Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, peaceful atmosphere. Needs better

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Cons: Ground maintenance should be out very early instead of disturbing guests during the day
Had a wonderful time relaxing, food was great. Bit disturbed by the attitude of the bartender (female) she was rather hostile to guests. Groundsmen were cutting grass with a weed wacker around 9.30 when guests were around the pool... this is bad
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Disappointing

Posted Dec 17, 2016
I expected much better of rex resorts. Hotel staff was unprofessional. All inclusive guests were supposed to have a plastic band. We didnt get any. We arrived just after midday but had to pay for lunch. This was not my experience at other all inclusive hotels. Furthermore, front desk said it would cost $150 ttd per person for lunch. Did not say you need to pay here at the front desk. Went to restaurant and then was told you have to go back to front desk to pay. When back at front desk was then told it is $250 ttd per person for lunch. We paid with cash and they refused to give us a receipt. Meal time was served at least 5 to 15 mins late. Dessert was the same each time. Restaurant was run down and presentation of food was awful. There was nothing to eat in between meals. I didnt expect this and I didnt come prepared with any snacks. The hotel itself was at least 20 mins drive from the pretty beaches, pigeon point and store bay. Didnt like the beach at the hotel. The pool was great. I would say that was the only plus of this hotel. There was no kids club, no gym, no spa. I wont be choosing this hotel on my next visit. I also feel sceptical about the other rex resort hotels. I highly doubt I'd be choosing a rex resorts hotel on another island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from trinidad

Wonderful hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Friendly staff, great food and good place to stay. Management was very nice in that even though you checked out at 12noon you can keep the all inclusive bands on till 3pm. Restaurant employees are always kind and willing to assist.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST AUGUSTINE, Trinidad and Tobago

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The entertainment, staff (best bar tender) food and the pool
Cons: Parking facilities and the hallway to get to the rooms
Love the service given by all of the staff, they are very friendly and makes your stay worthwhile. The entertainment was excellent 💃💃💃 Linens can be upgraded for more modern day look and comfort. Overall I will not hesitate to book on my next visit to Tobago. Will definitely be revisiting soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Dont waste your time

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Me and my boyfriend stayed from the 20-26th of September and my inlaws stayed from the 20-22nd long story short we were not impressed. We got there a little before check in and were not allowed to have lunch since check in started at 3. Ive never seen a all inclusive hotel deny its customers food since they start check in at 3. Your usually allowed to leave your bags at the front and walk around the hotel and have something to eat while you wait.. but not at Turtle Beach. We were then told well you can purchase lunch at $250 TT per person ($41 USD), that's ridiculous after spending way over a thousand dollars on the trip already. Food is only served 3x a day (bfast, lunch, dinner) so if your hungry in between you can have "tea and cookies" again RIDICULOUS. Usually in all inclusive they have a place opened almost 24hrs to allow people to have some food in between meals. Beware of the assistant dining room manager who thinks hes a big shot by being rude to his locals. A few members of the dining room staff including him like to pick and choose who can get over there dress policy.. racism isn't nice and they need to address that issue ASAP! Now to find some pros.. having the beach off your room is great! Cheryl the bartender was great. The pool was nice just a little shallow. All in all we would never come back to Turtle Beach Tobago which is a shame. We had our hopes up, his family in Trinidad and my family in NYC all wanted to make a trip but I will advise them otherwise
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Checking in was horrible... no welcome drinks .,, we had to wait for room one hour after checked time. No bathe towel in room until the end of the day, hair all over the bathroom plus not the room we reserved
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach, food was palatable

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Cons: Early check in Meals on time. Meals were always 10 - 15 minutes later than stated.
Staff are considerate and friendly. Food was delicious. Loved that the beach was just out the room. Only downfall was the inability to have an early checkin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Not good for someone who knows about quality hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
The stay was very uncomfortable, for those who like quality vacation, this is a no no.Electricity went for one part of the day and night, there were no standby generator.Food was very salty one of the night.Lunch and dinner very basic.Broken vanities, uncomfortable bed etc Not good for someone who likes quality vacation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Customer Service not good!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The beach, View and Pool
Cons: The Customer service needs attending too. The poolside bar needs two bartenders instead on one and they also need to know how to make the drinks.
My Fiance and I stayed there the weekend of 26th to 28th August 2016. Check in was horrible. We waited for 3hrs to get a room and when we finally did, there were no towels in the room. We also had to be continuously asking for Pool Towels. We were celebrating a birthday and was given a complimentary wine and fruit basket (which never made it to our room by the way) and collected only the wine on check out. I felt like my littler get away was very stressful. The television only have 12 channels so don't go there to watch T.V. On a brighter note, the view was gorgeous and the pool was great. The resort needs a little restoration and is a little dated. The bar needs more than one bartender and the stray cats need to be dealt with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pool bar was a plus

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: having access to the bar from the pool and buffet style
Cons: more courteous staff better wifi service needs a paint over
Location: location is a plus because it close to a beach
the hotel could do with a paint over, the food was okay but the buffet style was a plus so i was always satisfied. Some of the staff members need to be more courteous and put a smile on their faces to make you feel more at home. The pool is large however it is very shallow, so its most likely for kids. I liked the fact that you can access the bar and still be in the pool, that was a plus. However room surface needs to be work faster or they need to hire more staff. it was past 1 and my room wasnt cleaned as yet. there were no mats in the room and the floor was very cold. had to use bath towels as mats. however the beach was very close and the waters were calm so that is a plus. another thing, wifi connection is really poor, cant get service in the room. i will recommend it but not for a honeymoon