Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Decent hotel, but not 5 stars

Posted May 13, 2017
The Good: The hotel has a beautiful private beach. The rooms are nice, but far from luxurious. The breakfast and dinner buffets are excellent. There are family-friendly activities scheduled throughout the day. The pools are nice and drinks are cheap ($3.00 USD for a gin and tonic). The Bad: The building is starting to show it's age. Both my room and the room next door had ants. In their defense, the cleaning staff tried their best to get rid of the ants, but they just kept coming back. Similarly, the "pub" could use some serious upgrades (lopsided pool table, wobbly plastic chairs, very limited drink selection). My wife went to the spa and was very disappointed. Her masseuse didn't even leave the room while she was getting changed. The final thing to note is that this hotel is not in Sousse - it's in Hamam Sousse, which is about 25 minutes north of Sousse. That's not necessarily a problem, but if you plan on going to the Medina or checking out the nightlife, be prepared to drive. Overall: If you're looking to be pampered in a 5 star hotel, go somewhere else. By North American/European standards, I'd say that this Iberostar is equivalent to an average 4 star hotel. On the other hand, if you are just looking to spend some time at the beach/pool, eat lots of food and drink cheap liquor, this is a good option. It's also quite kid friendly. I paid $75 USD/night (late April/early May) for a double room with breakfast and dinner included and thought that it was a fair price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, USA

The best hotel in Sousse

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
I stayed at Diar Andalous this summer and I was pleasantly surprised by the the location on the beach; the professionalism of the staff and attention to details. I highly recommend this hotel for the following: 1. They have the best security in the country and visitors should feel very safe. 2. Excellent location in the Kentaoui area and the hitel is on the beach. 3. Great views. It's worth paying the extra to get an ocean view ( Mediterranean) 4. The food is excellent with lots of variety to choose from including fresh juices for breakfast. 5. I was very impressed with the reception I received every time I come here. I dealt with Moez. He is very friendly and very accommodating. He is always smiling and eager to help. Generally speaking the reception at Tunisian hotels (even five star hotels) isn't acceptable by any standard. 6. The private beach front is second to none. 7. The hotel is quite large and offers a number of activities throughout the day. I enjoy walking in the perimeter and all the way to Port Kentaoui ( 15 minute walk). In summary, I highly recommend this hotel. It offers spectacular views of the Mediterranean and you feel very safe.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They allowed us to check out at 2

Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
Not much guests mostly older people sevice was good but not in the restaurant but food was good. It rained soni couldn't appreciate fully'
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close yet convenient to relax

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comfort and good food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from libya

Exceptional

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Clean, nice food
Cons: Entertainment options are verg limited, maybe came in end of season
Brilliant nice food and frienfly staff.... Just no entertainments facilities, classic music only
3 out of 5
by Atchapat from London

This hotel should be three stars and not five

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Cons: The staff parked cars in ridiculous postions due to an overload of vehicles. Pros: Pool and hotel grounds are beautiful, rooms are flawless. Guards with rifles are always on the beach and at the front entrance. (Standard in Tunisia now) Food and drink are outrageous. I was given no water, no towels, sink was block and room was facing garden view rather then the sea view ( we were booked) on check in day. However this is still not what is expected of a 5* hotel. I think it should be honestly advertised a 3/4* so that people know exactly what they are paying for. Food was ok but again not of the standard I would expect from a 5 star hotel. Services are very bad, staff not trained and dont have any clue for hospitality at all. I never seen similar conditions. I don't recommend you to keep it in your respectful list of hotels. High pricing but zero servicing !!!!! But the drawback is that with the exception of three or four, the staff are a miserable lot: they dont smile and they dont seem to want to be there. We didn't see any English were at the hotel and many of the staff (even the 'greeters' and 'security' don't speak English and with a very unhelpful receptionist. I was so dissappointed with the service I received at this hotel across the board starting with the reception to the room including the service in the restaurant. this hotel should be three stars and not five In most 5 star hotels, your needs will be taken care of.
3 out of 5
by Ingo from Bangkok

Less than a 4 Star Hotel. Bad service.

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Not 5 Star. No service at the pool. You have to take care yourself for everything. Cocktails are very bad. This Hotel sucks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

nice hotel; nice pools, friendly staff ,good food

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness; friendly staff; nice pools; good gym; good food and drinks; good activities for the kids
Cons: Food was good but the menu was repetitive. Fried fish, although cooked well, wasn't tasty. The beach in front of the hotel could be cleaned better
Location: The location is good for relaxing as it's away from noisy/crowded areas. However, there isn't much to do on a walking distance from the hotel.
Very pleasant stay; food was good ; the entertainment staff were very impressive ; they did their best to make us happy. The reception staff and workers were very helpful and friendly; so were the staff on the bars. The cleaning staff did their job very well. My kids and I enjoyed the two pools very much . The beach in front of the hotel wasn't impressive as it had a lot of sea plantation thrown from the sea onto the beach. What was impressive is that you can have something to eat or drink all the time even if you miss the allocated times for the buffets ;as they take some of the food down to the bar area fir people to have if they wish. The massage service in the hotel was very relaxing and professional.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5* when it suits them!

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
I was only given a 5* room after asking for my money back. At £92 per night this should be standard for a 5* hotel. Absolutely shocking!
4 out of 5
by Tamer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels