Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend Residence Inn by Marriott

Posted Jul 15, 2016
We loved the location of this hotel. Check-in begins at 4pm, but we were able to get our room several hours earlier. The complimentary breakfast was the BEST we've ever experienced while traveling. And, it's just a short, pleasant walk down Fore street to great restaurants, eclectic boutique ships, and lobster rolls on every corner. :) If you're going to be staying in Portland, Maine, I would highly recommend checking in at the Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown Waterfront.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AUS

Only as good as the staff you get

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Large rooms, modern, clean and in a relatively central location for Portland.
Cons: The service from the manager. Not throwing out all the breakfast cutlery and plates/bowls.
It is a nice hotel, spacious rooms and nice and modern and clean. However, the service i received from the Manager, Bianca, was disturbing. I had my vehicle parked out the front to unload and was given the ok from the front desk. When i went to move it - after unloading a lot of luggage - i was confronted by Bianca, who had a colleague who was trying to be a heavy and intimidate lurking nearby behind her. I was told that she had ordered to have my vehicle towed away, which was pretty disturbing as the front desk knew which room it belonged to, so a phone call would have been sufficient. To see that sort of approach to people who are paying customers of a business was mind-blowing in its absurdity. The only other downsides were letting pets into the hotel and into the area where breakfast was being served...surely a hygiene matter. Also, all the "cutlery and crockery" for breakfast was disposable, so a really poor environmental footprint just throwing everything away afterwards. The hotel has a lot to recommend it, but also a lot that works against it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank your for providing feedback for your most recent stay at the Residence Inn Portland/Waterfront. I am sorry to hear that there were a few missed opportunities during your stay with us. I will be sure to properly address this. On a positive note, The Residence Inn is becoming more environmentally friendly by discontinuing the sole use of disposable plates and utensils.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

nice hotel in town

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: pool/hot tub were relaxing, room very nice, free b'fast convenient.
Location: downtown portland - many shops, galleries, museums, restaurants, harbor/whale watching cruises, parks nearby, lighthouse, sightseeing trolley
Friendly, accommodating staff; amenities/facilities great; coffee etc 24/7 and pool/hot tub made for a nice relaxing mini-vaca. walk to shops/restaurants or take free shuttle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

East Coast Trip

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Very Clean
Cons: Hotel parking may be an issue for some, but I have no suggestions on how to improve. Everything else was awesome.
Location: Great location close to ocean and restaurants
The room was really great, better than we expected. Hotel undergoing renovation and the reno is going great - was not an inconvenience to us at all. We ate a Maine lobster at DeMillos based on a friendly native recommendation and it was everything we hoped it would be.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet weekend retreat

Posted Apr 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff was fantastic and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by greg from rumford

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to get away to. Clean and all amenities are there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is a little out of the main loop of downtown Portland. It would be great for a family of you don't mind a longer walk or fighting for parking, but would otherwise not recommend it. I also saw a hotel employee smash a bug on the wall right at the breakfast buffet- which was pretty gross. There are many other options in Portland.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend in Portland

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Had a wonderful time, the staff were very nice and accommodating. The room was clean, but had an odor to it. The bed was comfortable. There were 3 of us. and all fit nicely into the room. The hotel is currently going through some remodeling, which did not interfere with our stay. The Hotels location is perfect. It is within walking distance to everything, and they validate your parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels