Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Very impressive

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Hotel offers an old world Bali experience with luxurious trappings. They offered a good driver to take me on and even negotiated the price. The driver offered free wifi in the taxi and was a font of local knowledge - a happy ending to a great stay - climbed the temple behind Matahari Resort - impressive views of the region - snorkelling off the island and national park a must do - should have stayed longer- go to the pearl farm or drive to the ferry terminal to Java 45mins or hot hot springs at Mimpi Hotel
5 out of 5
by Mariska

Stay here... Look no further

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
I can't rave enough about this place. Be sure to book a beach facing villa with its own private pool
5 out of 5
by Erik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Harold from United States

AMAZING!!

Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is AMAZING!! I highly recommend it, everything was absolutely perfect. The rooms were great, the snorkeling was amazing, food was good and overall pretty cheap. My kids loved having their own pool. The only negative is how long the drive is from the airport. It took a solid 5 hours and probably closer to 6 after stopping for lunch. If you can stay a few days it’s great but if you are short on time the distance from the airport should be a deterrent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Great alternative to the usual tourist traps

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: Peaceful and welcoming. Great staff. Great snorkeling. Lovely huge gardens with the mountain backdrop and ocean frontage. Feels very private.
Cons: It isn't brand new but pretty well maintained and good value. Towels a bit worn etc. But still clean. Food is okay but maybe modified for the tourists
Location: Loads of activities in the area or the nearby national park. Snorkeling, diving, birdwatching, walking, temples. great local eating places.
It's a long drive from the airport - but well worth it for those who want a peaceful holiday and a taste of a different Bali. Still lots to do - just not the usual tourist rabble - no bars, no shopping. A huge property, with very private villas, in a lovely landscaped environment. I got a very good deal for a non-peak stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Private pool was a good size. I didn't have anyone in the adjoining room (they share pool and kitchen/living area). It would be great for groups or families as you can share facilities and have private bedrooms. The beach is not great for sun baking (or even general swimming) but if you like snorkeling - there aren't many places better for snorkeling straight from the beach. The bio rock reef project is virtually out the front or a short walk up the beach. You could spend hours snorkeling here. Do your research before you go because it could be easy to miss some of the nice spots. There isn't much info at the hotel or on the beach about where to snorkel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Really enjoyed our own private pool sitting by the beach and snorkelling at the bio reef.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thailand

Excellent view and fully recovered rest.

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Fully recovered rest to recharge energy there. Surely to back again soon.
4 out of 5
by Danzibarr from London

Lovely resort right on the beach

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
If you're heading to Permuteran for a spot of diving then Amertha is a wonderful place to stay. It's right on the beach and has a number of great warungs nearby for evening dinner. It's very close to the main diving companies so it's perfect if that's the focus of your stay. The rooms are huge and very clean. The food is good but pricey for what it is. Overall id definitely recommend this resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Save your money go elsewhere- Old dated 2 star hot

Posted Sep 24, 2014
If you like comfort, good service and cleanliness don't come here. The rooms are not clean, the bed is two singles pushed together. The sheets are threadbare and stained. Old, tatty, worn and torn towels. The staff are lovely but not trained so just stand around smiling. I was given a cracked leaking teapot with a hole in it. The lady could see it leaking but poured the tea and left, the leaking water dripped through the table and scalded my leg!! They need to do some maintenance and train their lovely staff. The gardens are kept beautifully and the beach is ok. No amenities and expect comparitively high prices for whatever you request. This hotel is being missold in the description and the Taman S next door offered better amenities and standards for a better rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Quiet beachside location,good restaurant

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Ocean view villas are well equipped and spacious as well as being relatively private. Great verandah/deck around a nice warm pool. Daybed is perfect for relaxing. Our only gripe is the outdoor shower areas are overdue for a make-over. We also stayed in a garden view villa which was also good.