Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good place for non-Spanish-speaking gay men but..

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Nice, quiet location. Very secure. Nice décor. Good restaurant, but it doesn't open for breakfast until 8:30 and that's IF the chef shows up.
Cons: A cocktail hour, to meet other guests, which was hard to do. Earlier breakfast hours, a puctual chef, a more accessible concierge who returns calls.
Location: Plenty to do at the bottom of the hill, about a 10-minute walk.
...it's a bit of a hike down into the Zona Romántica and QUITE a hike back up the hill to the Casa Cúpula. (In fairness, a cab up the hill costs about $US2.5o, tip optional.) They have a great gym & 2 tiny pools, one "clothing optional." We felt a bit isolated. Not just because of the "hike" but because the Casa is really 3 houses truncated and not well connected to each other, with lots of stairs to climb. (Not for the the physically challenged.) And no central lobby or area for socialization, except around the "clothing optional" pool, which required lots of stairs to access. The biggest problem for us, besides the "hike" was the room itself. Electrical outlets were old (mostly not 3-prong) and far-between. There was NO PLACE to put our suitcases except on the floor and no chest of drawers in which to put our clothes. There was not a single chair in the whole room, nor any surfaces to write on, place a laptop or lay out a book or a map. There was a pedestal with a lamp on it, on each side of the bed, but virtually no surface area for anything else. The bathroom was tiny with old plumbing. The ONLY ventilation came from the door to the room, which must be left open if you want any fresh air, which we did. The place has excellent security. A/C and a ceiling fan partially addressed this problem. Bottom line: We felt cramped and isolated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Best Hotel In Puerto Vallarta!!

Posted Aug 11, 2016
My third stay at Casa Cupula and always hate to leave. Special shout out to Juan, Christian, and Rueben these guys will do whatever needed to make your stay absolute heaven.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Staff are amazing.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel is beautiful, although the hill can be a challenge. Staff go out of their way to do what ever it takes to take care of all of your requests. Very large clean suites. I stayed in the LOVE suite and it was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A wonderful stay

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: The staff was very kind and friendly!
Location: The beach is a short walk all other activities are a short cab ride away. My friends did zip-line and hotel took care of all details.
The best part of Casa Cupula was the staff. That is not to say the hotel is not beautiful because it is. The rooms are all beautiful and all have great views. I stayed with 3 friends and each of their rooms were just as beautiful as mine. The restaurant has wonderful food and durning the day they serve at the pool. The diner menu is excellent. The owner is a friend man and talks to everyone and wants to know about your stay. During diner he will come up to your table and inquire about the food. Over the past 15 years I have stayed at other hotels and this was my first time at Casa Cupula but I will be returning!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel and Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: Quiet location and ocean and mountain views
Location: It was a hike ill but it was close to downtown
The hotel was located on the hill and had wonderful ocean and mountain views. The staff and concierge were excellent and were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Outstanding Luxury Gay Hotel

Posted Feb 26, 2016
My husband and I just spent the past 4 days at Casa Cupula and we could not have been more pleased! The ocean view from our huge outdoor balcony was spectacular. The facility is outstanding with an excellent restaurant (Taste) and great pool and gym. But what probably makes this hotel the best is it's staff. Christian and Logan (concierges) go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. They made all our arrangements for us to go zip lining, scuba diving, afternoon massages, and even a romantic rooftop dinner with a private waiter. And Jesus and the rest of the front desk staff are amazing! Spectacular trip! We will definitely be returning to Casa Cupula next time!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Extremely Disappointing Experience!!!

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The location, the taste of the food at the restaurant, the grounds.
Cons: Cleanliness, staff service, restaurant wait staff attitude and knowledge.
Location: Very close to the romantic district, close to restaurants, shops and the beach.
Our room was badly decorated and didn't look like the rooms that were pictured online or rooms that we saw when we were there. We were under the restaurant and the noise each morning was extremely loud and went on for hours. Our room #102 had a broken valance that was hanging down and we saw roaches run across the floor on multiple occasions. When we first arrived "Jesus" told us the hotel was at 50% occupancy but when we asked him if there was another room he said only the suite was available for $108 dollars more each night. On our final night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant "Taste." It was one of the worst restaurant experiences we have ever had. It took them a very long time to seat us, so they said they would buy us a round of drinks. When we finally were seated the waiter was abrupt and couldn't answer any questions about the menu. He would just say he didn't know and for us to read the menu. The food was very good but for some strange reason they allowed dogs in the restaurant. We were under the impression that these belonged to someone on the staff. We have dogs of our own so we love dogs but we didn't appreciate these two very large red labradors sitting by our table STARING at us during our ENTIRE meal and the wait staff not do anything to remove them. By the end of the dinner we were desperate to get out of there, so when we got our check and saw that they CHARGED us for the "free" round of drinks. Disgusted- we just paid and left. In a word- amateurish!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Very attentive staff who had wonderful recommendations for us to experience around town. The facilities were exceptional, somewhat secluded and quite yet only a few block from the beach, restaurants, bars etc. The hotel restaurant Taste we experienced excellent service and food. I would absolutely recommend your vacation in Paradise at Casa Cupula.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raul from San Francisco, CA

You will feel at home here

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff, great gym facilities, comfortable rooms, awesome pools... not to mention the great events they organize there. Also a quick five minute walk down to the beach, so great location! Definitely staying there next time I go to Puerto Vallarta!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ernesto from Rochester Hills, MI

Nice hotel with great service

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: facilities, staff, social experience.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Hotel is 10 min walking to the beach. 5 mins from restaurants, clubs and bars in the downtown area. Easy access to taxis as well.
We stayed for the first time at Casa Cupula in March 2014. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and they will go out of their way to make sure you have a great experience. They have various social events during the week that helped us meet other people and make our vacation even more enjoyable. We stayed at a Vista King room and we loved the place! Can't wait to stay here in our future tripos to Puerto Vallarta!