Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth to upgrade

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We upgraded our room to superior room as the normal rooms looks old in the photos. Our room was across the street from hotel reception while breakfast is served in the main reception. Room is clean but old. Furniture looks like it's been through alot (chips and stains). Staff was friendly and helpful. In summary, upgrade was not value for money. We found a 4 star hotel at cheaper rates on the actual day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Clean and cosy

Posted Dec 23, 2017
We are a young couple on a budget so this hotel suited us perfectly. Rooms are clean and staff are friendly. We had the economy’s double which was perfectly adequate but bathroom is rather small. There is a safe in each room which was really useful and we had a complementary breakfast which was perfect. The hotel is off a side street and you buzz for reception but not too difficult to find
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Great place for the price

Posted Nov 29, 2017
This is a great stay for the price! It was easy to find and hotel staff was friendly & helpful. It was very easy to get to from the main Rome train station (abt 10 min walk). Had private bathroom too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Hotel in excellent location. Staff extremely helpful and friendly, great customer service!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Not like photos!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Lets start with the good thing just to be fair. The location is great. We were able to walk to any places we wanted to go. Also there is a bus stop 1 min away. Also close to Roma Termini station. The room we got was nothing close to the pictures we saw in Expedia. It was pretty old and on the first look you really feel it is not clean. The bed sheets were clean but the blanket was extremely old and it gave me the feeling that it is extremely dirty! The other issue was the noise issue. I could hear everything from the next room, I could even hear them flushing!! Breakfast was okay. But the breakfast we got in Florence and Venice were much much better. I was so disappointed. The only reason I chose this hotel was the photos which shows clean and renovated rooms, although it was more expensive that the other hotel I found on Expedia. At the end the cheaper hotels photos end up being much better than the room we got in Hotel Italia. We even saw small bugs in the room.
5 out of 5
by Steven

Posted Nov 16, 2017 on Hotels
A great choice! Staff was wonderful and very helpful, will stay here on our next visit to Rome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Four Days in Rome

Posted Nov 7, 2017 on Orbitz
The room was ridiculously small. We had trouble fitting in the shower and we're normal sized people. There is a step down to the room and it posed a tripping hazard after showering. The staff was great, very friendly. They helped with every request with a smile. They did require us to leave the key at the desk every time we left. We put a do not disturb sign on the room and still had someone come in and clean, making it difficult to find our stuff when we needed it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belgium

super clean but terrible smell in the room

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, staff
very good location, very friendly staff, super clean room with coffee and tea facilities but terrible smell in the (superior!) room that came from the air conditioning installation outside .. impossible to open a window. room did not had a view whatsoever, so the window and the curtain were always shut. air conditioning had to be on at night in order to keep the smell away.. breakfast was nice, which was a surprise considering the tiny portions served on tiny plates in a tiny breakfast area ..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Great Staff, Perfect Location, highly recommend!

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Location Staff Maid Service
Cons: Chest of drawers or suitcase stand would be nice.
Location: Great location, perfect for walking, metro, and bus.
We stayed at the Hotel Italia for 7 nights in October. They were very accommodating and helpful to us. My daughter decided last minute to join us for 3 days and they kindly switched us to a bigger room and brought in a roll-away bed for her for a minimal fee. We got clean towels every day, the maid service was great, our rooms were always sparkling when we came back. Rooms are basic but had extra blankets and pillows. Small but clean bathroom, I don't recommend the showers if you are over-sized.Hair dryer in bathroom. Coffee pot with coffee and tea in room. Don't overpack, there is no dresser but there is a good sized armoire in the economy room. Deluxe room had a fridge. We had a room on a nice quiet street, other 2 in group had a nice room on a busier street which is just what they wanted! Both rooms had a nice window which we could choose to leave open or close. When closed, along with closing the heavy wooden shutters, and the curtains, the room was extremely quiet and dark for sleeping. Front desk staff was fun and extremely helpful in suggesting which bus or metro to take. Location is fabulous, short walk to Metro stop and just a few minutes more to main Terminal (Termini) for buses, metro and trains. I definitely recommend this hotel for location, cleanliness and staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Bravissimo, Hotel Italia!!

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, homey and welcoming atmosphere
Cons: Washcloths!
Location: We were right smack in the middle of Rome -- it would take a book!
We arrived tired and hungry from a long trip but so excited to be in Rome! The staff of Hotel Italia welcomed us as if we were long-awaited and highly-favored guests. They were all warm and welcoming, very patient (and happy!) with my stilted Italian and completely accommodating to our needs, no matter what they were. They provided maps, directions and advice on our outings when we asked them. I think it's great that we have to leave our key at the desk when we go out; it means that someone is always there to greet us when we come back in! Although the rooms are small, we managed! (Aren't most hotel rooms in the middle of Rome small?) One suggestion: BRING WASHCLOTHS! For some reason that I cannot understand, it seems that Europeans do not use them. All four of us would recommend Hotel Italia and we would definitely stay there again!