Ratings based on 715 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

St. John's in Portland, ME

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Location: Lots of bars/restaurants within easy walking distance. Check out the local fare and music. They do not disappoint.
Very cool turn-of-the-century hotel in the heart of downtown Portland. Albeit, the layout of the hotel is bizarre, to say the least. I'm not sure why it was designed in this manner (I heard stories from some locals there that this place was a brothel at some point, and perhaps it was intentional) but there is a labyrinth of stairs, landings, and puzzles to get to your room unless you happen to luck out and get one on the ground floor (which I would suggest if they are available). In any case, the place has lots of history, free hot chocolate, cookies, and breakfast. What else do you really need? Oh, and there is a cool little bar next door (Salty Sally's) that has a really good happy hour every day of the week, so if you are there definitely stop by!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Beautiful old hotel, comfortable bed, clean rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Unique city hotel w/ great value

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location and value. Many place we researched were closer to the nightlife but much more expensive.
Cons: All guest should be offered assistance with their bags as there is no elevator.
Location: Twenty minute walk to the hipster downtown neighborhood. And forty minutes to the touristy Commercial St on the waterfront. Taxis are cheap.
Excellent value. Easy on & off I-295 at Exit 5B. Good directions to hotel parking. Good location to activities. 20 minute walk to hip downtown area. Forty minute walk to the waterfront (Commercial & Fore Sts). We used a taxi to the waterfront in the evening. $5.00 one way - a real bargain. The hotel staff was very accomodating and helpful for new visitors. One caveat - our room was on the third floor - no elevators at the inn. OK. So I'm fit enough to carry our bags upstairs. But no offer was made to have staff bring our bags up. But that is the only negative. Nice contential breakfast provided. Also we enjoyed late drinks with the locals at the Pizza Villa across the street. Again unique setting and excellent value. We would go back here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quebec city

Doesn't worth the price !

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Wanted a nice romantic place for my girlfriend: Total FAIL. No elevator, narrow stairs, bathroom outside the room rented which was not explicitly described on site when reserved. You have to walk trough the hallway or cross it to get to your bathroom (private or semi-private). Few parking available beside the building. If none available, you have to get at least a 20 minutes walk from the hotel to park your car on the other parking lot.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice independent hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
This was a great little hotel. Clean, friendly, well run, responsive, helpful. Definitely more character / charm than a holiday inn, etc (correct me if this is actually owned by a giant chain! wouldn't surprise me but I don't think so). This hotel is on the edge of town; honestly the neighborhood is a bit seedy, but not dangerous. Clearly it's undergoing gentrification, for better or worse. But, if you like things a bit edgy and avoid chains when you can, you'll like this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Small bathrooms, but nice staff

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: There is free bottled water, hot cocoa and coffee, which I did appreciate.
Cons: The showers and add an elevator. The stairs are normally fine, but these steps are extremely steep and hard to get your luggage up and down.
Location: Lucky Catch Lobster Boats, Casco Bay boat tours (many different options and departure times), brewery tours.
I was aware that you share bathrooms with others, but the size and quality of the shower was awful. The shower is so small that the shower curtain sticks to you as you shower. If you are tall, do not consider this hotel. I am 5'6" and the shower ceiling was less than 6 inches above my head. I also felt like the quality of the shower was not appropriate. The water shifted from very hot to cold during my 4 minute shower, and the pressure was comparable to a hose. While the rooms were also small, they were clean. The staff was nice and offered to carry my bags up the steep stairs, because there wasn't an elevator. There is free bottled water, hot cocoa and coffee, which I did appreciate.
3 out of 5
by WEI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
staff excellent
4 out of 5
by Benjamin from Albany NY

Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed to go to a concert. The room was nice, shared bathroom, but that's no big deal. The front desk called a cab for us. Everyone was very nice. I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Mt. Laurel, NJ

A Victorian Inn in Portland, ME

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
The staff in the Inn was excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Th Inn was clean and the room were big. A real Victorian feel. It is and older building without an elevator but the staff is helpful with the luggage. It is not often you can stay in a well run Inn for the price of a Motel.