Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield MO

Beautiful Beach

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: The beach.
Cons: Better access to good drinking water w/o having to pay for it. Fly control around food. Better food safety as in keeping cold food cold and hot food h
Location: Off the beaten path - something I normally like. Aggressive vendors if you wander into Bayahibe.
The beach area was beautiful. Loved all the palm trees on the beach and lots of beach chairs. The resort does a nice job keeping the common areas clean. Food-ugh. Buffet was not good at all. Too many flies as well. Snack bar was not good either. Drinking water was hard to come by. Tough when it's so hot and humid! Upset tummy most of my stay. Let's just say I was glad my room was a 1 minute walk from the beach! Had 1 good meal at La Viva. (must have reservations) We tried to make 2 more reservations and was told it was full. Funny thing was, when we went by there several times later, maybe only had 10 tables full. So I call BS. Very frustrating. Had a massage and it was great. Several of the bartenders at the pool bar were awesome. Tip well and you will be taken care of. This includes the maids.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel with beautiful views

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Not good experince the third time going to this resort. First time was the besr of three. Last time most if the staff was rude. As soon as you speak English no one helps you. The staff did not speak at all English. The manager on the lobby so rude. We never heard welcome to our resort. Italian people were respectful and Americans were segregated. If you were online to get a drink we should wait to finish serving italians and then we were like left over. We paid the same, and we should be treated the same. The worst feeling.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Great deal would DEFINATELY return!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
We stayed in 5604 and it was close to the pool and Oceanfront! The palace side is quieter so if your looking to be more interactive hang at the Beach side of the hotel. The maids clean with the doors open (for safety im sure) but don't count on it cooling down in the room for a while after she's done! Most people at the hotel spoke italian or French but an English speaker can get by!!! MAKE SURE TO BOOK A TRANSFER BEFORE YOU GET THERE! Especially if you come from an airport other than La Romana! A taxi can cost over 100$
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Great Hotel, but far from airport

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Ocean view room; clean and spacious
Cons: Better sit down restaurants. The Mediterranean and Italian option sucked.
Nice secluded location, but had a 45minute ride from airport that you need to arrange for yourself. Not all restaurants are included all the time. You can only select 2 of the ones needing reservation for a 4-night stay. This was not an issue as the one not needing reservations were actually better. Definitely recommend the Saona Island tour. We also did the Santa Domingo tour thru our very helpful on-site Expedia agent, Erie. He arranged for a tour guide who adjusted the sites we visited according to our interests. All-in-all, a blissful vacation.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA


Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: It was located on a beautiful beach. The staff other than the front desk was friendly, professional and helpful.
Cons: It is far from the airport, but this would not deter me from coming back.
Location: Beach and water was beautiful. We swam every day. We also enjoyed a few excursions; horse back riding, zip lining, and ATV/Buggy riding!
Other than the front desk, the staff was amazing! The wait service in the restaurants were top notch, the bartenders make great drinks, the rooms were kept very clean, the activities were enjoyable. I took my two daughters (23 & 21), we had an excellent time. Beach and water was beautiful. We swam every day. We also enjoyed a few excursions; horse back riding, zip lining, and ATV/Buggy riding! Great excursions! Make sure you make reservations for the restaurants.
2 out of 5
for Families
by MARCELO from Capital federal

Lleve propina

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel lindo a orillas del mar. El servicio no es bueno. Empleados muy bruscos, desmotivados y que solo te atienden si ven la propina. La limpieza de las habitaciones es buena y la comida normal, eso si consigues un asiento- No me alojaria en otra ocasion.Lleve propinas
3 out of 5
for Families
by MAXIMILIANO from Rosario

Lindo hotel, servicio mucho a mejorar

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel lindo y bien ubicado. Empleados que miran todo el tiempo el celular, hablan entre ellos, comen mucho, ponen excusas para no trabajar (varias veces me dijeron que la maquina de cafe estaba rota, por ejemplo) lo que hace que el servicio se vea muy afectado. En la mitad de la estadia nos cambiaron de cuarto porque tenian que reformar el bloque, lo podrian haber previsto antes de dar habitaciones de ese bloque. No me termine nunca de sentir comodo, no volveria.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by Kai-Uwe from Berlin

Typisches Resort ...

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Typisches resort: Strand, Essen und Trinken. Leider waren die Getränke, alkoholisch und nicht-alholisch, unter Standard. Da hat man das Trinken doch eher eingeschränkt. Das Buffet-Restaurant war unterer Durchschnitt, die kleinen Restaurants, die reserviert werden mussten, waren gut. Die Aktivitäten waren eher unterdurchschnittlich. Ein Höhepunkt war das all-abendliche Show im Nachbar-Resort. Ausser den beiden Resorts gab es nichts wirklich Interessantes in der Umgebung. Der Ort war nur eine Verlängerung der Turistenaktivitäten. Eine Woche war für uns mehr als ausreichend.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beach is beautiful!

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The beach was beautiful and the ocean view from our room was great. The staff was very friendly.
Cons: The rooms are very plain and everything is white. Could use a bit of color and accessories to warm it up.
Location: The location is great and we book several excursions through the hotel which were excellent!
The hotel grounds were very well cared for. The lobby and rooms were very outdated and plain but they were clean. The staff was very friendly and they all could speak English. Food in the restaurants and buffet were good with lots of selections. A great deal for the price we paid. I would recommend upgrading your room to the oceanfront, it is worth the extra money.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff and food

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Some staff acted like they were doing us a favor instead of bending backwards to ensure the full experience. Food sucked except Buffett breakfast!! No flavor- salt, pepper, and "gourmet" restaurant were a joke. Food was gross and was clustered. Portions were very small...