Ratings based on 1,786 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mankato Mn

Honeymoon Recommended

Posted Jun 24, 2017
We have such a nice enjoyable week here on our honeymoon with an all inclusive stay. We enjoyed the meals and hospitality. Thank you for a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Amazing place!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: the friendly staff makes the difference.
Cons: I'm a beer drinker, and it was disappointing to see a limited selection of beer, though your liqour selection was pretty extensive.
Location: We rented a car and went to Punta Mita, and El Malecon. Bucerias was a great place to go eat and buy suveniers, pretty inexpensive.
We stayed there 7 days, and the time there was an excellent time. From the outstanding food to the staff. Very friendly staff, from the bar tenders to the ladies cleaning the rooms. Extremely clean place. The beach was okay the sea was a little wavy but great to swim in. Pool area was very clean and cleaned every nigh. At very relaxing quiet rooms. We are planing in returning next year, with friends and family. But I would suggest that RIU gets a better selection of beers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Amazing resort EXCEPT....

Posted Jun 15, 2017
The hotel is absolutely stunning. Everyone is cleaning constantly! The waiters were so attentive and on point at all times. Our room was well kept every single day. Loved the Michael Jackson show and the Rock and Roll show. We have stayed at the Riu Palace in Cabo and the Riu Palace Los Americas and this one was our favorite! The beach was the best of all of the resorts and you could actually get in the ocean without feeling like you were going to be swept away. Loved all of the restaurants. So, the part that almost ruined our whole trip was when we recieved a typed out note on the 5th day of our 7 day stay. It asked to go see the front desk at our earliest convenience. The woman Noelle said that there was a complaint about smoking in our room. My husband and I laughed and said "oh we definitely don't smoke nor have we ever in our lives". She goes on to scold us and warned that if it didn't stop that we would have extra charges. We continued to say that they must have the wrong room. Then she says that it's been smelling of weed and it HAS to stop now and that this is our warning. We were appalled!!! We are 32 and 36 years old with three children and have NEVER done that in our lives. She gives us a total of 3 warnings in this conversation and says it must stop and if it's a mistake then she is sorry but this is our warning. We walked away so upset and it bothered us the rest of the trip. We were never charged for "smoking" but it left a very bad taste in our mouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Times

Posted Jun 11, 2017
We had a fantastic stay at Riu Palace Pacifico; we really enjoyed the buffet, and would love to stay here again on another visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Every thing was wonderful, i.e., staff, services,

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: The view, very beautiful.
Cons: Was excellent.
Location: The activities were close by and outstanding.
Was pleased with every thing. The people that work there make the experience outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl.

my favorite hotel in Vallarta

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: the food, drinks,and quite place
Cons: clean the water on the pool, it was very dirty, food could be better
Location: quiet place away from Vallarta town which is good
i have stayed here several times, it's about the only place i like in Vallarta, others are not as good, the food is good, the drinks are good but you need to ask for the good brands otherwise they will prepare your drinks with the cheap BAD brands, the rooms could be better, the tv in my room this time was very old and small, channels are unwatchable, nothing good to see, no premium channels, the beds are horrible, the pillows are so flat you can not use them and they only have a couple per bed, beds are hard and old, i was given a handicapped room and was not happy with it but they didn't have any rooms available so i was not happy with that, the coffee is so bad anywhere in the hotel it has no taste so forget about drinking coffee, the hot chocolate in the buffet in the breakfast is also very bad and made with water instead of milk so don't even dare to try it, there were horses walking around on the beach for the tourists to ride and they were pooping on their way and no one cleaning after them, the beach sand is dirty with lots of garbage and no one in the hotel in charge of cleaning it either so it isn't clean and not good looking, the water in the pool was very dirty this time, made me think twice about going in, not sure if i will go back there next year
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Disappointment

Posted Jun 5, 2017
No variety of food. Every day the same. Lack of taste. Entertainment mediocre for the level of hotel. Only one pool. Staff at register not friendly. You pay for great customer service, which you don't get. And forget "the customer needs are impotant". You wont get it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
This hotel is in Nuevo Vallarta, so away from the hustle and bustle of Puerto Vallarta, but only a short cab ride away. FOOD: the buffet has a great spread of all types of food. Everyday was a different theme for lunch, i.e. Italian, Mexican. There was a time in the day where none of the restaurants were serving food, but there is a 24 hour sports bar. It has nachos, burgers, hot dogs, sandwiches, fruit- that was disgusting, yuk. FACILITIES: I wish our room had a view :/ but it was a short walk to the pool and bars. It was cleaned very well. The shower pressure was good and A/C was so-so. Beds are bad, our backs hurt actually. POOL: Can't beat a swim up bar and it's where all the action was happening. Daily activities. BUT it was always dirty :( floating "dirt", oil build up, slimy feeling seats EEK. BEACH: the water is a few feet away. It felt great and there are plenty of seats available at the beach during the day. (Not always at the pool) I recommend taking a cab ride to the next town, Bucerias. Have dinner on the beach at Fat Joes. Several bars/pubs too (Dancing Duck). Don't get back too late because after a certain hour - Total Lights Out! You walk through the lobby in darkness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antioch, Ca

Gorgeous, a place to visit and relax.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Everything was great, gym equipment needs upgrade and PM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brentwood, ca

Nice hotel!! Lots of kids

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Definitely recommended, very clean facilities, food is good although sometimes repeated often, specialty restaurants ok, visit Guacamole and order a Mexican coffee, fun to watch, overall all are good, bed mattress "ouch" beach is good warm water, lots of kids, so that can be a problem specially at night shows, good for families not sure for couples, buffet desserts excellent, NO half and half for your coffee:(