Ratings based on 721 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nous avons apprécié cet hôtel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
L'hôtel est légèrement à l'extérieur du centre de la ville, mais nous pouvions s'y rendre en marchant environ 20 minutes. La chambre était confortable, mais le mobilier était un peu vieux. C'est donc vieux, mais chaleureux.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deutschland

Für eine Nacht ok

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Nettes Personal, kostenloser Parkplatz, großes Zimmer, kostenloses Wasser.
Cons: Sehr laute Umgebung, Dusche/WC separat auf dem Flur, Frühstücksraum sehr klein, kein Aufzug, enge und verwinkelte Treppen.
Location: Am Stadtrand und direkt an stark befahrener Straße (deshalb auch nachts sehr laut); kein guter Ausgangspunkt, um die Stadt zu Fuß zu erkunden.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think ahead with access issues

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Too far to comfortably walk to old port area
The ONLY issue we had was flights of stairs sans elevator. If stairs are an issue, be sure to reserve a room in lower floors
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

St. John's in Portland, ME

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Location: Lots of bars/restaurants within easy walking distance. Check out the local fare and music. They do not disappoint.
Very cool turn-of-the-century hotel in the heart of downtown Portland. Albeit, the layout of the hotel is bizarre, to say the least. I'm not sure why it was designed in this manner (I heard stories from some locals there that this place was a brothel at some point, and perhaps it was intentional) but there is a labyrinth of stairs, landings, and puzzles to get to your room unless you happen to luck out and get one on the ground floor (which I would suggest if they are available). In any case, the place has lots of history, free hot chocolate, cookies, and breakfast. What else do you really need? Oh, and there is a cool little bar next door (Salty Sally's) that has a really good happy hour every day of the week, so if you are there definitely stop by!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Beautiful old hotel, comfortable bed, clean rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Unique city hotel w/ great value

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location and value. Many place we researched were closer to the nightlife but much more expensive.
Cons: All guest should be offered assistance with their bags as there is no elevator.
Location: Twenty minute walk to the hipster downtown neighborhood. And forty minutes to the touristy Commercial St on the waterfront. Taxis are cheap.
Excellent value. Easy on & off I-295 at Exit 5B. Good directions to hotel parking. Good location to activities. 20 minute walk to hip downtown area. Forty minute walk to the waterfront (Commercial & Fore Sts). We used a taxi to the waterfront in the evening. $5.00 one way - a real bargain. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful for new visitors. One caveat - our room was on the third floor - no elevators at the inn. OK. So I'm fit enough to carry our bags upstairs. But no offer was made to have staff bring our bags up. But that is the only negative. Nice contential breakfast provided. Also we enjoyed late drinks with the locals at the Pizza Villa across the street. Again unique setting and excellent value. We would go back here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec city

Doesn't worth the price !

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Wanted a nice romantic place for my girlfriend: Total FAIL. No elevator, narrow stairs, bathroom outside the room rented which was not explicitly described on site when reserved. You have to walk trough the hallway or cross it to get to your bathroom (private or semi-private). Few parking available beside the building. If none available, you have to get at least a 20 minutes walk from the hotel to park your car on the other parking lot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money at all

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is an OLD house with a maze of corridors and stairs that makes it impossible for any guests with even the slightest walking trouble. Make sure not to bring any luggage heavier than 4 pounds. All over the hotel there’s an old and stinky carpet that really is grim. The room is fairly big, but make sure you get one with a private bath. The shared baths are bad. The staff at the reception is not very friendly. The breakfast (!) is a complete disaster. This is really not worth the money at all!
4 out of 5
by Jaime

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Christian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels