Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historically charming

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Clean room with comfy bed. Loved the charm and history of this 117 year old mansion/inn! Small town hospitality at its finest!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but t disappointed

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Wrong bed size and told there was because it was an Internet order. No breakfast but told we could go to the bakery next door and get 10% off our purchase.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

A small room with an unpleasant smell.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: It is nicely situated in the downtown area.
Cons: the general condition of the inn needs work.
Location: Not an issue for our stay.
The room was unusually small for having a king size bed. The furniture was old and mismatched and the entire room had an odd, unpleasant smell. The room was in no way similar to the photo which was used to represent the rooms at this inn. We did not stay for the duration booked.
5 out of 5
by Amber from New York NY

Spooked?

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
I was really pumped when I found The Kennebunk Inn online for I love staying at "Haunted locations" as much as possible to increase my chances of seeing something paranormal. I saw that the reviews werent quite good but that most of the negatives were older posts so I went for it and Im glad I did! Service was incredible (Diane at the front desk was super friendly) We were lead to our room, she dropped helpful information along the way. We stayed in the Jefferson Room which had a king sized bed, comfortable. TINY TV (Seriously, we couldnt read ANYTHING off of it. The room was quite big. Bathroom was a bit tiny though (Im 5'9 and the shower was pretty low)Everything is almost jammed together tightly in the bathroom. After 9pm, the inn pretty much closes down. Im not sure how many other rooms they had booked but it felt like zero because it got QUIET. We didnt see a single other person till around 9am the next morning. Theres no one at the front desk, restaurant/bar closes down. It almost felt like you had to fend for yourself. Its a pretty good sized inn so it was really creepy feeling isolated. (Make sure you grab snacks and drinks for the rest of the night cause you wont find anything at the inn) Which was PERFECT for our haunted night... But we didnt see any ghosts, I felt EXTREMELY comfortable and slept like a baby. (Though, my bag did seem to throw itself off the bed right when we got there. It was weird.) I liked it, definitely would stay at again.
3 out of 5
by Paul from Massachusetts

Disappointing

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
the accomodations are old, tired and unfriendly. very disappointing stay.We were there over a holiday and expected it to be quiet but not to the point of having no Inn emoployees available to answer questions. The desk had NO reception except for the day of check IN when a nice young lady showed us to our rooms but was difficult to understnad due to a heavy accent. After that we were on our own to wander around and fugure things out.........Hospitality was very much lacking!
5 out of 5
by Joanne from Nevada

Who could imagine such great weather in Dec.?

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Went during Christmas Prelude--very relaxing, weather ws excellent (60's during day 28-30 at nite during the first week of December!) Explored Oqunquit, went to Freeport and LL Beans, hit the Maine Diner). Very relaxing and enjoyable. Inn staff were great--tavern a must visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great find!

Posted Nov 28, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely Inn. A little noisy. Great restaurant and nice bar.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Keene

Downtown Kennebunk

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
All was satisfactory for our stay except this hotel does not offer breakfast but just 10% discount coupons for a local bakery or coffee shop. This may be a hotels.com issue rather than a hotel issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic hotel.

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Beautiful exterior and common areas. Wonderful history.
Cons: The rooms need attention. The rooms are not what is to be expected for the price paid.
Beautiful old hotel. Falling into disrepair in the rooms. Coffee in the morning was fair, at best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

From NJ to Maine

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
It took forever to get the hot water in the shower, and the shower head was very poor. It was not comfortable to place toiletries in the bathroom, no shelf. No magnifying mirror. The ironing board had a cover but no padding and the iron did not work well, more like broken. We stayed two nights, on the second day we came back late and the bed had not been fixed and no clean towels, they apologized offered to make the bed at that time but I was too tiered and did not accept. They brought to our door clean towels.I was told it was an office staff error, not the cleaning staff. They gave me two $5 coupons that were expired. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. If you can not do stairs you should know there is no elevator. I would possibly like to stay in Kennebunkport next time, which is where we spend most of our time, much easier than having to drive from Kennebunk and pay for parking each time.