Ratings based on 2,095 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Fl

Royal service is worth the extra $$

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Paradisus Punta Cana is an amazing resort with great attention to details. The staff is very friendly, the drinks are great, and the food is outstanding. We paid a little extra to get the royal service and could not be happier. The rooms are located near the beach and royal service pool; it also allows access to La Palapa, a restaurant that is exclusive to royal service guests. La Palapa is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and has the best food in the entire resort. The rooms are spacious and beautiful with plenty of extras such as a mini fridge, coffee maker, iron, and a jacuzzi tub. We used to go on cruises for vacation but will now be going to Paradisus instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Perfect vacation. No complaints. Staff was friendly and helpful, grounds are beautiful, beach is very neat and clean. Sit down restaurants were excellent and Buffett was okay. Pools are kept very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas,Nv

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: close to beach. exotic feel. alot of vegitation all around
Cons: update the room furnishings. don't take so long responding to guest
Location: did not leave the hotel. very nice beach area
staff a little slow responding to our needs. room a little old. not bad for a first timer and alot of kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The personnel. Always willing to help and solve the problems. Particularly one to remark: Antoni Santamaria. He made the difference for us.
Cons: Management: Very poor....
Location: You have anything you may need inside the hotel premises. No need to go out, just perhaps for a quiet beach walk...
Hotel is good, food is great!!! It has some management issues... small problems here and there (like lack of hot water twice in our stay, one day we were left without towels in our room, problems with the transport carts, coffee machine not working in the room, etc). Adding all these up makes it a bit upsetting... Their personnel tries to cover for all these misses (quite successfully). They are always willing to help. One just hoped they did not have to intervene so many times....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Beautiful resort on beach .

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Cons: Could use more beach chairs at pool & on beach .
Great resort on beach,food good,services wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would've loved better welcome/check-in/check-out

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The resort is quite beautiful. Our first day did set the tone for the rest of the trip. We used a shuttle service and it took us to the wrong hotel, when we get to the Paradisus no one really acknowledge us. I was expecting a drink and a nice welcome like you see on tv and like I once had when I stayed at an all inclusive resort in Mexico. We stood waiting to check in in the center of the lobby for about 30 minutes until we went up to the counter and asked for assistance and were told to hold on someone will help us soon. We finally get someone to attend to us and this was the slowest check in ever. We stood there for another 30 minutes. The lobby is outside so it's very warm, we're tired and very hungry. We say something and we're told we can't find a room yet so why don't you go to the buffet and get something to eat and come back. We go to the buffet but we're told it's closed for lunch. We see a snack bar and order something from there. Once back at the lobby for our room info we're told they will upgrade us to the Reserve b/c of the wait but there is a catch, they only have a room with 1 king not 2 full like we requested. We accept b/c at this point we just want a room to start our vacation. The room was nice, there was a scratch in the mirror and the fan was making an annoying sound so we asked them to turn it off the remainder of the trip. We were only allowed to dine at 2 restaurants out of the 12 and rest were buffets. Waiters by pool were great, beach party was fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Be prepared to feel lost.. but it's beautiful.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
NEGATIVE:The check in was horrible. The front desk staff said rude things in Spanish about us and other customers until they realized my wife spoke Spanish. The lady said in Spanish "I'm not going to tell them about this service.. and that service... they can find out on their own..." Completely fake smiles all around. Lack customer service training. Don't waste your time at Bana the restaurant. It's a really bad Kobe's knock-off. If you have a resort credit, make sure you let them know (they won't tell you upfront) as it is given as vouchers for service.. the amount doesn't just come off of your bill. POSITIVE: The facility is beautiful and well kept. Lots to do. Bartenders were the nicest staff members. Our favorite restaurant was The Grill. Great steak and seafood options and the service was excellent. The fresh fruit at Gabi Beach was awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, but lots of misleading marketing.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
When arriving to the hotel we had one guys greet us and continue to get in touch with us for the next several days to get involved with the resort membership they really don't take no thank you for an answer... I felt it was rude and really put some stress on trip. Also being all inclusive is not really all inclusive for example we stayed for 7 nights you can only eat at 4 restaurants the other days would need to be buffet or you pay for the food?? How is that all inclusive. I feel like there was so much miscommunication I will never stay there again and they need to work on their staff especially when it comes to the ones that are encouraged to brive the guest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Bad Customer Service

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Customer Service! Buffet was mediocre.
Location: Beautiful beach and plenty of excursions to do.
The Dominican was our chosen location for our mini-family reunion. Upon arriving we were impressed with the beauty and size of the resort. We arrived at the Hotel before check in time (11:00am) so they asked us to have lunch and lounge for a bit until our room was ready. We returned at 3:00pm as instructed and were told there was a problem with our reservation. Our 2 kids would need to pay the adult price, over $1,000 difference. Hotel staff refused to give us a room until Expedia paid the difference. I was put on the phone for hours mediating between Expedia and Hotel on the dispute. I was told by Expedia and Hotel that it was not my fault (children birthdays were entered upon making reservation) but we certainly paid the price. The Hotel Manager refused to compromise, was rude, gave us attitude, and had no empathy for our situation. Expedia then told me that they could not pay what hotel was demanding and offered to put me in another hotel nearby. We refuse as we had 15 other people in our party. Ultimately we did not get a room until 7:30 that evening, our children fell asleep in the lobby after our 12 hour journey to get to the Dominican. I blame the Hotel for their poor customer service. We will never return and didn't get an apology of any kind. We are still very disappointed by our experience, it left a bitter taste in our mouth for the rest of our stay. This was certainly not what we expected from a 5 star resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs more supervision and organization

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, clean except for the rooms.
Cons: Please, see above.I stayed in Melia Hotel before no way to compare.
Location: Shopping mall, parasailing, sailing.
The day we arrived to the hotel, we were brought to a room that was not clean, the beds were not made, there were hairs in the bathroom sink. The second day during breakfast there were no small plates for cereal, very few left and were dirty. The service in the restaurants Noas and Gabi were very poor, the water that is served is hot, I asked for a spoon; I was ignored. The hotel advertised that there are several restaurants that we can used with prior reservation, I called Tuesday for a reservation and was given only until the following Sunday; I spoke to the supervisor who made arrangements for dinner on the same day. The beach full of algae, I have stayed in many other hotels in Dominican Republic and I never seen the beach full of algae; no effort whatsoever to make sure the costumers have a good time.