Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Natura Park Resort is pretty good.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: The buffet and restaurants were very good. Friendly / helpful staff.
Cons: The hotel rooms are in need of maintenance / upgrades. Noticed mould/mildew in parts of room. TVs from the 1980s? Really? Free wifi should be included
Location: Location is ok , access to beach is easy and beach area very nice. If you don't mind a 15-20 walk , there is some good shopping at local market.
We stayed for a week, overall we were happy with our stay here. The food was excellent! Staff was friendly and as helpful as they could be, the language barrier was frustrating at times. Management at resort would be wise to give their staff lessons in speaking English (or practice Spanish yourself). The rooms were ok, A/C barely kept up but with ceiling fan was comfy enough for sleeping. Beach area was very nice, with bars close by you're never far away from a cold drink! We talked to other guests there and they told us that they stayed at other resorts in the area which were nicer and in better condition but the food here was a lot better so keep coming back here. Having to pay extra for wifi is disappointing. Get your beach towels early, they run out fast. The constant harrassement from peddlers/ barterers gets annoying after a while, hotel management should limit how long they can be on hotel grounds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Decent hotel, good value for money

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Not the best all inclusive but still good and good value for the money. What I liked most is that it is the northernmost hotel in a chain of about 5-6 hotels in the area so a very short 5-10 minute walk from the swimming pool there are miles of pristine beach with virtually zero buildings and construction and very few people (a little trash in the sand in some areas but not terrible)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The front desk staff very poor.

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Arrived at 1 PM could not get a room till 3 PM travel 20 hours from Calgary Canada wearing clothes for leaving Calgary, need a shower, 100% of the female staff friendly 25% of the male staff friendly 75% male staff treated you with zero respect. No bartender there knew how to make a drink. The only plug-in the room that work was the one the TV was using so to charge the phone had to unplug the TV, when asking the front desk for a splitter or something to get one of the other outlets working they said for $40 they could help me out, after an argument got something to work. I would like someone from Expedia to call me so I can discuss this further
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel in a park near the beach

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Nice Caribbean themed rooms, each with a balcony; exquisite, but not stuffy service; great drinks and delicious food, perfect location on the beach.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Don't believe what they advertise....

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: The bartenders are really friendly! You'll see them working various different bars throughout your stay and you really won't have a bad one!
Cons: The rooms are in need of major work. Also, need to advertise the amenities appropriately. The food is also in need of improvement.
Location: Not the best beach for the area but it's passable. Location is relatively close to a lot of stuff but the timing of the transportation is unreliable.
Below is what you REALLY need to know before booking this resort in a very literal translation of their advertising and terms they use: King Sized Bed: 2 beds that are barely larger than twin sized beds. There is no other option despite what they say. Free Wi-Fi: 15 minutes of LOW SPEED internet only available in the front desk area of the 'resort' All Inclusive: Below average food that they seemed to not have available seating for, ever, outside of eating at the buffet. Fully Stocked Bar: Two (2) Budweiser beers, two (2) sodas and one (1) bottle of water daily (the old trick of leaving extra money in the mini bar to get extra does not work) Five minutes: The answer to every question that is time bound and nothing ever happens within the time frame or without asking more than once Excursions: This is the most literal term used around the resort as every one is an adventure and you never quite know what you are going to get. BUT, if you don't want to buy an excursion (or have the photographer take your picture) they can sell you drugs instead and offer this. It's a fact, they hawk drugs. Don't take this review down for pointing out the truth. Beach: It's a trap for seaweed and a stationary area for hawkers to try and sell you everything under the sun --- pun intended! Guest Services: Dinner reservations. This is really the only service they provide. All else you are on your own for or you will be redirected to somebody who will first try to sell you an excursion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice family friendly hotel in great setting

