Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good for a short stay in Papeete

Posted Aug 12, 2017
This hotel is not flash, but is a good option if you are looking for something on the cheep side for a short stay in Papeete on your way in or out of French Polynesia. The location is good - nice and central to downtown Papeete and a short taxi ride to the airport. It is on the main road, so you do get traffic noise, but I didn't find this a big deal for the one night we were there. The hotel is showing its age a bit, but has been maintained. We were in a twin room that was a reasonable size and had what you would expect. the air con was noisy, but it worked. The beds were reasonably comfortable but the pillows a bit lumpy and awkward. We had breakfast included in our room rate. The breakfast included pastries (crossiant/pain au chocolat), baguette, fresh fruit, and eggs cooked how you like. Simple but more than enough for us. The staff were friendly and helpful, despite a bit of a language barrier (they speak some English, but not the fluent and we don't speak French). They were waiting for us when we arrived for a late check in around 2am (we had advised that we would be checking in late), and were happy to store our bags for us during the day after check out, then called a taxi for us to go back to the airport.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and very willing to store your luggage after check out for as long as required.
Location: The location is in the city centre with restaurants within easy walking distance. Also a pleasant walk along the water front.
This hotel is very well located in city centre. The staff were friendly but it is somewhat basic and has air of being a bit run down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a staff!

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Rudest front desk people i have ever dealt with - was actually quite mind blowing how rude they were!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Got the view Matisse painted.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: That it is actually in Papeete and not a segregated enclave of tourists. It's the real place.
Cons: Hopefully the new container bin port will not stay across the bay. You are not at the beach here but you are steps away from great rowing.
Location: Good location for pearl shopping, exploring the downtown and night life. Handy enough by cab to the airport; right beside cruise ship docks.
At first we were skeptical, but the place grew on us. If you want North American standards, go to the big hotels out of town. If you want an authentic Papeete experience stay here. Ask for an outside corner room for an amazing view of Moorea. Ignore the main street--you won't hear it after hours. Lobby is a breezeway; you have to turn on your room's air conditioner. Speaking French helps with the front desk staff but they try hard. Great location, if you are interested in the downtown. Easy walks to supermarkets. If you want golf and private beaches go to the big hotels. Lovely parks in three directions, shopping everywhere.If you want golf and private beaches, go to the big hotels instead. Acquaintances of ours who did so somewhat regretted not having our location here for at least part of the time on island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tanya from Western Australia

Perfect location.

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Very Tahitian in style. central to everything. They have smokers accomodation
Cons: Maybe a fridge in the room.
Location: Central location everything is nearby shops, restaurants, markets, banks and tour company.
It was an ideal location. walked to the markets the shops and the restaurants. Our cruise ship docked opposite and we walked to the ship. Could not have been more perfect.
2 out of 5
by kjjohns22 from UK

Disappointed

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels
We arrived on a late night flight from Hawaii and checked in late Saturday night. We had a reservation for two nights but checked out after one and headed to Moorea a day early. This was only partly due to the hotel although it was very very basic we were more disappointed with Papeete itself than the hotel. If you need a place to just crash and have a shower for a night before boarding a cruise ship then this place might fit the bill just don't expect much from it or Papeete.
4 out of 5
by Edward Martinez from Los Angeles

Convenient to Cruise Terminal - Adequate

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels
I chose this hotel as it was within walking distance to the Cruise Ship landing after my 10 day Island cruise. I stayed two nights. The hotel is located in the downtown area of Papeete. Tahiti is very expensive so the cost of the room is commensurate with local hotels. The shopping and local restaurants are all within walking distance. The drawbacks were that there we no English language television channels and the internet was expensive.
5 out of 5
by Leu from Honolulu

Central location at waterfront

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is in central location at waterfront. Rooms have basic, simple, functional furniture and are clean. Personnel is friendly and helpful. Management was cooperative for late checkout. My room had a large balcony overlooking the harbor, but no furniture to make use of the balcony. Bottom line: I will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by andre from new zealand

Not worth the money

Posted Oct 1, 2013
Pros: Staff was alright, but their English was simple and hard to understand.
Cons: Lower the price per room by at least a third.
Location: Location is ideal, close to the city centre and ferry terminal.
I paid a fair price per night and you get a room with a view and a location close to the city centre but thats it. Theres no fridge, only a small simple tv and the hotel is situated next to the main road/highway so you get a lot of traffic noise. Not value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK

Friendly, helpful Staff

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Lack of refrigerator
For a budget hotel this is good - clean, basic facilities but super staff who even found a kettle for us to use as they knew the British liked their tea, so the coffee machine would not suffice! We had a great corner balcony with views of both the port and Moorea