Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Early check in fee

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: size of rooms, comfort of bed, quiet
Cons: Waive early check in fee
First time I've hit this when traveling internationally, if you check in before 3:00 PM there is a $25 fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

A tradition in Panama

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: style, location, value
Cons: update carpeting and design. repair hot water.
Location: In banking district...near Marriott Hotel. Many decent restaurants within 1-2 blocks including the Peruvian restaurant onsite. Mass transit
I used to put visitors in this hotel a few years ago when living in Panama because it is a very convenient central location for the city in the banking district. It ran in the mid one hundreds per night back then. Imagine my surprise to find it online for basically one third the price for a return visit to Panama. Nothing had changed except maybe the furniture arrangment. It seemed nicer back when. I do love old world boutique hotels compared to some of the cold/minimalist hotels of modern times. Unfortunately, this old hotel is showing its age, wear and tear. At today's rates (because of overbuilding of hotels in Panama) it is still worth staying there. Rooms are spacious. Bed / bedding was very comfortable and large. Internet was adequate. The bathroom is marble, but had a faulty showerhead, and tepid shower in the morning...no real hot water. The restaurant off the lobby is quite a good Peruvian restaurant. Our biz luncheon was well served there. Based on today's values, I still recommend this place. I hope at some point the rates in Panama will go up enough to allow them to update this old classy hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

A Jewel in DT, Panama city.

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The facade, spacious rooms, central, and the staff.
Cons: A more stronger wifi signal, but over all, great place to stay.
Location: Safe area lots of restaurants and shops. Close to the subway "EL CARMEN" station.
Clean, modern with a nice touch of Paris. Very spacious rooms. In a nice area of Panama City. Our thanks to Carlos, whom was a great help to our family ,giving us directions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Centrally located, some terrible staff

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Cons: One staff member, was completely arrogant, and corrupt: missed a wake-up call, and instead of organizing an Uber called a buddy for rip-off taxi.
Location: Central to both via Espana and Calle 50.
The hotel is centrally located, and the staff who welcomed me upon arrival were nice and initially seemed competent. As the stay progressed however, I found out there were several problems with some of the staff. The cleaning ladies and breakfast personnel were very good, polite, nice and efficient. Some of the technical staff were obviously incompetent, and some of the desk staff tried to cover for that. The Internet went out in the room I was in initially, and it also turned out to have no shower head. So I was moved to their "best" (of course!) room. Here it turned out there was also no Internet, neither for my section nor for the lobby. I had a new ASUS PC/Tablet which had worked fine the first day and previously in the US. The desk staff told me (and showed me) he was getting good reception on his cell. I tried my Apple tablet and that also worked fine. However a couple of days later I patronized their "business center". The printer was not connected to anything. One desktop didn't work. The other was set up in a very strange manner and seemed to collecting guest info (and making it impossible to clear memorized data). I also saw that the non functional desktop was giving me the exact same range of strange error messages that my ASUS had started giving me on my 2nd day. ***So obviously the problem was with their network, and probably even the non-technical staff was simply covering (and knew). Back in the US I tried my ASUS on arrival in the hotel, and the Internet worke
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Very clean & well appointed hotel. Easy to get to and convenient parking.
4 out of 5
by David

Nice and very affordable

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
The staff, the room and the breakfast was very good. The only thing was that the air conditioner was too small for the our room and it didn't cool well. The rest was good.
4 out of 5
by Bernhard

Wifi wasn't the best but still a good stay

Posted Aug 3, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I love the spacious rooms and we always get a good night's rest. This time around the wifi was a bit sketchy; you had to sit on one end of the room to get it to work at all and then it was still slow. Still, this hotel is one of our favorites and we will most definitely be back. It's a great value for the $$$ spent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Very friendly staff, the room was very clean. The internet connection on the first floor was terrible. Really terrible (sometimes it was hard to even check emails). The building needs a bit of up keeping.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

For the price this is the worst hotel I have ever

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Carpets in hallway wet and smelly Room dark and damp with black mould in bathrooms Toilet literally loose in floor and felt like it was going to topple when sitting on it Awkward parking facility Staff were Pleasant but not very helpful or friendly Overall a hugely negative unforgettable experience
3 out of 5
by Lloyd

A water pipe broke!

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel looks like a B&B online but really is a quaint but dated hotel in downtown Panama. I assume that it would be good for business. The reception was adequate. The room was large with a comfortable bed but it had a musty smell. At 2:30am we woke up to our room flooded with an inch of water and had to evacuate. A water pipe had broke. We were not offered compensation from the hotel.