Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco area

The Best Part of Our Quito Experience!

Posted Jul 11, 2016
What a wonderful hotel! From the moment we arrived, my friend and I were treated as special guests. Our week at Casa San Marcos was the best part of our trip; we loved the staff, and the hotel is also a museum and art gallery. An excellent breakfast was prepared for us every morning, and our comfortable room had a lovely view of the statue of the Virgin Mary overlooking the city. Within easy walking distance to most of the historic sites, I would definitely recommend this hotel to every traveler to Quito.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Claudia, Hotel Management
Dear Theresa Thank you for your nice review, we are glad to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. You and your friend are really nice people that we loved to serve. We hope to see you again Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Beautiful hotel, amazing staff and great location!

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Best shower of our trip! We loved the antiques in our room! The staff was amazing!
Location: Walking distance from Grand Plaza, La Ronda, museums and churches.
We were in awe the minute we walked into this hotel! The antiques, decor, floral arrangements, and overall appearance made it feel like we had stepped back in time into an exquisite home that was not just a home but a show piece! The staff greeted us immediately and carried our bags to our room. We were given suggestions for churches, museums, and shopping within walking distance. (We were only a few blocks from the square.) In the morning were served a complementary breakfast with fresh fruit, fresh bread, eggs (the way we wanted them), and tea and coffee. The hotel arranged our transfers to and from the hotel; we liked our driver so much that we hired him an additional day for a tour of the city. The hotel itself has an art gallery and a small museum. The breakfast area and sitting room balconies provide a great view of El Panecillo. We fell in love with this hotel! My all time favorite so far! Only issue was that traffic was a little loud in the morning due to school still being in session; there is a school across the street. I don't know that I'd recommend the hotel for those with really young children. The kids would love it, but I personally would worry about them breaking something. :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay

Posted Mar 8, 2016
My wife and I stayed here for four nights and totally enjoyed the experience, The hotel was quite comfortable, centrally located but just outside the noise and commotion of the Old Town. It possessed an abundance of Quito charm filled with stellar art and antiques. The staff was extremely helpfully in suggestions on how to get the most out of our time in Quito. The breakfasts were fresh, well prepared and covered all the basics. Great place to stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, WA

Like sleeping in a beautiful museum

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Beautiful decor, great location, delicious breakfast
Cons: Noisy On the Junin side of the Casa
Location: Short walk to Plaza Grand, the Jesuit church, and Plaza San Francisco. Good restaurants in the neighborhood
This small (6 rm) hotel is part of a grand house, furnished with art and antiques. It was a beautiful space to visit and enjoy. Breakfast was served on a garden patio, a beautiful, light filled and relaxing place! Food was far better than average, with eggs made to order and great coffee, espresso, or cappuccino to boot. Service was generally attentive, by an earnest group of young people who spoke English fairly well and strived to make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately, we were on the Junin side of the street, opposite a fairly noisy school, and within earshot of some major road construction. For early risers, this is probably not an issue. I would stay here again if I could get a room on the opposite side of the Casa. As our flight departed just after midnight, I appreciated being able to get another half day at a reasonable rate. The hotel is near Plaza Grand, so we could easily walk to some great restaurants and historic sites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great staff

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Hotel looks great, staff, location.
Cons: Light was dim in bathroom.
Location: All the old city sites are within short walking distance of the hotel.
Great facilities, super friendly staff, hotel location is really good. Close to all the old town sites. Hotel is clean and looks very cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Historic, one of a kind hotel and a great value

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Great location, coffee, service, beautifully decorated, quiet, English spoken
Cons: Our room was up in the attic--I don't advise it for big, tall people, due to the sloping ceiling and narrow stairway. It was fine for us; slept great.
Location: All of historic Quito is within walking or a short cab distance.
We had a great experience at historic Casa San Marcos. The staff took care of us as if we were family. Loved its look of "old Spain," with antiques and original artwork everywhere. Located in the historic district, an easy walk from city squares, churches, shops and restaurants. Casa San Marcos employs a great cook-- we looked forward to a wonderful breakfast every day and ate two great dinners there. They assisted us with arranging excursions, transfers, anything we needed. We Received a great value for our money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, Fl

Very nice and well maintain hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel, specially the view of El Panecillo
Location: Location is great, within walking distance of lots of good places.
Hotel is very nice, if you like antiques you will love it, staff was wonderful, Jose always went out of his way to make sure we were happy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Diamond in the rough!

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Location: It is in Old Town near the Plaza Grande where there is a large Tourist Information. Tour buses come and go there and restaurants are available.
My husband and I were more than pleasantly surprised at the beauty and splendor of Casa San Marcos, as well as the gracious staff and host, Mayra. They arranged for our pickup from the airport and called cabs for us whenever we needed them. They offered excellent suggestions of places to go and events to attend. We used Casa San Marcos as our home base to and from Galapagos and the Amazon, Mindo and Otavala. Giovanny, our driver set up by Casa San Marcos, was well read in the history of Quito and Ecuador and his enthusiasm for showing off his country was inspiring. We were trying to keep costs down and were given the "atillo" room (attic) which we loved. When there was a miscommunication on our return from Mindo and were given a more expensive room, they graciously only charged us for the price of the atillo.
5 out of 5
by greg from canada

best historic hotel in lima

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
excellent in every point of view. located in the heart of the historic center.You feel you are staying in a museum. Excellent breakfast. Staff very helpfull.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halmstad

Kolonialt hotell i centrum

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Antikt vackert, vackra föremål, mysig frukost, härlig kolonial stämning, trevlig personal, hög säkerhet.
Cons: Om du är ute efter modern (hög) standard finns det vissa brister såsom smal trappa upp till ett av rummen, udda placering av badrum, ingen hiss.
Location: Två kvarter till presidentpalatset, San Francisco, Sto Domingo. Fyra kvarter till la Ronda. Allt i koloniala stadscentrum är 2-5 kvarter bort.
Mycket trevligt hotell i gamla stan (Quito) med massor av museiföremål, konst, antika möbler. Ganska små, men mycket vackra, rum. Rummen är mycket individuella (olika stil och standard). Kolla vilket rum du bokar! Trevlig personal, god frukost, bra städning. Säkert, ingen stöldrisk.