Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S Devon UK

Friendly hotel with great snorkelling

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: As this is a small hotel the general atmosphere is relaxed. This may not suit demanding guests. For us It became increasingly a home from home.
Cons: The mini-bar, coffee etc should to be refreshed daily but this didn't always happen - just ask and this will be sorted quickly.
Location: The hotel is perfectly placed for relaxing on the beach and snorkelling but you will require transport for anything else.
After recovering from our jet-lag we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. My family of six were all accommodated in deluxe rooms all of which were located on the beach side of the complex. Due to the location of the hotel I would thoroughly recommend the 'all inclusive' package which proved to be great value for money. Any minor problems were quickly and efficiently dealt with by the pleasant staff. On our last day the staff even arranged a room we could use once our official check-out time arrived as our scheduled flight home was late in the evening. The beach is virtually private and safe and leads directly onto a large coral reef excellent for snorkelling.
5 out of 5
by Una

Mostert's

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was great. We met wonderful people and made new friends. The staff was very supportive and friendly. Thanks to Mervin and his fantastic team for making our stay enjoyable and very memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Small, quiet and well priced hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: We had a wonderful stay at Recif Attitude. We stayed in one of the beachfront-facing rooms. Worth the extra money. The pool is spectacular, the hotel quiet and elegant, the staff friendly. The snorkelling off the hotel beach was incredible. We even saw a turtle. The breakfasts were great. Perfect for couples keen for a romantic getaway in a picture perfect setting.
Cons: Some of the dinner options were a bit mediocre. The curries were too bland. The Chinese buffet was the best. Also, our bed was a little bit hard.
Location: The pizza place just down the road and the Chinese restaurant on the beach road a bit further south are both decent and really well priced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Remarkable Recif!

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Recif is a great place to stay, with friendly, welcoming staff who are always attentive. The location is close enough to the great spots in Grand Baie, yes quiet and serene enough to enjoy a peaceful stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D C

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The location on the beach and the spa.
Cons: The air conditioning was not adequate for the climate. The room was never cool until the early morning hours.
Location: It is mostly convenient to the beach. It is in the northwest of the Island and most of the things I wanted to do or see were in the southern part.
The view from the room was gorgeous. The room was adequate since one would not be in most of the day. The restaurant and bar were open-aired and pleasant. The staff were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by Mervin Appadu - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. The team and I were glad to know that you had a nice time while being at the hotel. Be assured that we will definitely check the airconditionning and take corrective measures if necessary. It is also unfortunate that your stay occured during one of the hottest and dampest summers in recent memory, which might have added to the discomfort. Looking forward to welcoming you back, Kind Regards, Mervin Appadu General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for relaxing

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel for relaxing. Staff could not do enough to make us happy. Quiet beach, no noise only couples where there when we went. Rooms on the small side and basic but clean and overall well equipped with safe, kettle, fridge, TV, hairdryer etc. Overall would recommend.seaview rooms on the 1st floor are better and more private than ground floor. Barbeque on Fridays is worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, staff and location

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: The staff and pool
Cons: The room ventilation
Location: So much to do!
We had a great time during our 10 nights at the Recif hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the pool and beach great. The food was good especially the table d'hote nights. Our room was nice but the bed and ventilation fell slightly short of our expectations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2015 by Mervin Appadu - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest; Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your vacation. I have shared you wonderful comments with all the Family Members at Recif Attitude, as a great source of motivation for them to keep up the good work. I have also read your constructive comments with great attention, and have briefed the housekeeping team to look into the issue. Hoping to have the pleasure of seeing you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Budget Hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: it had a lovely view of the sunset from the pool
Cons: The beds are really terribly uncomfortable and the rooms have no personality. They're just not very inviting.
Location: Located in the Northwest amongst a hundred other beach resorts catering to tourists. Watersports and excursions are plentiful.
This is a very basic, no frills all inclusive resort. It was often reviewed as a 4 star hotel, but it's really more of a 3 star. The rooms are very utilitarian with rather uncomfortable beds and almost no character - just white walls and a concrete floor. We had a room on the back side of the hotel facing the road (or rather, the concrete wall between our room and the road) and felt a bit like we had been relegated to the broom closet in some obsolete corner. It was fairly depressing, but on the positive, it got us up and out every day exploring all that the island has to offer rather than sitting around the resort. The pool is quite small, but decent. The beach is very rocky and not good for swimming, but good for snorkeling with nearby coral reefs. The hotel offers basic beach amenities for free - glass bottom boats, snorkeling, kayaking, and has live music or events every evening which we didn't particularly fancy, but the hotel has quite a mixed crowd of honeymooners, backpackers, tourist groups, and lots of retirees, so it surely has to cater to a lot of tastes. Speaking of which, we found the food quite disappointing and expensive for what it is, and we looked elsewhere for all our meals except breakfast (which was very basic and the same offering every day). The bar drinks are also a disappointment.The staff were helpful, but not the friendliest, they always seemed a bit disgruntled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2015 by Mervin Appadu, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bethany, Thank you for reviewing your recent vacation. I have read with great attention your comments on the issues that you have encountered during your stay. For this, I extend my apologies. I am disappointed that the food and accommodation was not up to your expectations. I do hope to welcome you again in the future, for a chance to deliver a better experience. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by MRS YCM from George

We'll definitely return!

Posted Aug 8, 2015 on Hotels
What a gem! This 3 star hotel is more like a 4 star hotel than many we have stayed at. It was the perfect getaway! The interiors are somewhat basic but stylish and modern and very island style. Our room was, in my opinion, one of the best rooms. You walked straight out of the bedroom onto the poolside and down to the beach. What a pleasure! The room was spacious, clean and there was a bar fridge. The seaviews and the sunsets were stunning. The staff was very helpful and aiming to please. The breakfasts were varied and tasty and they lasted us easily until dinner. The dinners were the only give away that this hotel is a 3 star hotel. The food was a bit bland and boring. We will definitely return, but next time we will probably go for the breakfast only option.
4 out of 5
by Bulbeer from Durban South Africa

Our recent stay at Le Recif Attitude hotel in Maur

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
This is a small hotel and ideal location for snorkeling not good for swimming as it does not have a sandy beach. The rooms r small n bathroom is semi private . So its difficult to not disturb your partner. Managment refused to provide tea coffees milk n sugar in the room yet my booking confirmation stated these items will b complimentary. t