Ratings based on 1,571 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin

Needs a remodel

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: The location was good but there are many other better hotels in this same area.
Cons: Complete remodel, stable internet, movie channels and full cable TV package.
Location: Downtown location was convenient to many good restaurants and shopping. Plus a pretty park was right behind the hotel filled with homeless people tho
This hotel needs a desperate remodel. The bathroom is so small, it's frankly not even workable. The door opens into the tiny bathroom and you literally have to maneuver between the door and the toilet. This bathroom cannot fit 2 people in it at the same time. The TV had no movie channels. And very little regular cable channels. The manager said they were "inbetween contracts". The internet was spotty and went down 3 times during our stay. The front desk had to check us in manually with print outs of the arriving guests. There wasn't even a pad of paper in the room. I would never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Location is perfect, BUT

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Location, attentive staff
Cons: Pricing in relation to overall impression. This is an average hotel in a prime location with good staff
Location: Shopping, restaurants, concert hall. Lots of homeless people.Andrea
It's an at best average hotel, a little run down overall, great staff, way overpriced, too little value for money. At checkout, I had been staying for 1 night arriving at 4pm when my room wasn't ready...no issue there, I had to pay another $27 for amenities like gym and wifi and, there he ran out of amenities. I didn't use the gym, and wifi was mentioned as included in the initial price. When they texted me to take their survey I complained and they offered to put it back on my Amex, we'll see. I will not recommend the Heathman and I will not stay again. I'll be back to Portland in July and already made a booking with a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

It was nice and romantic

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: it has it's own style
Cons: nope but i don't think people like to pay $45 private parking.. we found $12 over night parking near by.
Location: Art museum/ farmers market
nothing to say but it was a great experience there. The host was very formative and professional, like the ones in the movies!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Jordin, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so thrilled you had such a great experience and I hope we can see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Downtown Hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Sound.
Location: Food trucks.
Great location downtown. Was able to even see parade the weekend we were there. Short drive to food trucks, across the river, Pearl District, and shopping. Welcomed with wine/beer/liquor, too. Only complaint was the room next to us was pretty loud both nights. Poor sound blocking from the doors. At least they credited us the hotel fees for the inconvenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Jordin, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for your review! I'm thrilled that you were able to see the Starlight parade, it's definitely a great way to truly experience Portland! As we want to ensure the comfort of all of our guests, I am sorry about your noisy neighbors. I'm glad the staff could take care of a portion of your bill to make up for it. I hope we can see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chehalis, WA

This time we were disappointed

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Location, ambiance, restaurant
Cons: Air conditioning and attention to cleanliness
Location: Downtown Portland right by shopping, restaurants, etc. quick drive to the airport.
Lovely hotel with wonderful staff, but we stayed during 80+ degree weather and discovered that the AC is inadequare. Also found a dried blood stain on the sheet (although sheet had been laundered). We've had a very pleasant stay here before and love the restaurant, but this time was disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
Excellent service of sightseeing information by front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Jordin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback; we're glad we could help you explore Portland like a local!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monroe, WA

Needs Remodel

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Location; Headwaters bar was pretty good but could also use a remodel.
Cons: Remodel; larger bathroom; brighten up lobby
Location: Shopping; bars
Hallways look tired and old; bedroom had a slight odor (i.e., old/stuffy); bathroom was very, very small, conversely, the closet was fairly large; the hotel is in dire need of a remodel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

So lovely!! Welcome with sparkling wine!!!!

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: So Classy!
Staff was so amazing! Thank you for the wonderful memories!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Jordin, Hotel Management
Thank YOU for allowing us to be a part of those wonderful memories! I hope we can see you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Close to everything downtown, great location

Posted May 23, 2017
Stayed here for 4 nights, great location, friendly staff. Service at attached restaurant wasn't fabulous.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad stay in my hometown

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: service
The service was terrible starting with the check in and it went down from there.