Ratings based on 1,637 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from granville,ohio

great location

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: greatt location and nice staff
Location: excellent
easy check-in-----nice and friendly staff----easy check-out good location close to old san juan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Its was a great overrall stay hotel kind of old but kept clean and nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Nice location but staff seemed to have a chip

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, Lemon Grass restaurant
Cons: Keep the beach open! Price is way too high. Forget the 18% use of grounds charge after you already paid !!
Location: Very nice walk to Old San Juan
I loved the grounds and the walk to Old San Juan. The room was not clean....dirty socks in drawer, brown stains on towels when we checked in. They charge an 18% fee to "use the facilities" which is CRAZY. The beach was closed the entire stay we were there even though the water was calm. The LAST day was the windiest and roughest and they decided to open the beach that day! All the other days we had to hike to a public beach...weird! All but one waiter seemed to have a chip on their shoulders about tourists. The man on the beach had to search your bag every time you walked onto the pool area even though he had seen you 10 times a day! Very annoying!! The beds were rock hard and there were no sheets.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, TX

The location is good and that's where it ended!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Cleanliness and to pay attention to the rooms that were actually paid for!!!
I paid premium to have a balcony view of the water, I did end up with a balcony with three large trees blocking my view of other rooms!!! In addition there was black mold in my shower which I didn't notice till the next day when I went to shower for an early flight out!!! I went to the front desk to complain but there was a gentleman (for lack of a better word) whom bared is red skivvies to me for 20 minutes!!! He was complaining about a $19 charge for 20 minutes!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by JLopez-Vela, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is uncharacteristic of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

I would stay at Caribe again

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location!
Cons: Cleanliness, repairs
Location: 30-40 minute walk to Old San Juan or a $12 cab ride. The El Yunque rain forest was nice. Nearby public beach is a 10 minute walk.
Caribe is close to the airport (a $20 cab ride) without having to endure overhead airline traffic. Check in isn't until 4pm, but Caribe staff got us in our room at noon without a charge. Once in our room, it was unkempt and not in good repair and there was oil on the bathroom floor which they cleaned at our request while we ate dinner, but once we got back we noticed this oily stuff was EVERYWHERE. We requested a new room and were given a "Garden View" room at no extra charge. It was the middle of the night and raining, so we couldn't see what we were getting but were pleasantly surprised in the morning when we woke to a beautiful garden complete with peacocks, geese, koi ponds.... it was lovely! The hotel is a roughly 30-40 minute walk to Old San Juan so we were able to walk off all the great food we ate... but even after an evening of imbibing, a cab was only $12 back to Caribe. The pool was nice as was the small beach, if you can handle the wind.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The beds are hard as rocks and the facilities are a bit outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: the grounds:beach, pool
Cons: nothing
Location: loved old san juan
loved it. we stay every dec/jan. had a villa suit with great views, was wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Great concierge with help planning outings and rental/airlines
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice facilities and location;garden wing room bad

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Nice location, private beach, great pools
Cons: The ground floor of the garden wing should not be smelling this bad. The room needs to be fixed (flooring)
The location of hotel is really good with private beach and great pools. The facilities are really good and staff were pleasing. The bad part though was the garden wing - the ground floor of this wing smelled really bad. They didn't have the A/C on in this part. Also the room we got in the garden wing on the 5th floor was bad. There were many loose tiles in our room and also uneven tiles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love San Juan!

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Location, view and staff
Cons: Need to make repairs to bathroom and improve cleanliness
Location: Old San Juan, Rainforest, Vieques
The hotel has an excellent location and the hotel staff were very accommodating of our group. The beach is a little small for the number of guests and chairs were hard to come by. Food was pricey but excellent Concierge was amazing and helped us book last minute excursions