Ratings based on 1,198 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SAINT PAUL MN

LOVELY PROPERTY!

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The service and attentiveness of the staff was noteworthy. The place was spotless. Very elegant. Lots of shaded areas to relax.
Cons: Smoking directly outside the doors to the pool/restaurant area should not be allowed.
Location: We spent our time walking the beach. You could take a bus or taxi into town if you choose for a reasonable fee.
We just loved our stay here! Beautiful hotel, attentive staff, quiet and relaxing. The entertainment was great each night as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: Food, drink
Cons: Hotel fercility
Location: Just enjoy resort area
Nice place for relax. Everything is so nice and nothing to worry about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Nice place good beach and bars. The food average

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Fun time lovely people and place. Food sub par for hotel drinks are great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Food are excellent so delicious

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Great !! had a wonder short vacay . Chefs are really good cook , Krystal restaurant is a must to try, wait are long but it's worth waiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Good to excelent, rooms are very clean but need a "detailing" job, for example cleaning the grouting between tiles, stuff the maids don´t do...it´s all about details.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff. Food good

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Staff, rooms, property was excellent. Food was good. Liquor was not top shelf but mostly lower end like Smirnoff. Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: The grounds are beautiful. We also loved the spa. There is a great jacuzzi area.
Cons: The bartenders worked so hard, but we felt the drinks were just ok.
Location: Downtown Puerto Vallarta area is a 30-40 minute cab or bus ride away. Very large Boardwalk/rocky beach area with many shops and bars and restaurants.
Very pretty resort on the west coast of Mexico. Buffet breakfast every day includes everything you can think of. Lunch and dinner was buffet and specialty restaurants which I recommend. New Year's Eve celebration was fantastic. They had a special party with an amazing buffet that had everything you could imagine including lobster. There is a huge pool with lots of chairs that people reserve very early. We preferred the beach and was always able to find chairs. The beach is ok, not pearly white sand, but ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Food, service, facilities
Cons: Hotel discontinued allowing dinner reservations and it should reinstitute use of reservations. Waiting in line for twenty minutes for dinner not fun.
Location: It is a bit out of the way and therefore costly and time consuming to go into town. Yet it is nice to not be in the middle of a busy town.
We enjoyed our recent stay here. The food was very good as was the service. The pool and beach were very nice. Would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton, WI

RIU PALACE Nearly Perfect

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Food was excellent, staff is outstanding, very very clean
Cons: Install a bathroom closer to the beach and pool bar so people would actually use it instead of the pool.
Location: we stayed at the resort and have no comment
Check in and Check out was painless, we emailed and asked for rooms on the same floor and close to our kids. We got there and we found out they upgraded us free and gave us side by side rooms! Restaurants were good, we only went to steak house twice, both times was very good, buffet was best we've ever seen. They also had a Gala on Christmas Eve which was well done and spectacular. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Bars and drinks were exceptional. Bartender Andres at the Cabrila bar was outstanding! The only negative I would say is the bathroom is a long way from the pool bar which made using it a bit of a chore, we noted a lot of guests drinking for hours in the pool and never leaving which kind of grossed us out. The place is beautiful but this one factor would probably be the decision maker for us not to return to the Palace. Although the fun we had with Andres at the Terrace bar may change our mind. Overall the place was outstanding with the one small but important detail
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Great hotel with terrible beds

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Great hotel to stay in that is right by the beach. The food gets a little repetitive and the bed are absolutely terrible. The bed sheets are also terrible. Overall it was great when we were awake but terrible when trying to sleep.