Ratings based on 1,560 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Agradable estancia

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Todo el personal muy amable los bartenders ni q decir al 100% el servicio
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tustin, CA

Beautiful resort

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The decorations, the beach front, the food.
Cons: The wi-fi reception in the rooms must work. Everyone needs it.
Location: We took a ride to downtown Puerto Vallarta. It was clean and beautiful but not much to do during the day, except for taking photos.
We love everything about the Riu, except the wi-fi reception only works good in the lobby. It's very frustrating not being able to get on the web in our room. The buffet is excellent but the entertainment is pretty weak comparing to the Riu Santa Fe we stayed at in Cabo San Lucas. The pool activities are also not as good. But overall we had a very relaxing time with the perfect weather in September.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Just visited Riu Palace (9/16/16-9/22/16) for the second time. Loved everything about it. Staff works extra hard to make this place clean and inviting. Blanca welcomed us with tasty drinks during our registration process and we got an upgrade to an ocean view room. The rooms were clean and had many useful amenities like an ironing board/iron and hair dryer. What changed from last visit is that the pillows were so much more comfortable! Food was good with many choices. Janet was our server during breakfast and lunch and Carlos served us during dinner and they did such an awesome job. Thank you thank you! Entertainment was top notch!!! Professional musicians and gymnasts and dancers and many more. We enjoyed pool games and the ocean was so warm, almost hot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AWESOME PLACE

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Will Be Back In 6 months Very Clean And GREAT STAFF....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The hotel is very nice close to a mega shopping store 60 pesos away down the block everyone is always cleaning up and making sure guest are taken care of drinks are nice air conditioned most everywhere with good wifi no problems
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Beautiful hotel with many amenities

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Almost everything -- the staff, the food, the drinks, the facilities were all phenomenal.
Cons: The bedding left a little to be desired, but it was a small inconvenience in the grand scheme of things.
Location: This is the one downside to the hotel -- it's about a 30-40 minute cab ride into the city, but only costs about 300 pesos.
Overall, we had a great experience staying at the Riu Palace Pacifico. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were waited on hand and foot. The staff was very accommodating and friendly throughout the entire duration of the trip. Our room and other spaces in the hotel were very pristine -- I don't think we saw a mess the entire time we were there. We had 3 guests staying in the "Honeymoon suite" as they called it, which was a suite with a balcony jacuzzi. Both the king bed and the rollaway bed were decent, although nothing special. The pillows left a lot to be desired. The food was delicious on the whole, especially in Krystal, one of the specialty restaurants -- the food was to DIE for there. We were also able to venture into the city and coordinate rides with the front desk. Sitting right on the beach, you can take a walk in the ocean, swim in the pool, or relax in the spa, all with a drink in your hand. I highly recommend this place to anybody visiting Puerto Vallarta, and look forward to returning in the coming years.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MTY

HOTEL MUY AGUSTO CON PLAYA

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: EL SERVICIO
Cons: LA COMIDA EL PLATO FUERTE(CARNES, PESCADO) DE LOS BUFETS
Location: ESTA BIEN UBICADO, CASI NO SALI DEL HOTEL Y LAS ACTIVIDADES NO HAY QUEJA
DISFRUTAMOS MUCHO EL HOTEL, SUS COMIDAS EN LOS RESTAURANTES Y LAS BEBIDAS TODO EL DIA, ADEMAS RECIBIMOS UN TRATO EXCELENTE DEL PERSONAL. EN LA HABITACION TAMBIEN LA DISFRUTAMOS Y ESTA DE BUEN TAMAÑO.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Sister / friends getaway

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: above tells it all
Cons: drinks made with fresh fruit
Location: used public transportation without any worries, easy to get around. Covered a lot of miles with the busses, had a blast !!
Had a wonderful stay at the RIU Palace. Hotel was amazing and staff very kind and attentive. I would recommend this all inclusive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, ca

Superb service, beautiful room and beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: confortable, excellent service
Cons: some care, perhaps, should be improved with cleaning the beach from dog or cat excrements
Location: the Vallarta Adventures and Buceria
The stay was perfect with the exception that my wife got an infection on the beach called cutaneous larva migrant that is acquired on sand that is not clean and contaminated with dog or cat excrement. I mentioned this in case anybody else might have the same ailment. The larvae dies quickly but leaves some ugly scars on the legs for some time. The hotel should be informed to either better clean the beach or to not allow cats and dogs unattended. This happened on the last day right at the beach in front of the hotel. My wife is being treated by a doctor and this was the only unpleasant experience of our trip. Outside of this, the trip was sensational
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, swim up bar

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. Dinners were delicious! This hotel lets you visit two of the other sister hotels. Which was nice since the night life at palace isn't the best. While visiting the other hotels they had lots of kids running around but the palace hardly any which was nice. The only downfall is the bed! They are hard As a rock and the queen bed is two beds pushed together. My boyfriends parents did end up getting a bed that was actually a queen. So maybe they are fixing that problem. Anyways the stay was great!