Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
27% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Strong odor that can't be fixed

Posted Oct 23, 2017
After checking into one of the king rooms, my wife and I checked out the room, and immediately were greeted with an unpleasant smell like mold/dampness. We became skeptical of the room as we inspected for other issues. Found dead bugs, cobwebs, missing paint and a lot of hair in the tub drain. I went to the office to ask about other rooms, and the owner said they were all sold out of the king rooms, and immediately told me the other rooms were $40 or more... The smell - he said it was because of the location, as it was wet behind the building... He didn't want to help the situation, and we had just driven 2 hours to our destination at 9:30 pm. After discussing the fact that he was not sold out, he found a room that he "upgraded" me to. It was a king with a kitchen. The room did not have the strong odor to it, and was okay for the evening. We did find that the bathroom sink and bathtub had issues draining that were not apparent until we brushed our teeth or took a shower. I was standing in ankle deep water during my shower, keep in mind the shower heads are low flow for conservation... I seldom write reviews, but between the ownership trying to up sell and not fix the problem and the general fact that the room has an odor, I think people should be aware of what they are getting into as this is supposedly a 3 star accomodation... It certainly, even with the upgrade, not worth the discounted price we paid... I wish I had read the other reviews before booking...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nasty place

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Very dirty, moldy shower and shower curtain, strong musty odor, filthy a/c unit. Dirt everywhere...lamps, baseboards. Carpet filthy. Blinds broken and do not close completely. Truly an unpleasant travel experience.
1 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Dan

Great location friendly staff

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Good size rooms. Nothing is supplied in the kitchen though. No pots or pans silverwear or dish soap. Cabinets are bare. But they tell you to keep the kitchen clean yourself or you pay extra. Otherwise friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by James

Nice enough motel room, but definitely not an inn

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Rustic looking motel room, not what I envisioned by the pictures. The staff was very accommodating. The TV was good - had many channels. The bathroom was nice & updated, but could use a shelf large enough to put toiletries on. It has an indoor pool and a pretty rock fountain and we watched about 2 dozen people play corn hole on terrace. There is a brewery & small eatery on the premises.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Nice clean room! Comfy bed. Very nice desk clerk- even asked if we needed directions to our next destination when we checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017
thank you for your stay , see you in the future.
2 out of 5
by David

Don't do it.

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels
The no smoking room smelled of smoke. Walls we paper thin. Breakfast was paltry at best, instant coffee, really? I would not recommend this to anyone at any price and we sure overpaid.
2 out of 5
by Clyde

One and done

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
A 1960's motel trying to disguise itself as a B& B. It has upgraded its door locks to magnetic. The room had a musty smell when we first came into the room. The ice maker was broken on the day we were there but did get Ice from the cafe in the back. The bed was comfortable. I had to ask for a clock for the room. The bathroom had no counter space.
5 out of 5
by Carla

Comfortable Night at Portsmouth

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
We were very pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, the comfortable furnishings, the cleanliness, and the quiet atmosphere. We were a short drive from restaurants and the downtown area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017
Thank you for your stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In process of improving

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
Appears as though the owners are doing a lot of remodel. Our room was clean but smelled very musky. We had to skip breakfast and leave key in room as front desk/owners house closed and upon calling, free breakfast begins at 8:30am. Owners were polite and bet the place will be really nice soon. Value for $ now though was not acceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you