the furniture and plumbing were way behind the times. During the stay the water was shut off. Apparently the main burst at around midnight. It was the outage that was the concern, it was the lack of communication and any evidence of a fallback plan. I am sure that they had one but I would have loved to know how they were cooking, cleaning and sanitizing. The food was well below what was there 2 years ago. The buffets were boring. The fine dining was okay but not good/great. Same menu from 2 years ago? It was too automaton and not personalized at all. We ended up eating "off campus" for 3 of the 7 nights. The entertainment team was much better during the day and night. They kept the poolside music light and entertaining (not too loud). They only went loud about 4 times a day for about 20 minutes. They had a 20 minute stretch each day of hard core Christmas music until they realized it and then adjusted amazingly well. They did have a few songs that were quite graphic/ inappropriate for this side of the hotel. Acrobats were phenomenal in the night-time shows. DJ Maria was terrific.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul ,MN.

Beautiful,but too many people

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Very clean! Beds were comfy.The fridge was stocked all the time. The pool area was very nice-not heated. All the people that work there are kind .
Cons: Better activities at the pool
Location: Far from downtown.Walking down about a mile is a small shopping mall.
People would get up early and put towels all over chairs and then leave. Not fair to all. Also,the first night we checked in they put us in a poolside room. Really kinda run down.We told them we paid for a premium oceanview room and they said we would have to wait until the next day to get moved to one.We had to wait until 3:00 the next day for that room. It was worth the extra money. Food was presented well,but very average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Maybe not BEST all inclusive for the Money

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: View is beautiful. Beach is great. Buffet was very good every day.
Cons: Employees need to be less abrupt and rude. BETTER ROOM SERVICE MENU!!!!
Location: We never left the hotel...we paid to eat and stay there and our trip was short. But Aruba has a lot to offer that we have done before.
So to start off, beautiful hotel. However, for the price we paid and the food/service we got, we feel we could have gotten better somewhere else. And being in Aruba, with good restaurants, we feel we would have been better off staying at a non-all inclusive. The high points are beautiful beach and hotel is immaculate. The pool was huge and we had no trouble finding seats (although we got them by 8 AM the latest) even though the hotel was fully booked. Buffet is very extensive and food was always good there. Now for the negatives... First of all the staff was downright rude at times. Not everyone, we had some that went above and beyond to be nice, but in general, rude. They need a place open all day/early evening for snacks. The only "snack place" was open 1-4 every day... It would be fine if they had good room service, which they proudly say 24/7 room service. But the room service menu was an absolute JOKE. It had 2 salads, 4 main items (which were sandwiches) and then three desserts. Non-all inclusive restaurants had better room service menus. No breakfast in your room or just a "snack" at 10 PM like pizza or french fries, something like that. And I've been to other all-inclusives and the room service menu is extensive...this was a complete joke menu. Drinks OK, not super strong. Overall, if you are going all inclusive and don't plan on really leaving the resort...I wouldn't stay here. Better bets are Grand Velas chain and Paradissus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Aruba Experience

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Pros: Beautiful hotel & Great Beach. Very clean with a good location.
Cons: The Hotel Staff seemed to BS their way thru any situation or question that you asked them. Alot of rules for an All Inclusive . . . No beach service
Upon arrival & check in I asked what the class of room was as we had paid for an upgrade to a Junior Suite with Ocean View. She distinctly replied that we were checked into a standard room & had not paid for an upgrade. After I produced the paperwork to support the upgrade she said she would have to talk to her manager. A few minutes later she returned & now declared that the "Standard Room" was now a Junior Suite and that was the room we were getting. The room was NOT a Junior Suite & after pushing to get what we paid for they did move us to the Junior Suite. Dinners at this hotel were very limited to sitting times and meal restrictions. Quality of food was average & by far NOT exceptional. Surprisingly we found that the Buffet quality exceeded any of the sit down Restaurants included in the All Inclusive Package. Even if you wanted to combine the very small steak (6 oz) with a lobster (6 oz) it was not allowed. A request for an extra 2" x 2" appetizer dish of ceviche was denied until I asked to get a manager involved. Drinks at all dinner locations were limited to beer and wine ONLY. QUITE SURPRISED NO BEACH OR POOL Service for any type of food & drinks. Only 2 servers in the pool area were getting drink orders and all drinks were served in 10 oz cups & limited to 3 drinks. Alot of work to get a drink. I suggest other locations when you consider costs, quality & service.