Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Should be advertised as a hostel since there is a shared bathroom for the whole floor of guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, Arizona

Neat classic hotel near Maine Medical Center

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Small but neat and a couple of miles from the waterfront. Fine friendly staff and free parking. A nice addition to a surprisingly hip and revitalizing downtown Portland. Expect to have some fun accessing your private hallway bath with some rooms. Don't forget to put your robe on first!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I stay here each time I am in the area.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
I have stayed here at least 10 times, in different rooms. It is charming in a European way! It has character.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eagle Lake ME

Neat and clean

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: It's history
Cons: Not sharing a bathroom
Location: We went to Old Portland and walked around. Lots of entertainment, dinning, shopping.
Somewhere in the description of this lovely Inn, there should have been a description that there are no elevators, you have to share a bathroom. It also should have said it was across the street from Maine Medical Center. Once the ambulance and helicopter stopped coming in, it wasn't that bad
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel. Nice staff.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Cozy room. Helpful staff. Close to airport and Maine mall. Ez to get to old town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lee, NH

Overnight Visit

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We attended a Seadogs game and it was a 2-minute walk to the park. Very convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Dwain

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn at St. John's. An older building with great character and charm. All of the requirements for a totally unique and enjoyable experience. Breakfast was fine and staff was very helpful and friendly. We booked a room with its own restroom and shower/tub. Some rooms are cheaper with other options. Be sure to book what you want at a price you want. We were able to walk to a few blocks to a highly rated donut shop, Hadlock Field, and even to the Old Port although it might be too far for many people. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. It has high ratings and they are well deserved.
5 out of 5
by Erika

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Super cute little place, great location, very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by eric

Best place to stay when in Portland

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
It was perfect !! Glad we booked this hotel instead of the other one that was twice as much. The employees were great and so friendly , loved the cookies and the charm of the hotel