Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel close to the beadh

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The bed gave me some intense itches. I had diarrhea for 3 days after drinking a drink from behind the pool bar. My checkout was on the same day Hurricane Irma was set to be at its strongest and the hotel said regardless if our flights were cancelled we had to leave in the middle of the storm or pay for the extention which was not in my funding plans. Overrall many activities were found to do from the guys on the beach which were really fun and a lot of souvenirs to purchase at the beach. Hotel food was overral great offered a variety of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great for couples & families!

Posted Sep 2, 2017
My Boyfriend and I enjoyed our 7 day stay at this hotel, the entertainment is great the staff! The food was amazing our favorite was the Italian restaurant! The mixed drinks were amazing our favorite was the rum punch! Beach and pool were both great lots of places you can sit on the beach while enjoying your drink! Our room was well organized and AC worked. Our favorite part of the room was the presidentes (beer) in our mini fridge! Highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for a get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, New York

Small resort close to the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This is a small resort that is close to everything. I travel every year to the Dominican Republic and I have been all over the island. This resort was the best resort that I have been to and I have been to over 15 different resorts. The cleanliness of this resort is amazing. They even check to make sure the food temperature at the buffet is correct. The room was decorated with modern furniture and the a/c worked so nice and was quite. We went off season so there was not much in ways of the entertainment and animation but I will come back in February and write another review. This place had lots of umbrellas near the pool and near the beach so I was able to get some shade when needed. The ocean is very good for snorkeling. Food at the buffet was good with variety the Specialty Restaurants were okay nothing over the top.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice Hotel, nice beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly and rooms & hotel were very clean. Food was excellent in all restaurants.
Cons: Only issue we had was the cleaning girls walking in the room, even when we had the do not disturb sign on.
Location: The beach was nice, although some of it was rocky, but the water was crystal clear and the beach very clean.
The hotel is mediocre in facilities and size. Staff is friendly, the rooms are good but need upgrading. They keep the resort very clean and the food is great, whatever restaurant you go to, or even the buffet. Overall, the resort is not very big or very modern, but for a family with young kids, this helps because everything is close by and you cannot get lost. For young adults and families with teenagers, you might find it limited. The entertainment was fine, but also limited to one show per night which ended before 11:00pm and nothing to do after that but hang out at one of the bars, or go to bed. There are 2 other resorts nearby with a casino, if you want to venture outside of this one. Whole area is guarded so it is safe to walk between resorts. There is also a disco which is located outside the resort, a short walk away, if you want late entertainment. If you are looking for a place to hang out and relax, eat well and enjoy the beach, this will do. If you want more excitement, you should look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Excellent stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Excellent vacations, staff is great and food too. We will come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coram, New York

Beautiful and friendly place

Posted Aug 20, 2017
My family and I spent a week there and it was wonderful. Place was clean and staff was very friendly. Would definitely go again!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn ny

Amazing place

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This resort is really good and very clean !!! The staff wear really nice and cared about your needs !!..food was really good !!! Is a nice small resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great vacation

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Cons: Wifi definitely the wifi
Location: We when to the monster buggys and we spent the hole day doing the zip lining, horse back riding and the best was the water fall tour.
Everything was nice the people the food all employees willing to help and the Expedia specialist was very helpful when asked for different ways we can explore Dominican Republic all and all except for the mini bar being broken and the wifi even though we pay it was toooo slow but aside that a great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: I really love the staff. All of them are very friendly and nice. They just wanted to talk to you and make you feel welcomed.
Cons: The wifi could be improved. It was very unreliable and kept kicking me off. It can be frustrating at times but you can pay for wifi if need be.
Location: The hotel is very close to the beach. There is a club near by but I would recommend you go there during the weekend if you want to have fun.
My friend and I wanted to do an all-inclusive and we chose Gran Ventana since it has really good reviews on Expedia. I'm so glad I picked this resort. I had an amazing time here. The hotel was very spacious and clean. There are two parts to the resort. The main part with the large pool and the quiet part with a smaller pool. In addition, there are three restaurants along with the buffet place. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants but they are worth it! The food at the buffet place is good but it can get repetitive after awhile. The mozzarella sticks at the Italian restaurant were amazing! I could eat those all day. The ceviche at the Octopus restaurant was great, too! It was my first time eating ceviche and I'm glad I had it there. Check in starts at 3 pm, but you can leave your stuff with the hotel staff and eat at the buffet place or walk around while you wait. What I love most about this hotel is the staff. Every one of them was friendly and nice. They always greet me with a smile and always make sure I had a good time. In fact, one of them even got someone to pick coconut for me when he heard me talk about how much I wanted it. I was shocked by how nice he and the other staff were. It wasn't easy climbing the coconut tree but they did it for me. That was so sweet of them and this is why I love this place. The staff is always willing to go out of their way to make you happy. The only downside of this hotel is the unreliable wifi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special at all.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Disappointing on so many different levels. Here are just a few examples. A 4pm check-in time is very late. Especially since most flights land at around noon. Too long to be waiting around. Most staff members only speak Spanish. Very hard to communicate with. And once you arrive, if you don't make immediate reservations for dinner at the 3 restaurants, you'll be eating at the buffet every night. And the sad part about the buffet is that it is the same food every single day with no changes. Very boring and not the best quality food. As for the drinks, very watered down. Now, the pool. I was out every day at 7am to reserve chairs and an umbrella. If not you're screwed. And they never bothered to skim the pool either. Palm debris floating all over the place. Disappointing. And I had upgraded accommodations. I purchased the VIP package which gave me special access to beach chairs and umbrellas. There were two problems with the beach. First, the water was infected with sea lice. People were getting rashes like crazy, me included. Second, it was so windy that you were covered with sand. Again, very disappointing. Lastly, while driving to the resort, the neighborhood was so run down that you never wanted to leave the resort. And since there was just about nothing to do at night after dinner, you found yourself in bed at 9pm. Never again.