Ratings based on 1,517 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Amazing service, great beach, very clean!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and service was amazing. The beach was great, golden sand, nice waves! Pool was very warm, so we stayed at beach most of time.
Cons: The bedding situation needs to change, separate the double beds, get comfortable mattresses and pillows.
Location: We used greyline to get to and from the airport.. We also did the Vallarta 360 tour with them. You get to see the city,shop, have tequila!
This is an amazing place to stay. It was my husband and I with our 18 year old daughter. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is very clean and kept up. Our room was the 2 double beds, the beds were small full sized pushed together. So it was OK for us being with our daughter, but if you have friends with you it might be awkward sleeping in one huge bed with a crack down the middle! The mattresses are very firm and the pillows were flat! This really is the only uncomfortable part of our stay. Otherwise the room is very clean with a stocked wet bar and fridge that is included in the all-inclusive price! FOOD! Oh my, there is always amazing food around! The breakfast buffet is huge.. Lunch gives you two options, The Peninsula has amazing choices and great food...the other choice (the steakhouse) is not so good. Dinner is when you have the most choices, both buffets are open for a great casual dinner. We went in July so we could go to the other restaurants without making reservations. The Mexican food restaurant is great!The Japanese place was alright, out of the three dishes ordered between us we only liked the beef tenderloin. The sushi was great and worth going for! The Krystal restaurant was amazing!!! Everything we ordered was wonderful. Bring pants for the guys if you want to eat at restaurants, no shorts allowed for men. We might like an adult only place next time! Good for families. The halls are all tile so sounds travel... loud nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel cheap quality food

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Have stayed at different hotel chains that we're all inclusive that offered great food options. I felt that this place had a lot of options but the food quality was very poor reminded me of a cheap Buffet. Literally dreaded every lunch and dinner we had there at all their different restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: foods and service
Cons: If you said Japanese foods, Japanese restaurant's, you have to cook it right.
Location: We just stop by and shop a lite from local shopper. They are very friendly. I even got offer free cigar.
very nice hotel, beautiful decoration lobby, bar and entry. very nice and good foods restaurant, buffet accept Japanese restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Nice Hotel I really recommended

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Nice and clean Personal the best Clean Confort Good Food Pool just need more attention Has beach sand
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good food

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Rooms are nice but beds are not comfortable. AC units don't cool as much as they should.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Gorgeous resort, great food, right on beach

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: WiFi wasn't that consistent. Channel 11 on the television kept freezing.
Location: All the popular excursions were close by...if you chose to leave the resort.
I've been to a RIU resort before, so had high expectations. This place did not disappoint. The details were all there, crown molding, granite, marble, tile, wood everywhere. The pool was huge. You could look out over the pool or turn your chair around and look over the beach and ocean. The food was really good and varied so that you didn't feel like you were eating the same thing every day. The staff was unfailingly courteous; going out of their way to meet and exceed your expectations. Everything you needed for a fantastic vacation was right there!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel todo incluido muy bueno

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: Instalaciones, playa y alberca
Cons: Los horarios de comida en algunos restaurantes y la limpieza en el Toscana.... Mobiliario de cocina muy descuidado, da mal aspecto.
Location: Hay de todo en pto Vallarta y alrededores.
Buenas instalaciones y buen ambiente familiar, solo falta un poco más de actividades de noche... El show debe mejorar si quieren competir, de bajo nivel. Les falta una disco o antro para los chavos y parejas que quieran ir a bailar. Gimnasio le falta equipo, muy, muy básico.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pool hours suck.. Its closed at 6... Pool bar alchol selection sucks.. Overall staff did an amazing job... Food and night shows were good... I would give them a 3.9 out of 5
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Nice beach out front, few vendors.
Cons: Bed and pillows were awful.
Location: A bit far from town, but that was okay as we were looking to relax.
Very clean hotel. Loved the 24 hour room service. Service was good. Too much activity at the pool each day, would have been nice to be able to relax without hearing people screaming over the microphone all day. Food pretty good for an all-inclusive. Bedding needs improvement. Was very disappointed with the quality of the bed and pillows.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
On the beach, great food, and excellent staff. This was my third stay at a RIU hotel.