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The friendly staff, the overall grounds, the pool, and the nightly children's entertainment.
Cons: The restaurant reservation system should be improved to allow people staying for shorter stays the opportunity to eat dinner at a restaurant.
Location: The Bavaro Lagoon is a five minute walk from the resort and worth a trip.
I had a great 3 day vacation here with my wife and 3 year old daughter. The natural grounds of the hotel provided a unique atmosphere to walk around and our daughter really enjoyed seeing the peacocks, birds, fish, and turtles. The staff was extremely warm and friendly and made us feel at home. Our daughter also really enjoyed the nightly kids interactive show that allowed them to play various games with members of the staff. Bars were plentiful around the grounds and there was a great mix of both tropical and standard cocktails offered. The food overall was decent and better than I expected. My one complaint though is the difficulty in getting reservations at the restaurants on the grounds. Reservations were booked 3 days in advance which makes it impossible for people staying for shorter stays to eat at anywhere outside the buffet. The resort only provides a 3 hour window in the morning to book reservations in person, which is fine, but then in all fairness they should only allow people to book reservations for that day. The current system punishes people who are only staying for a few days. It would also be nice if the hours of operation for the buffet were a little longer. Particularly on our last day, the entire resort lost water for about 2 hours in the evening which delayed my family in getting out the door for dinner and it would have been nice if the buffet was open longer because of this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, NH

Natura Park - appropriate name for this hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: I liked the 'Natura Park' aspect as I said in my comments, I liked the food, the entertainment programs.
Cons: The rooms could get an upgrade, the beach could be a little cleaner and do something about the smelly swamp next to the main gate, would be a big plus
Location: The resort is located not far from the airport, there is free transportation to shopping, there are many options, trips for the adventurers.
We enjoyed our 9 day stay at this hotel which really looks like a park in the middle of nature. The ponds full of fish and turtles, the birds, the vegetation, everything is pleasing and relaxing. The room was OK, everything was in working condition, although an upgrade would be welcome, especially the tv. The food was good, such a wide variety that I would say it's impossible not to find something you like. The entertainment was pretty good, better than other resorts we visited in DR. The beach was OK, it could be better though, too much seaweed even though it was cleaned daily, kind of. The water was warm enough, I was concerned the Atlantic might be cooler. I wish the little bar on the beach would stay open a little longer in the afternoon. The staff was pretty friendly and helpful most of the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Nice hotel with great location, rooms need updates. Old small tv. Outlets in my room was meltet . Consierge hard to find.great food , very clean rooms, staff amaizing ,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Reasons you should not vacation at this resort

Posted Dec 11, 2015
3 reasons you should not vacation at this resort: - you are used to nice/polite treatment at the front desk - you want waves at the beach - you want a king size bed Me and my fiancé vacationed here first week of December From the second we got to Natura we began running into problems First they placed us in the wrong room with 2 small beds instead of 1 king size. And when I told them we booked a kind size bed their response was : "sorry we don't have it". It took me half an hour, 3 staff members, 1 manager and a lot of yelling to get the room we booked and according to them "we got really lucky that day that we got it" Being that the resort is all inclusive, by Natura policy we only get 3 nights to dine at 3 restaurants they have regardless of us staying at the place for 7 days. All other times we ate at the buffet. The steakhouse they have is GREAT if you want steak, however Seafood was horrible, we took a bite and left. Italian turned out to be a half of the buffet converted into a restaurant at night and basically having buffet food called "Italian" The most annoying part was having random people not working for the resort being all over the resort trying to sell you things in a very pushy way to the point where they would only leave you alone of you told them off. The worst part was the front desk, out of 6-7 times we needed something we got help 0 times. Anytime we would need anything, starting from breaking a bill to making a call to our Expedia DR representativ
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Wonderful park-like setting

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Wildlife in a natural setting. Pools, bars and restaurants were all easy to find and enjoyable.
Cons: Thursday evening we were inundated with rather aggressive vendors. Would prefer to avoid such a mass sales pitch.
Location: Only 20 minutes from the airport was a bonus. No long bumpy bus rides!
From the minute we arrived, we enjoyed the warm friendly staff and human-friendly wildlife. As Oskar carried our bags to our room, he pointed out the flamingos and peacocks wandering around the property. Every day, we "met" birds and geckos who seemed to enjoy watching us as much as we liked them. The food at the buffet was abundant and varied. It was hard to keep our plates from spilling over. The Italian restaurant (La Gondola) also offered a buffet of appetizers and a small but tasty menu. There was a huge thunderstorm overnight which caused quite a lot of damage to the palm trees but the grounds staff was hard at work to tidy up. Overall, a lovely resort which we would recommend to friends and family.