Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

For the right visitor, this is a GREAT hotel!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The staff is the absolutely outstanding, most memorable piece of the Casa Colonial experience. They're uniformly warm, friendly and skilled.
Cons: Beach activities (sail, windsurf, kayak, swim etc) are regulated by some mysterious 3rd party which makes too much use of the red flag.
Location: SeaPro water sports is nearby, and can do rental and/or tuition at reasonable prices. Tarappas restaurant at local mall is great!
Junior suite, Ocean view, 3rd floor...large, airy, comfortable with a pleasant spacious balcony. Ocean views are somewhat restricted by the canopy, but that doesn't diminish the experience in any way. The rooftop pool is the jewel of the hotel...this is the amenity that makes paying a bit extra worthwhile. Stunning views from the chairs between the pool and the hot tubs. Excellent bar and bar menu up here, too. Terrace restaurant is excellent for breakfast and lunch. Lucia restaurant is very classy, but the menu will feel limited after a few nights. I think they need some 'special' on a nightly basis to introduce some more variety. Location is very private, very secure, and well situated on the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midland, Texas

Married Couples Paradise

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Luxury Rooms and Customer Service.
Cons: Returning Customer Loyalty Rewards. Even though we might not need it. It speaks louder than anything else.
Location: Great Location. The beach was feets away from the hotel. 15 minutes for the Airport (POP).
Amazing Hotel and staff.Casa Colonial is not cheap and is not All Inclusive Hotel. But it's the best hotel in Puerto Plata. My wife and I always stay in Casa Colonial because of their great customer service and top notch rooms. They set the standards for all the other hotels in the area. This hotel in not for young people unless you are a young entrepreneur. It's quiet and peaceful. I enjoy staying here because the way they treat my wife.They know if my wife is happy with her stay i'm happy as well. The reason why i pay top dollar is not to show off but simply because i want the best for my wife, Best Customer Service, Best Food, Best Staff. I want my wife to be pampered with great customer service from the welcoming drink to thank again for staying with us. If you guys notice there is not a lot of pictures of Casa Colonial online because people like us are too busy being pampered and enjoying our stay. Time flies when you are having fun. I could go on and on but let me just finish with this " if you value amazing customer service, safety, luxuries rooms and tours Casa Colonial is it"
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beach front sanctuary

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Very beautiful grounds, friendly and accommodating staff.
Cons: More food choices.
Location: Right on the beach if you just want to relax. There are also activities and outside excursions to choose from.
Amazing boutique hotel if you are looking for a little R&R. While there are plenty of water activities on the beach, the Casa Colonial may not be ideal for family because the food choices are very limited. There is only 1 restaurant serving breakfast/lunch and another serving dinner. The food choices in nearby hotels are sub-par if you wanted something else outside of Casa Colonial. None of the choices offer authentic Domenican food. We were recommended to take a taxi outside of Playa Dorado to dine in a local restaurant if we wanted something more authentic. It's not for the 'faint of heart' if you don't speak any Spanish. It would have been perfect if there were better food choices. Overall though we had a great time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa Florida - USA

OMG

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was the best in all of the Dominican Republic - we will most definitely return as everyone was very gracious and very helpful. We can not say enough to express how we feel about staying at your little slice of paradise - Hal Russell
5 out of 5
by Heather from USA

You MUST stay here!!!!!

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel! The beds were so comfortable, the food spectacular. Views were incredible! Such a beautiful hotel! Amazing service. The spa was phenomenal! Loved every bit!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very charming casa

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The first thing that impresses you when you arrive at Casa Colonial is the kindness and the courtesy displayed by the staff. Add to that the comfort in the rooms and the wonderful beach, and you have the perfect vacation. I definitely recomment la Casa Colonial.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Amazing!!!!!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Everything!!!!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Location is great, walk to shops and other restaurants is a short walk.
Everything about our stay was Exceptional!!!! From check-in to Check-out the service was great. We used all facilities, Pool, Restaurant, Spa and the bars, all FIVE STAR... We played Golf 2 days which is across the street and they took us from door to door. We loved our stay!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

I want to go back!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
I was in the DR for 2 weeks and stayed at 3 hotels, this hotel by far had the best service. You basically show up and everything is taken care of and everyone is nice and helpful. My room was huge, well decorated, imacutaley cleaned and so very comfortable. If you want US hotel standards, this is your place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

An amazing and relaxing time!

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: The staff was amazing! They were extremely accomodating and the hotel was beautiful. The entire property was very clean.
Cons: Floors of the lobby were being refinished therefore the main restaurant was out or service for most of visit. Could inform guests before arrival
Location: The hotel is towards the end of the Playa Dorada group of hotels. There is a mall inside the area which you can get food or buy souvenirs
We had an amazing time at Casa colonial! The hotel is fantastic as are the staff. Everyone was very friendly yet professional. The hospitality is next level. I had read previous reviews on this location on Expedia and it seemed the only negative thing people were saying was that it was "boring". I'd have to disagree. I'd choose relaxing as a better description. It's definitely not party central as some of the all inclusive hotels tend to be, but that's fine because everyone is not looking for that kind of atmosphere. I was looking to relax when at my hotel generally after a day of activities (horseback riding/Ocean World/Monkey Jungle/Ziplining), not have a bunch of kids runnning around the pool or party goers. You can always venture off from hotel when you want to party. Additionally, this is one of the most well kept hotels I have been to out of the US. The room was so welcoming and housekeeping kept it in perfect order. We wer in the lanai ocean front room which was on the first level and allowed us to had breakfast outside of our room and also walk straight to the beach area. We also enojyed the roof top area where the pool and hot tubs were along with a bar. The pool or hot tubs were never full or over crowded no matter what time of day we went up. The bar tenders were mindful of when you finished one drink and were ready to bring you another. Food: the room service food was good. I wouldn't say there was anything that I was totally amazed by but we did enjoy everything
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Intimate setting, attentive staff and beautiful!

Posted May 4, 2016
A lovely and relaxing stay. Casa Colonial has all the amenities I looked for : beach, pool, meal service, spa, with the intimacy of a boutique hotel. My second time there and I can't wait to go back!